We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great neighborhood ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Great Falls National Historical Park

Great Falls National Historical Park
McBride Ave and Spruce Streets, Paterson, NJ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Attractions in Paterson
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not great neighborhood ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The falls are cool. The app is good for listening to as you tour. Not worth a special trip. I was happy to get a passport stamp at the museum

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    15
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ROLL'EM'UP!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

That's exactly what we felt like....expected a 'historic' district and a National Park, there's a difference in 'historic' and dump!

Surrounding area was dangerous, drug dealers obvious, prostitute exiting vehicle as we turned the corner, entered the "park" almost didn't get out of the car, there was 2 other families there, so we done it. Walked straight to rock wall, seen some water and walked right back to the car. Homeless shacked up on benches and on grass area below, trash EVERYWHERE! Fences not maintained, walls falling apart, stairs dangerous (I did peek).

Would love to say this could be a beautiful area, but I don't think so, not unless you can pick it up and move it out of that trash hole that surrounds it. It's sad when people don't appreciate and respect where they live :-(

The falls might be gorgeous, and they sure look nice via photos but that's as close as I am getting, would rather live another day and protect my kids from whatever goes on there. Just...no.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Turn Around And Go Home”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Falls are beautiful- everything else not so much. Trust me when I say I used to work next to the Falls for many years and the crime over there is outrageous. Look at some pictures instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding Natural Beauty in Downtown Paterson!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

So- This place is not in the nicest of surroundings, but it is a hidden gem of Northern New Jersey, and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The surrounding park is not in the best of shape, and it needs to be maintained better- there is frequently trash strewn about. I understand that there is a big makeover and upgrade in store for this space. I can't wait! I love stopping in here on a regular basis for a moment of contemplation.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed - Park Area A Garbage Dump”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I had not seen the Falls in over 35 years. A friend and I had been hiking in Bergen County and I remembered the Falls was not too far away. The park area around the falls was fenced and had signs stating that the park was closed . . . . . but a large section of the fence had been removed and there were hundreds of tourists in the park . . . . . .It was like a giant garbage dump with overflowing trash cans with bottles and paper containers everywhere. The stairway down to a viewing point was partly missing with one railing gone. IT WAS A DISGRACE! . . . . . but the Falls were fantastic.

The Federal government and the City of Paterson should do something to fix the situation. If the city fathers want to close the park, they should secure it and keep it clean. Maybe the Federal Government should take over the park and make it a suitable part of a historic site. From what I saw on Memorial day, there is plenty of interest in the site because there were hundreds of people visiting it . . . . . even though it was supposedly closed. . . . . . and a filthy, dirty mess!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Falls National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Great Falls National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Falls National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.