We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, unique among a sea of cookie cutter hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Parsippany Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Smith Road, Parsippany, NJ 07054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Parsippany
Milford, CT
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great property, unique among a sea of cookie cutter hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The rooms look recently renovated, they are definitely not your standard Sheraton room. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. The layout of the hotel is a little odd, there are some LONG walks to rooms. This is a plus and minus: Plus because you can get a quiet room far from the elevators; Minus because, well, it can be a long walk to your room. The internet, while a $10 charge (I'm a firm believer this should be free) is pretty fast for hotel wifi. Overall this is a nice property, I would recommend to anyone staying in the Parsippany area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Ankit_kh -
Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our renovated facility and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you had both a good conference and enjoyed our facilities and service. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Parsippany again for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    81
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
78
50
10
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and modern. The room was nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable but the sheets kept coming off the bed which was annoying. I was looking forward to taking a bath but I got disgusted because there was black hair all in the tub, on the bathroom floor and on the sink. There were only two towels. Apparently you can only be five feet tall to use the shower. the shower head is so low. there is no refrigerator or microwave and no mini bar. from the look of the hotel youd expect a mini bar. We didn't even get our room service for breakfast and the maid was trying to get in our room at 9:00 am to clean. Obviously the staff doesn't communicate. We went down to the pool area and used the hot tub. More black hairs again, floating in the water. It was pretty gross. You had to go through the fitness center to get to the pool. I asked the gym attendant a question and he didn't smile at all. It was like I annoyed him. The lifeguard at the pool was just as "friendly". He was spraying something in the water right in front of a woman sitting in the hot tub. He didn't even try to avoid where she was sitting or at least wait until it was empty. I don't think I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Prwanay1 –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look upon feedback as a gift to help us continually enhance our guests' experience. While we are very proud of our renovated facility and the service our team typically provides, we were not pleased to hear about the less than impressive experience you had. We have shared your comments with the appropriate members of our leadership team to address and correct your challenges for future guest. We would like the opportunity to recover from this with you. To discuss things in further detail, please contact me, Scott, in the hotel’s Executive Office at 973-560-5162. Thank you again, and we appreciate your staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed at the sheraton parsippany hotel 12-28 /12-30 , we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that was brand newly renovated, the hotel went through a major facelift recently and it really paid off.id like to give a very special shout out to Michael Murtha who assisted us as we checked in to the property,we had an issue that couldnt be handled in house he insisted on running the errand after he ended his shift and had everything we needed brought to us upon the beginning of his next shift,he even laid out the money for the items! yes ladies and gentleman we got 5 star 5 diamond service at the sheraton parsippany thanks so much michael!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Izzystern –
Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our renovated facility and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed it as well. With your specifically mentioning one of our associates, Michael, for taking such good care of you during your visit by going out of his way to accommodate your special needs, please know that your comments have been shared with him and he will be receiving a special recognition for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Parsippany again for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The exterior of the hotel looks like a castle, the lobby and the room that I stayed in was nice. The staff there was friendly. There was a complimentary bottle of water on the first night, however not for the second night. One complaint is the bathtub, the water doesn't seem to drain very well. The water accumulates in the bathtub, but then drains after a few minutes. I took a few showers and it happened every time. Also, there was paper in my room but no pen which was funny. The speed of the in-room Wi-Fi is pretty good though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear jal747 –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look upon feedback as a gift to help us continually enhance our guests' experience. We appreciate your positive comments and were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall in our newly renovated guest rooms and enjoyed our other facilities.
We have shared your feedback regarding the tub slowly draining with our leadership team members to follow-up and ensure that this is addressed for future guests. Again, we appreciate your feedback to help us fine-tune our service. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Parsippany again for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Why when u stay in the cheap hotels do you get free WiFi most of the time, yet stay at a nice place they charge a per day fee? They can feed you breakfast, provide drinks and appetizers, but can't afford wireless Internet?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is worth a trip from anywhere and can stand as a destination on its own! It could be transported to any classy resort locale and hold its own with five-star properties – in terms of its glorious newly-renovated facility, its décor, its beds, its health club/swimming pool/hot tub, its food, its amenities, its service, its club lounge, and – most of all – without exception - its caring, professional, and efficient staff. The management of this hotel is genuinely invested in you coming away with a top drawer experience, personalized to meet your specific needs – and you surely do!

The outside of this magical oasis is designed to resemble a real castle and, rightly so, because, inside, every guest is treated like royalty! Forget spending thousands of dollars on airfare to far flung places in search of a retreat from the world. A few hours in, and you really do feel as if you are on a vacation at a fancy resort! Actually, the moment you enter the stunning lobby with the vaulted ceilings and the classic (and classy) décor combining subtle earth-tones, you feel transported.

Completely new inside – newly renovated and sparkling clean – the property is gorgeous, impressive and one never – not even for a moment - feels as if one is at a cookie-cutter copy of any standard chain hotel. The beds, along with everything else, are brand new – top-of-the-line, super sensational quality mattresses! Most importantly, the sense one frequently has in hotels of feeling like one needs to wipe everything down with disinfectant – we all know that feeling - is totally and entirely absent – everything is immaculate.

The health club is awesome – with every kind of equipment - and overseen by staff ready to assist you in every way. It is directly adjacent to the #1 thing of all: the unbelievably extraordinary, giant swimming pool and phenomenal (the best!) hot tub. Outstanding, awesome! Do not miss the hot tub – oversized, freeform, hot, hot, hot, churning, clean, and connected to a cool pool! Housed in a high ceilinged, atrium-like, two story area with transom-like, paned windows and scrupulously maintained, the feeling one gets - again - is truly identical to that which one would have at a faraway resort or at a five-star boutique hotel in some warm, tropical destination.

You will be truly hard pressed to find the type of hotel experience dollar-for-dollar - or even for far more money - that you will find at this Sheraton in Parsippany, New Jersey. Again, it is really worth a trip from anywhere as it can stand as a destination on its own for a short and restorative getaway!

Room Tip: It is so worth it to pay a little extra when booking to be on the club floor where you have access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Several common threads in other comments could be the basis of my comments: Bathrooms too small, no towel rack, etc., but to be perfectly honest, the room was nice, and being a corner room on a higher floor with windows on two walls, it was a bright and pleasant place to be. Also pleasant were the grounds. The landscaping was nice, and the property had good curb appeal.

The lobby and common areas were relatively clean and nice, but due to a large wedding, the atmosphere was extremely chaotic. I can’t blame the hotel for the obliviousness, rudeness, and stupidity of other guests, but I do expect the staff to create an environment where those negative experiences are kept to a minimum. For example: there needed to be some traffic control at the drop off area as so many of the wedding’s guests blocked the entire area with their vehicles…then blocked the front doors as they just stood there in another world. Other examples: In the lobby, we were confronted with children running around unsupervised, people eating meals in the check-in area, loitering in every nook and cranny, etc. I’m not sure how to design an elevator system to cope with a large number of people oblivious to proper behavior in hotels, but since this hotel seems to cater to such large events, they need to figure it out! (Example: It often took several minutes to get up to our floor as oblivious guests piled on to elevators that were going up, when they wanted to go down! This happened over and over! ) We did not avail ourselves of any other amenities such as the pool, etc due 100% to our observations of the other guests. Marshalling of unruly crowds of guests is, in my opinion, a proper function of hotel staff. After the event was over, and all those guests evacuated, there was an instant improvement to the overall experience, but of course it was our last day, too!

Bottom line: This is a hotel with lots of potential, but do beware of large events that can ruin your stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Parsippany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Address: 199 Smith Road, Parsippany, NJ 07054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Parsippany
#4 Business Hotel in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Parsippany Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Parsippany Hotel is located in the center of it all! Just 30 minutes from Newark International Airport and 25 miles from New York City and convenient to several attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Parsippany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Parsippany
Sheraton Hotel Parsippany Nj
Parsippany Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.