We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good behavivour and attitude by Lady on front desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Parsippany

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Parsippany to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn Parsippany
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3159 Route 46 East, I-287 & US 46, Parsippany, NJ 07054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Parsippany
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    60
    36
    35
See reviews for
60
33
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I satyed for a twon night stay in the jacuzzi sweet and although the price wasnt to bad i may have been able to do better somewhere else. It was about 160 a night after fees and taxes. The room was cleen but a little outdated but the tub was nice. I checked out tues morning and it wasnt until thurs that i got an alert that they had charged my card for another 37.50. I called and they said there were some towels that were not cleanable. At first this infuriated me and to be honest i thought about calling visa and doing a chargeback but i thought better of it. They said it looked like wine stains but my wife and i dont drink wine. I also do not know how on thurs at 10pm they would have any clue whos towels were whos from tues morning. I let the charge go so they got me for forty bucks but in the end from now on I will find another hotel for both business and pleasure so they ended up losing more than me. I do not really like the fact that even if something was damaged they woukd use my card withiut even a phone call. If any more charges appear on the card i will call the cc company and have them all reversed. It is now a trust issue with them as i authorized them to use the card for a 2 night stay not at will days later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona C, Supervisor at Days Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. After you checked-out, the Housekeepers cleaned the room and discovered that some of the towels you used were difficult to wash out and re-use, thus it had to be disposed. The stains on the towels were of a red-dark pink color and that is why we concluded it may have been wine. This on-going process is very costly for the hotel and thus we charged your credit card, which is used to cover for incidentals. The charge for the towels was made after your check-out, which may not have appeared on your statements or alerts until Thursday evening like you stated. Again, I apologize if you feel that the charge came delayed, but we charged for the towels as soon as we discovered it.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and in order to improve the service we provide to our guests, we will take this into consideration for future transactions. I hope that this clears up any misunderstandings, and if you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Room was poorly furnished, bed sheets appeared dirty, pillows were the cheapest quality, bathroom was not user friendly and looked very cheap and dirty. Towels were badly beaten and needed replacement. Staff, particularity the elderly lady (smoker) at reception was very unfriendly and it was like talking to a robot. This place can use some upgrading. Everything in this place gave the appearance and feel of a very cheap motel. Continental breakfast was a joke, I would rather not have this option than to go for breakfast with some expectations. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels/motels and this one definitely ranks at the bottom of my list. I would not ever stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona C, Supervisor at Days Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay. At Days Inn, we emphasize excellent service and accommodations at an affordable price.
We usually put our business travelers in the business section of the hotel so that they may have a more comfortable stay. As you booked your reservation online, we were unable to provide the accommodations you may have wanted. We always ask our guests to book directly with us as to ensure that their expectations are met.
I will be sure to speak with out front desk staff to ensure that friendly, quality service is being provided to all our guests. I am also sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the Continental breakfast. We try to provide a variety of options to cater to all our guests.
Thank you for writing this review, and I will be sure to take in all your comments into consideration as to improve the service we provide to our guests. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our usual hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The place was given to us by Sinorama tour group. They never told us the name of the hotel only to the moment we passed the us border.... argh.
The place is actually 45 minutes away from NYC. You should take the New jersey Bus to get to NYC and it cost around 13$ one way better than 120 $ that the NYC cab driver tried to charge us.

The first of all the first room we got we found bed bugs. When presenting it to the reception we got a suite for no extra cost. But the suite smelled weird...really weird.

The breakfast is very unhealthy and very sugary.... the food was mostly bought from a supermarket (since it was in the plastic containers).

I would have been fine with the place if i chose it by myself. But like mentioned earlier, it was the tour group that chose it for us and so my experience wasn't great.

Room Tip: Just verify there's no bed bugs period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona C, Supervisor at Days Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I sincerely apologize that your original room had problems. We routinely check each room for bed bugs every couple of weeks to ensure that our guests are protected. However, as hard as we try, bed bugs are hard to prevent, especially in a hotel environment with guests coming in and out every day. When you told us about the room we immediately did our best to find you better accommodations, I am sorry to hear that you did not find it to your expectations.
As for your concerns concerning our breakfast, we also offer oatmeal, cereal and fresh fruit as a healthier choice. However, in order to provide better service to our guests, we will take in your considerations to improve for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Parsippany

Address: 3159 Route 46 East, I-287 & US 46, Parsippany, NJ 07054
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Parsippany 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Parsippany Hotel Parsippany
Parsippany Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Parsippany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.