We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing! A bad choice!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Parsippany Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Smith Road, Parsippany, NJ 07054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Parsippany
Calabasas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very disappointing! A bad choice!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Used points for this hotel, and used more points for upgrade! A pure waste. Bathtub drain did not work,we called 3 times before they came by. We missed a rehearsal dinner because we could not shower! Unfortunately, the family had to pay for our meal. In time for desert. Sad. So do you think they would have fixed the drain for the next day? Nope. To top I off we could not use the preferred guest lounge that we upgraded to! A million kids and no place to sit. I missed my morning coffee!

Stay away from this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear SandG12 –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We truly value feedback, both positive and constructive, as we try to continually enhance our guests' experience. We apologize for the inconveniences you suffered as a result of the bathtub drain, as well as being negatively impacted by other guests abusing the Club Lounge privileges. Please know your comments have been shared with our senior leadership to address and ensure future guests have a better experience.

However, our goal is to have every guest leave satisfied and want to return in the future. Therefore, we would like to try and rectify your unpleasant experience. To discuss things in further detail, please contact Vera or Scott in the hotel’s Executive Office at 973-560-5162. Thank you again, and we appreciate your staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    80
    37
    19
    10
See reviews for
77
47
10
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked this hotel the night before through Hotwire.com as I had a business event to go to in Manhattan and I didn't feel comfortable driving into the city. For someone who didn't want to drive into the city, it was about a 10-20 minute cab ride to the train station (morristown I believe?) and about a 40 minute ride into the city.

I found this hotel to be a good experience, although I had a negative experience with someone in the "swim lane" in the pool, I alerted the lifeguard of the issue, and they stated that the person would be kicked out of the pool area if I was bothered the next time I went to use it (I was just leaving). I was happy with their response

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Caleb S –
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We truly value feedback, both positive and constructive, as we try to continually enhance our guests' experience. We are very proud of our renovated facility and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed both as well. It was also nice to hear you affirm our convenient location relative to New York City, accessible by train or car just 30-40 minutes away. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a business conference in June 2013 and had a really good stay. Room was nice and big, staff was friendly, gym also was quite big and pleasant. The breakfast was fine, although for me personally some good bread or sandwiches would have been nice. Lunch was also good, and there is a nice bar area downstairs which is actually a separate restaurant I think. But I only had a drink there so can't judge the food. Atmosphere was good though.
The meeting rooms downstairs are fine, although there was a bit of a moldy smell in the hallways leading up to the conference rooms. But also here the catering was very good during the breaks.
All in all I had a pleasant stay in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Si73 –
Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our renovated facilities and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a good stay with us. In addition, it was particularly pleasing to receive your positive comments about our staff and service, as well as hear you affirm the superiority of our Fitness Center facilities. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another conference or just as an individual traveler when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice and unique hotel.

Loved the fact that the hotel had both an indoor and outdoor pool. Great gym and racketball court.

Room also had a pull out couch which came in handy as we were traveling with the kids.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Ira E –
Thank you so much for your 5-Star rating! Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our facilities and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your “staycation” with us. It was nice to learn that you truly enjoyed several of the unique features of our fitness center and spa, which we believe is truly a distinguishing feature of our hotel. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice rooms and great room service. I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised with all the things you can possibly do in this hotel and when the time comes i will definitely be coming back this hotel.


Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Andrew V –
Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our renovated facilities and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a pleasant visit. In addition, while you may not have had the chance to enjoy many of the hotel’s facilities, it sounds as if you recognized the many we have, including the 20,000 sq. ft. fitness center and spa and beautifully manicured grounds that help create our suburban resort-like setting and look forward to returning to enjoy them. We truly appreciate your business, and are eager to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sheraton Parsippany with my fiance. We both have stayed at Sheraton's in the past so we knew what to expect. This particular stay was magnificent from beginning to end. As Stawood Preferred Membership we got to experience a little bit more than the regular guest by staying on the top floor and access to the Club Room with amenities throughout the day/evening. That is definitely a nice added bonus. The rooms were huge and quite comfortable. Thanks a lot of Kyle at the Front Desk for the quick check-in and check-out process. I will gladly recommend this particular Sheraton for business or pleasure. Personally, my new favorite place to stay even for a weekend away from all daily stresses.

Room Tip: Join the starwoods preferred club to ensure to get a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear purplejewel25 –
Thank you so much for your 5-Star rating! Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our facilities and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your repeat visit with us. It was nice to learn that you truly enjoyed the benefits of our exclusive Club Level and offerings in the Club Lounge.

In addition, it was particularly pleasing to receive your comments about the service that our team delivered for you. We believe it is our people that truly make the greatest difference in our guests’ experience. With you specifically mentioning one of our associates, Kyle, for taking such good care of you during your visit, please know that your comments have been shared with him and he has received special recognition for his efforts. We are very pleased to have your recommendation as well. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel with my husband while on a business/pleasure trip. It was our first stay at a Sheraton and after our 3 day stay there it certainly will not be our last. We have traveled all over the world and stayed at lots of different hotels and this hotel is right up there with the top ten on our list. The room was beautiful with lovely linens and bathroom amenities and so quiet that we barely knew we were at a hotel. The hotel bar and breakfast were excellent and the
staff was knowledgeable and helpful and went out of their way to help us any way they could. It was a really fabulous experience and I totally recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a quality hotel with a wonderful staff and quiet and lovely rooms to feel at home in.

Room Tip: We were on the Club Floor ... highly recommend it ! Separate breakfast room, wonderful selection of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Siobhan116 –
Thank you so much for your 5-Star rating! Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our renovated facilities and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a pleasant visit. In addition, it was particularly pleasing to receive your comments about the service you received as we believe it is our people that truly make the greatest difference in our guests’ experience. We appreciate your business, are very pleased to have your recommendation and look forward to welcoming home again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Parsippany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Address: 199 Smith Road, Parsippany, NJ 07054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Parsippany
#4 Business Hotel in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Parsippany Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Parsippany Hotel is located in the center of it all! Just 30 minutes from Newark International Airport and 25 miles from New York City and convenient to several attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Parsippany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Parsippany
Sheraton Hotel Parsippany Nj
Parsippany Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.