We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heard a lot about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blackthorn Restaurant & Irish Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blackthorn Restaurant & Irish Pub
1735 Route 46 East, Parsippany, NJ 07054
(973) 334-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johns Creek, GA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heard a lot about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had heard about this pub and sought it out for a quick bite to eat and a beer on a Friday afternoon. Bar area was crowded. Grabbed a high top for a quick meal and a few beers. Good service. Decent menu with a variety of selections. Bar area is not a place to try to have a conversation or business meal as it gets pretty loud but there are tables away from the bar if you desire. Nothing outstanding but would go back if in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been to the Blackthorne many times. It is always good. they have a nice menu - something for everyone. It's a great place for a business lunch. I've never been disappointed. My favorite is the shepherd's pie. Servers are pleasant and accommodating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, fun restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Always a good meal can be found here. Sadly I feel the prices could be a tad smaller, but it is worth it because I have never left unsatisfied.
They do have bands on Sat which makes it very loud & unable to have conversations.
Beer selection is ok.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We've been a number of times now and have enjoyed everything we've ordered. Yes, kind of noisy but guess I kind of expect that in a pub environment. And also agree that the service can be spotty. But the staff is friendly and food worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Relaxing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I went here on a Saturday evening for a light meal after a trip and we certainly made the right choice. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxing after our journey. The staff was friendly and helpful in every way. The food wind and drinks were excellent. We were left to pace ourselves, the staff being observant and attentive to our needs and our pace. A very friendly neighborhood pub.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackthorn Restaurant & Irish Pub also viewed

Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 
Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackthorn Restaurant & Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.