We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Parsippany Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Smith Road, Parsippany, NJ 07054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Parsippany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were there for only a night... the hotel entrance and building is very impressive. Very clean, nice bed and linen. The food is pricey... but there are plenty of options around the place. The faucet in the bath was broken. Other than that, staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear M_Per_61 –
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Given your 4-Star rating and other comments, we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall and trust that our renovated guest rooms, other facilities and suburban resort-like setting enhanced your experience.

At the same time we apologize for any inconvenience you had with the tub faucet. We have shared your feedback with our engineering team to ensure this is addressed and future guests are not impacted by this. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Parsippany again for your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    112
    46
    28
    13
See reviews for
93
57
11
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed there for a week on a business trip.
Positives:
1- comfortable bed
2- Location of the hotel
3- Decoration of the lobby and boarding pass free print service
Negatives:
1- Cleaning of the room not ideal: I found a grass hopper on the 3rd of the my stay, which unfortunately was killed in my follow and pursuit adventure. The next two days the body of the poor thing was laying on the floor despite my room being cleaned during this time. Likewise, drawers were dirty and had rubbish in them
2- Breakfast was not a good value for money. For $22 buffet breakfast I was expecting better.
3- Wifi in the lobby is free but not in the rooms (around $10/24 hours)

Overall OK place to stay.
Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear kamisn –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly value your comments, both positive and constructive, as we try to continually enhance our guests' experience. While we are very proud of our renovated facility and service that our team typically provides, we were not pleased to learn of your dissatisfaction with a few aspects of your visit. We have shared your comments and concerns with the senior leadership team and specific department managers to address and ensure future guests have a better experience. Thank you again, we appreciate your staying with us and are eager to earn your business again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Firstly , the exterior is impressive and attractive. The interior is somewhat dated with decor in the beige and brown colour scheme. But it is clean and tidy. This is a busy hotel. Check in and front desk are excellent. The rooms are OK. lots of free waster provided - this is good. The beds are comfortable and the a\c non intrusive. There is not enough wardrobe space. Cleanliness is OK. The `green` option for opting out of maid service is confusing. The bar service is good but the prices are somewhat high; similarly for food. Breakfast at $25 is a rip off. Drive 5 minutes to the Empire Diner and you get double the choice and portions at half the price. I recommend the Empire Diner for breakfast. WiFi is not included and at $10.95 per day expensive. In the 21 century WiFi and breakfast should be included. All in all an OK stay for a business trip. You may want to shop around for better value for a private\family stay. Overall a good stay with no dramas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Gavin –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly value your comments, both positive and constructive, as we try to continually enhance our guests' experience. While we are very proud of our renovated facility and service that our team, we were not pleased to learn of your dissatisfaction with a few aspects of your visit, and have shared your comments and concerns with the senior leadership team in the hotel.

For future reference should you prefer not to pay for the convenience of in-room Internet access, we do provide complimentary Internet access within The Link @ Sheraton adjacent to our lobby. On your next visit we hope you will find this facility convenient. Thank you again for staying with us, and certainly hope you will reconsider us the next time your travel plans bring you the Parsippany area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been back to return to this hotel a few times this summer. We have visited the Sheraton Parsippany in the last two weeks to celebrate a birthday. Our family consisted of 2 adults and 2 children. This hotel is a great place to visit with kids. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, as well as a little pond you can take a walk around in the back of the property for a leisurely stroll.

When booking our room, we spoke to Chris at the front desk. Chris was very professional and courteous. He booked us a very nice room, which was quite quiet.

We called ahead to see if we would be able to check in early, but unfortunately our room was not ready at that time. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Vanessa at the front desk and she was very attentive and took good care of us.

Pratika remembered it was my birthday and took special note of it, which made us feel good about our stay.

Fantastic service!

Overall, it was a wonderful stay and I will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear M H –
Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our facilities and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. It was nice to learn that the resort-like setting in which we are nestled helped you enjoy the outside as well as the inside.

In addition, with you specifically mentioning three of our associates, Chris, Vanessa and Pratika, for taking such good care of you during your visit, please know that your comments have been shared with them and they will be receiving a special recognition for their efforts. We are very pleased to know you are a repeat guest and will also return in the future. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewwwie1
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We checked in and that went very smooth. We were given the keys to a room on the first floor. We walked in and everything looked ok. I looked in the bathroom and the tub had some very long black hair in it and when we checked the bed there was numerous black hairs on the bedding. This was supposed to be an accessible room, with a bathub? We called the front desk and they said come back and we will give you the keys to another room Off we go for the other set of keys! Why they did not send them with someone is beyond me. We go to the other room, walk in shower with hand held shower mcuh better for handicapped. Turn on the light switch for the bathroom, no light comes on. They send a maintenance worker and two show up. One to do the work and one to watch. They change the bulb and off they go. We look at the bed and when we pull down the comforter, there is blood on it. Call the front desk and they will send housekeeping. A very nice woman shows up and she remakes the entire bed with all new linens. She leaves and we notice popcorn on the floor, hmm they didn't say snacks were included. Clean up the popcorn myself, tired of waiting on hold for the front desk. Go into bathroom and there are boot prints on the floor from maintenance. I clean up the floor using one of their towels.
We unpack the hanging bag and we are tired and all of a sudden the phone rings and its the front desk calling us for a change. The person on the phone wants to switch our room to a higher floor because they are having a couple of weddings and the music would be very loud and it might disturb us. So iasked for a room on the 6th floor, the club floor but of course there were none available, He then offers us the 4th floor and he proceeds to tell me that there was a note in the computer and at the front desk to not put anyone into any first floor rooms because of the noise. I tell him we will stay put and deal with any noise issue later. I cranked up the a/c and the noise from that unit drowned out any noise from the weddings. There were no towel bars in the bathroom? Just a hook on the door. After all of that the rest of the stay was uneventful. The hotel is very slow cleaning up and lobby garbage receptacles and in front of the hotel were always over flowing. Great location close to the highways and shopping. Just a very indifferent staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear stewwwie1 –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look upon this as a gift, from which we are able to learn, improve along the way and continually enhance our guests' experience. While we are very proud of our renovated facility and service that our team typically provides, we were not pleased to learn of the challenges you faced during your visit. We have shared your comments and concerns with the senior leadership team and department managers in the hotel to ensure future guests have a better experience.

However, our goal is to have every guest leave satisfied and want to return in the future. Therefore, we would like to try and rectify your dissatisfaction. To discuss things in further detail, please contact our hotel’s Executive Office at 973-560-5162, and ask to speak with Scott or Vera. Thank you again, we appreciate your staying with us and are eager to earn your business again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here once or twice long while ago as I recall. The last time, I had problems with the plumbing in the
Bathroom. I made my own adjustments on it rather than call! The quality of the room and the service left a lot to be desired. They did not serve any complimentary food at the time I stayed. That was only done on certain days unlike other Hotels in the NJ area that serve on the weekends and weekdays! The Hotel was well located near Route 80 .I wrote a letter to the manager but never received a reply or acknowledgement. I never reserved there after that! The Lobby rooms and Restaurant were nice and seemed well run and cared for ! This was a trip I made here quite a while ago. Maybe 3-4 years or more past!
Stephen G.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Stephen G –
Wow, as you are commenting on a stay 3-4 years ago, we are excited for you to return and see our complete revitalization and have a much better experience. Within the last two years, we are brand new from top to bottom, including transforming our 20,000 square foot fitness center and spa; completing a makeover in our guest rooms, corridors and Club Lounge; and renovating our lobby and living rooms. In addition, there have been several senior leadership and staff changes, and we are very proud of the service that our team delivers as demonstrated by the Certificate of Excellence we received this year from Trip Advisor.

Thank you again for sharing your comments from a long time ago. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Parsippany the next time your travel plans bring you to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staff does not refill evening food with original items. For example, staff will subsitute with a lower quality item. Kitchen will only make a certain amount of food based upon the price. Once finished, the kitchen will send up apples and oranges as replacements. Come early for best selection and quantity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear 646heidi –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly value your comments as we try to learn from them to improve along the way and continually enhance our guests' experience. While we are very proud of our renovated facility and service that our team typically provides, we were not pleased to learn of your dissatisfaction with our Club Level. To ensure future guests have a better experience, we have shared your comments and concerns with the senior leadership teams in the hotel and fitness center. In addition, as we have recently been impacted by some folks abusing the Club Lounge, we have established new policies and procedures related to the Club Level so as not to dilute the experience for those who are rightfully there.

However, our goal is to have every guest leave satisfied and want to return in the future. Therefore, we would like to try and rectify your dissatisfaction. To discuss things in further detail, please contact our hotel’s Executive Office at 973-560-5162, and ask to speak with Scott or Vera. Thank you again, and we appreciate your staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Parsippany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Address: 199 Smith Road, Parsippany, NJ 07054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Parsippany Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Parsippany Hotel is located in the center of it all! Just 30 minutes from Newark International Airport and 25 miles from New York City and convenient to several attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Parsippany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Parsippany
Sheraton Hotel Parsippany Nj
Parsippany Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.