We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our All-Time Favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pittstown Inn

Pittstown Inn
350 Pittstown Rd, Pittstown, NJ 08867-4161
908-735-0125
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pittstown Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Pittstown
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Asbury, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of Our All-Time Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We've enjoyed the Pittstown Inn Restaurant over many years. It's our favorite place for eating at the bar, which is attractive and comfortable. The live music in the bistro room is never intrusive and includes the best local talents. Dining room is country elegant. Excellent craft beers. The food never disappoints, and there's a decent selection of wines. This is a tightly run establishment resulting in excellent service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable Way to Cap a Drive To the Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Upon returning for our second visit to the Pittstown, thought I'd capture some thoughts here while fresh in my mind. My wife and I frequently like to take advantage of a sunny dry afternoon to take a leisurely drive to more rural areas within our state. It is such a pleasure to find a small out of the way inn, abundant with the charm of a yesteryear. This Inn is one such place.
With friendly, courteous and professional staff who know how to make you feel welcome, the stage is set for a completely delightful dining experience. We enjoy the quiet, adult atmosphere with background music that encourages conversation. The bar is well stocked and generous in its pour. The luncheon menu is very diverse with some of the regular dinner selections available. Both the steak and fish entrees that we ordered were well prepared and delicious. Desert was tasty, as well. We look forward to our next visit to explore more of the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vurv
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will not be returning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having just moved into the area we were delighted to find a nice looking restaurant so close to home. However, I'm afraid the old cliche 'don't judge a book by its cover' definitely holds true here.
We decided to take our guests from the UK there to show them good ol' US cooking. We booked early as we had my 11 year old with us. We were shown to our table by one waitress and then another waitress came over and accused us of sitting in the wrong spot! I'm afraid it just went downhill from there. It took nearly 90 minutes for us to get our food. I could understand this if we were at a gourmet restaurant but all we'd ordered were burgers and a salad! Our water was not refilled and we were unable to ask our waitress as she had disappeared. What made matters worse was that people who came in after us were getting their food first, we could only assume this was because they were regulars. Either that or they thought by making us wait they would be able to bump up our bar bill. All in all it was a very expensive, disappointing night. If you do decide to go the burgers aren't bad and the fries are delicious, just don't go hungry because you may be in for a long wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than Average, but not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just got home from this neighborhood eatery where we celebrated our anniversary with extended family. After seeing the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, we were interested in judging for ourselves. Turns out that everyone is right. Some dishes, Mac & Cheese appetizer & bistro chicken were "meh" and some were good - hangar steak & special pork chop. Nothing, though, was outstanding or even memorable. Would return for lunch or casual dinner, but not for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cozy eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My daughter and I stopped here for lunch. There were people enjoying eating on the outdoor porch in the sunshine. We chose to stay indoors. A wonderful menu was presented. Choices of Soup of the day, salads and more. They served us tasty chicken on a soft bun with a good portion of fries. Very nice wait staff and a good place to enjoy off the beaten path!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pittstown Inn also viewed

 

Been to Pittstown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pittstown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.