We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton parsippany” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Parsippany Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Smith Road, Parsippany, NJ 07054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Parsippany
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sheraton parsippany”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and modern. The room was nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable but the sheets kept coming off the bed which was annoying. I was looking forward to taking a bath but I got disgusted because there was black hair all in the tub, on the bathroom floor and on the sink. There were only two towels. Apparently you can only be five feet tall to use the shower. the shower head is so low. there is no refrigerator or microwave and no mini bar. from the look of the hotel youd expect a mini bar. We didn't even get our room service for breakfast and the maid was trying to get in our room at 9:00 am to clean. Obviously the staff doesn't communicate. We went down to the pool area and used the hot tub. More black hairs again, floating in the water. It was pretty gross. You had to go through the fitness center to get to the pool. I asked the gym attendant a question and he didn't smile at all. It was like I annoyed him. The lifeguard at the pool was just as "friendly". He was spraying something in the water right in front of a woman sitting in the hot tub. He didn't even try to avoid where she was sitting or at least wait until it was empty. I don't think I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Prwanay1 –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look upon feedback as a gift to help us continually enhance our guests' experience. While we are very proud of our renovated facility and the service our team typically provides, we were not pleased to hear about the less than impressive experience you had. We have shared your comments with the appropriate members of our leadership team to address and correct your challenges for future guest. We would like the opportunity to recover from this with you. To discuss things in further detail, please contact me, Scott, in the hotel’s Executive Office at 973-560-5162. Thank you again, and we appreciate your staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    123
    56
    30
    14
See reviews for
99
62
11
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed at the sheraton parsippany hotel 12-28 /12-30 , we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that was brand newly renovated, the hotel went through a major facelift recently and it really paid off.id like to give a very special shout out to Michael Murtha who assisted us as we checked in to the property,we had an issue that couldnt be handled in house he insisted on running the errand after he ended his shift and had everything we needed brought to us upon the beginning of his next shift,he even laid out the money for the items! yes ladies and gentleman we got 5 star 5 diamond service at the sheraton parsippany thanks so much michael!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Izzystern –
Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every guest! We are very proud of our renovated facility and the service that our team delivers, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed it as well. With your specifically mentioning one of our associates, Michael, for taking such good care of you during your visit by going out of his way to accommodate your special needs, please know that your comments have been shared with him and he will be receiving a special recognition for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Parsippany again for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The exterior of the hotel looks like a castle, the lobby and the room that I stayed in was nice. The staff there was friendly. There was a complimentary bottle of water on the first night, however not for the second night. One complaint is the bathtub, the water doesn't seem to drain very well. The water accumulates in the bathtub, but then drains after a few minutes. I took a few showers and it happened every time. Also, there was paper in my room but no pen which was funny. The speed of the in-room Wi-Fi is pretty good though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear jal747 –
First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look upon feedback as a gift to help us continually enhance our guests' experience. We appreciate your positive comments and were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall in our newly renovated guest rooms and enjoyed our other facilities.
We have shared your feedback regarding the tub slowly draining with our leadership team members to follow-up and ensure that this is addressed for future guests. Again, we appreciate your feedback to help us fine-tune our service. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Parsippany again for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Why when u stay in the cheap hotels do you get free WiFi most of the time, yet stay at a nice place they charge a per day fee? They can feed you breakfast, provide drinks and appetizers, but can't afford wireless Internet?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is worth a trip from anywhere and can stand as a destination on its own! It could be transported to any classy resort locale and hold its own with five-star properties – in terms of its glorious newly-renovated facility, its décor, its beds, its health club/swimming pool/hot tub, its food, its amenities, its service, its club lounge, and – most of all – without exception - its caring, professional, and efficient staff. The management of this hotel is genuinely invested in you coming away with a top drawer experience, personalized to meet your specific needs – and you surely do!

The outside of this magical oasis is designed to resemble a real castle and, rightly so, because, inside, every guest is treated like royalty! Forget spending thousands of dollars on airfare to far flung places in search of a retreat from the world. A few hours in, and you really do feel as if you are on a vacation at a fancy resort! Actually, the moment you enter the stunning lobby with the vaulted ceilings and the classic (and classy) décor combining subtle earth-tones, you feel transported.

Completely new inside – newly renovated and sparkling clean – the property is gorgeous, impressive and one never – not even for a moment - feels as if one is at a cookie-cutter copy of any standard chain hotel. The beds, along with everything else, are brand new – top-of-the-line, super sensational quality mattresses! Most importantly, the sense one frequently has in hotels of feeling like one needs to wipe everything down with disinfectant – we all know that feeling - is totally and entirely absent – everything is immaculate.

The health club is awesome – with every kind of equipment - and overseen by staff ready to assist you in every way. It is directly adjacent to the #1 thing of all: the unbelievably extraordinary, giant swimming pool and phenomenal (the best!) hot tub. Outstanding, awesome! Do not miss the hot tub – oversized, freeform, hot, hot, hot, churning, clean, and connected to a cool pool! Housed in a high ceilinged, atrium-like, two story area with transom-like, paned windows and scrupulously maintained, the feeling one gets - again - is truly identical to that which one would have at a faraway resort or at a five-star boutique hotel in some warm, tropical destination.

You will be truly hard pressed to find the type of hotel experience dollar-for-dollar - or even for far more money - that you will find at this Sheraton in Parsippany, New Jersey. Again, it is really worth a trip from anywhere as it can stand as a destination on its own for a short and restorative getaway!

Room Tip: It is so worth it to pay a little extra when booking to be on the club floor where you have access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Several common threads in other comments could be the basis of my comments: Bathrooms too small, no towel rack, etc., but to be perfectly honest, the room was nice, and being a corner room on a higher floor with windows on two walls, it was a bright and pleasant place to be. Also pleasant were the grounds. The landscaping was nice, and the property had good curb appeal.

The lobby and common areas were relatively clean and nice, but due to a large wedding, the atmosphere was extremely chaotic. I can’t blame the hotel for the obliviousness, rudeness, and stupidity of other guests, but I do expect the staff to create an environment where those negative experiences are kept to a minimum. For example: there needed to be some traffic control at the drop off area as so many of the wedding’s guests blocked the entire area with their vehicles…then blocked the front doors as they just stood there in another world. Other examples: In the lobby, we were confronted with children running around unsupervised, people eating meals in the check-in area, loitering in every nook and cranny, etc. I’m not sure how to design an elevator system to cope with a large number of people oblivious to proper behavior in hotels, but since this hotel seems to cater to such large events, they need to figure it out! (Example: It often took several minutes to get up to our floor as oblivious guests piled on to elevators that were going up, when they wanted to go down! This happened over and over! ) We did not avail ourselves of any other amenities such as the pool, etc due 100% to our observations of the other guests. Marshalling of unruly crowds of guests is, in my opinion, a proper function of hotel staff. After the event was over, and all those guests evacuated, there was an instant improvement to the overall experience, but of course it was our last day, too!

Bottom line: This is a hotel with lots of potential, but do beware of large events that can ruin your stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Hotel has a majestic look to it. The exterior has an old European style. There is a lake out back also. As a joke I did ask the concierge if anybody fishes in there. You cannot walk anywhere. Any stores or places to eat must be reached by car. The bottles of water in your room are not free. There isnt any WI-FI in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby. Or you have to pay to have WI-FI access in your room.
At 8:30 in the morning there is loud knocking at the door,i ask (from the bed)who is it? no answer, More knocking! I raise my voice,"who is it?" no answer. More continuous knocking. Then I yell! what is it? On the door knob from the inside you can turn a little sign to indicate that you do not wish to be disturbed. It was actually funny I said to myself Do they really expect us to be out of the room so early? The next day I made sure that the sign was placed outside the paper one But then the one that you activate from inside your room on the door knob. The next morning at 9:30 am many knocks at the door."Really"?
If you plan on going to New York by train do not take the nearby stations, I repeat do not at any costs use them. There is a train station nearby in Denville and Morristown and I believe Mt Tabor A round trip ticket for two adults at Morristown station or maybe it was Mt Tabor I dont remember exactly But they are both close so the price is probably the same. But my point is We went to the machine to print out two adult round trip tickets. The price? $56 dollars. That is too much. If you have the money fine. But if you have a rental car drive to Glen Ridge or Bloomfield (write this down) Yes these stations are not nearby But you will save. We went to the Glen Ridge Train Station and we bought two adult round trip tickets to New York City for $24. The Bloomfield Station is on Lackawanna Plaza and the Glen Ridge Train Station is on Ridgewood Avenue. Even driving all the way to these two towns you will not lose money with gas. Dont spend $56 dollars when you can spend half that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parsippany
0.2 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#1 of 17 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Parsippany
1.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
#2 of 17 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
2.6 mi away
Hilton Parsippany
Hilton Parsippany
#12 of 17 in Parsippany
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 17 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Parsippany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Address: 199 Smith Road, Parsippany, NJ 07054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Parsippany Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Parsippany Hotel is located in the center of it all! Just 30 minutes from Newark International Airport and 25 miles from New York City and convenient to several attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Parsippany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Parsippany
Sheraton Hotel Parsippany Nj
Parsippany Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Parsippany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.