We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Parsippany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Parsippany to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Parsippany
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   855 US Highway 46, Parsippany, NJ 07054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Parsippany
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Clean and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We chose this hotel for a four day stay based on the TA reviews, and were satisfied with our experience. We had a room in one of the far buildings with two doubles (too cheap to spring for the King!). The room was clean and comfortable. It felt a bit damp, but so was the weather. Maintainance and housekeeping were so-so; we had to ask for water glasses, and to have the light over our bed replaced. The desk clerk was very responsive and friendly, and took care of everything as requested. What really distinguishes this hotel is the price for the area; it was much lower than other hotels with decent reviews. For four days, that $25 per night adds up. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofParsippany, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Richard S. ,

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel, we strive each every day to offer our guests a clean and comfortable room at an affordable price. We always do our best to make sure that our guests leave delighted. All our rooms now feature new bedding and flat screen televisions and later this year we will undertake a renovation to enhance our customer's experience; still with a competative price.

I will gladly share your comments with my staff and I hope to see you and your family again on your next visit to Parsippany.

Cordially Yours,

Daniel Gutierrez

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    27
    8
    15
See reviews for
26
21
40
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

For the price I paid the room was not worth it. I chose the king size bed room. It had a mini fridge, tv and a coffee maker. The cleanliness of the room though was horrible. There were hairs in and on the bed, black marks on the pillow cases and one of the pillow cases had yellow stains on it. The floor in the bathroom was sticky and I found stains on two of the towels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofParsippany, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Erin S.

I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Parsippany Red Roof Inn,
and I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We do try our hardest to provide each guest with a clean and comfortable room with the best quality for the price.

Our helpful and friendly staff are always willing and eager to help our guests. We have made some recent improvements at the hotel and our cleaning, linen, and towel procedures have changed so we can continue to provide exceptional quality to all of our guests.

I would also like to recommend that if you ever have an issue with your room in the future, to call our front desk and we will gladly move you to another room that would be more suitable for you.

We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Thank you for your comments as we do strive to improve our hotel and make it better each day for all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Daniel Gutierrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've heard horror stories from other hotels with a single room for a similar price. This hotel provides a good room for a small price. Here are the only problems: the bright blue quilts are synthetic, and you don't feel very warm sleeping at night; you can't control the heat in the room, only the air conditioning; wifi is not secure (don't do banking!); the fan in the bathroom is really loud, and there is no switch to turn it off while keeping the light on; you cannot have only the main lamp on - every light has to be on for the room to feel well lit. Otherwise, the room is very clean and meets most travelers' needs. The cleaning comes around twice per day, which I think is plenty. The first time I opened the door, I noticed how fresh and clean the room smelled.

The picture on the website shows a woman standing in a convenience store. This Red Rood Inn does not have anything close to a convenience store. Just a vending machine. Luckily, it's on Route 46, and there are tons of other places to buy the things you need. However beware of the Qin Dynasty Chinese restaurant connected with the Red Roof Inn - the women are snappy and bossy Chinese women. They need to be a little more polite. But the food is authentic and better than your local fast food Chinese place. (My neighbor is from China, and his family goes to this restaurant for authentic Chinese food.)

The Red Roof Inn was a great experience. My privacy was respected. Not much noise or disturbance outside my room.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms smell clean and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofParsippany, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Lillian B. ,


Thank you for your response about your recent stay. We encourage and welocme all comments about our establishement. You stated that we have a picture of a person in a convenience store. We do offer a vending room with various snacks and beverages here on property located next to our office.

All of our pictures for the Red Roof Inn Parsippany were done professionally and do not have guests, staff members, or the vending room in them. The picture which you must have seen was that of one posted by a guest; who are allowed to supply their very own pictures of our establishment on many of the review and booking sites.


Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you in the near future at the Parsippany Red Roof Inn.

Sincerely

Daniel Gutierrez

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriston, VA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This Red Roof is typical, clean, good beds, functional wifi, no micro or fridge in room (an upgraded room may have it). Good location. Good value. The only issue I had was that the water pressure in the shower was so hard it actually hurt my face. I am a 48 yo army vet and stay in probably 60-100 hotels a year, and I never had a shower hurt before (I was certain I was clean though!). Overall, great value for the area and many restaurants around. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofParsippany, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Ibarker,
Thank you so much for choosing the Red Roof Inn Parsippany and taking the time to tell us about your stay. As you stated our water pressure is quite strong and is being looked into. You also commented on not having a Microfridge in you room and with all our standard rooms that amenity is not provided. Although for a minimal fee we can upgrade you to one of our Deluxe rooms where it is provided or our Superior King room where we offer in room coffee and tea as well as the Microfridge.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Parsippany.

Cordially,

Daniel Gutierrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and service is great. Marsha at the front desk is very nice and accommodating. Location is good not far 1 hour from NYC. There are lots of restaurants to choose from. I recommend this place if your coming to Parsippany NJ!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofParsippany, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear tdill20,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit at the Red Roof Inn in Parsippany. We were pleased to hear that your experience was an enjoyable one. As you mention in your review, our location is in great proximity of New York City and many restaurants. At Red Roof Inn we strive to provide our guest with a wonderful hospitality experience. I will be sure to share your comments with Marsha and the rest of the staff regarding your visit. Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and we look forward to serving you should your travel plans permit.

Travel safely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Red Roof Inn really came thru for us recently as needing a place ASAP with the hurricance coming to NJ. We were forced to evacuate but our job was still on so as the hotel & customer were in same area, we booked our stay for 4 nights. They're pet-friendly with no fee. The room was on the 2nd floor (prefer 1st flr but emergency times called for making accomodations. We move furniture, stairs anywhere are a hassle!) Our room was neat, clean, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, plenty of towels, the staff was extremely accomodating & offered plenty of comforting words re: past experiences with storms. During the height of the storm, we lost power for only 5 hours - which was the 1st time in about 5 years! Our stay was made less stressful by Red Roof & I really appreciate all that was done not only for us but for the rest of the guests. While Hurricane Sandy caused plenty of damage in the area, there were still enough places with electricity so food & gas were available. The location, then, is great & the prices were a lot better than the other hotels along Rt 46. Highly recommend this hotel - hurricane or no hurricane!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofParsippany, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear ginny110411,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you were "Extremely satisfied" with your stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the Superior King Room with the Fridge, microwave, and in room coffee maker. It is our best value! We try our hardest to provide each guest with a clean and comfortable room. We know that many people were affected by Hurricane Sandy and we are very glad that we could take care of you and the other guests that stayed here during that stressful time. We were very fortunate that we only lost power for about five hours as we know many people were left in the dark for a long time. In an emergency situation we feel it is not fair to our guests to raise our prices, like some of our competitors. I am glad that you saw the value we provided was well worth your money here.
We look forward to your next stay and hope that we will see you again soon.

Thank you once again,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by this local hotel. due to power outage, I had to find a local hotel that was pet friendly.
Red Roof Inn was budget friendly also. Plenty of eating places nearby and close to my home.

It was very clean and the staff were very helpful to us. Especially, Marsha at the front desk. With the emergency situation in the area she was working long hours always with a smile.
I would recommend highly.
Thank you,
Ellen

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofParsippany, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Parsippany, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Shelly225,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor. Hurricane Sandy hit the East Coast very hard, and we are glad that we could accommodate you and everyone else that was affected by the storm. Some of my staff did work very long hours and I am glad that they kept a warm and welcoming smile during this stressful time. As you mentioned we are pet friendly and there are a lot of good restaurants close by. We are glad that we could provide you with a clean and comfortable room. We strive to make sure each guest enjoys their stay here.
We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is not an emergency again.

Thank you,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Parsippany

Address: 855 US Highway 46, Parsippany, NJ 07054
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Parsippany
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Parsippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Parsippany 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi, spacious work areas in all rooms, free USA Today & coffee in lobby, complimentary parking, weekly rates available, 1 well behaved pet stays free, ADA accessible, iron/boards, restaurant and meeting space adjacent to hotel, knowledgeable caring staff. NEW YORK CITY is easily accessible via the Park & Ride at nearby large mall, nonstop buses leave every 30 minutes $15 R/T. Morristown, Meadowlands Sports Complex, Newark Airport, and 8 colleges all close-by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Parsippany Hotel Parsippany
Parsippany Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Parsippany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.