We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positano Grill - Why Not?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Mediterranean Grill

Positano Mediterranean Grill
5 Schalks Crossing Rd, Ste 211, Plainsboro, NJ 08536-1620
609-799-8900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Plainsboro
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Plainsboro, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Positano Grill - Why Not?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Positano Grill is located in what I like to refer to as Faux Town. It truly is a "fake town" created by Sharbell not quite a decade ago to spur the Plainsboro Renassiance. If you ask me, it looks more like a movie set then a real town, only on a much smaller scale than others - think Celebration, Fla, New Town ( Williamsburg), Va....etc... Maybe it will develop charm over time but, not yet! But I'm not here to review the town but rather Positano Grill.

Positano Grill is a gem amongst the backdrop of Faux Town. Its been here since the begininng and they truly go out of their way for you. My wife and I have been there multiple times and are never dissapointed. The steaks are quite good and the pasta dishes are great. Especially enjoy the Farfalle al Salmone. Its a BYOB establishment and they do a great job in keeping your adult beverages at their approriate temperature. You can always find a coupon in a Money Mailer or some other local publication to help defray the cost. I recommend that what ever you save on the coupon, you give it back to the wait staff. They work hard for the money!

They also have their entire menu available for take out so on those nights you want to stay in, just pickup something on the way home from work. Did I mention they also have an outdoor eating area with nice tables and a fountain. The weather is getting warmer so why not dine al fresco? Even if its in Faux Town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A neighborhood jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I found this restaurant when were looking for a home in the area. Now we live just a few minutes away. Positanos is our go to restaurant. The owners are delightful and treat us like family. The food is consistently fresh and well prepared. The veal is tender, the veggies al dente, the pasta home made. The salad and house dressing, soup and desserts are an added bonus. We love the cappuccino which arrive shot and frothy each time. If you want a good meal, in a pleasant setting served by professionals, caring owners...Positanos is the place for you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“must try local jewel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We dined at Positano last week for the first time. Mostly "Italian" with some fish, beef etc. Very pretty dining room with patio dining available when weather permits. The entrees come with a salad which was just very ordinary, but the entree's were above average. Quality ingredients, careful preparations and well seasoning made the dishes a pleasant surprise. The portion sizes were large to the point where we ate only half of the dinner and "doggy bagged" the rest home for another meal. Most patrons were seen leaving with the same "doggy bags". We were too full for dessert but did have a hot beverage to end our meal. We brought our own bottle of wine as this establishment is BYOB. The biggest surprise was the check. We had salads, entrees and beverages which in total was $36 including tax. Bottom line is this is most certainly worth a try. It is notches above most pizza/restaurant places that are found on most every corner. Whe we left the hostess gave us coupons for 15% off on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Dined last week for perhaps the 3rd or 4th time within the last few months at this cute gem of a restaurant. Reasonably priced, good sized portions and the food is really consistently fantastic. The owners (who I never fail to see or chat with) are the most pleasant people you will ever meet. The wait staff is attentive. I love Veal Saltimbocca; the version here is prepared quite nicely. Soup or Salad with your entree > again...good value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Barolo baby clams!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We moved from the area a year ago, now living in Fort Myers Fl. We plan on a visit next week to visit family and friends in NJ, the barolo baby clams appetizer is so delicous it will the first thing I order!!!!! I've even special ordered them over pasta and just loved it. See you soon.
Marianne & Dave former residents of Plainsboro

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Positano Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.