We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the tikka masala.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Grill

Spice Grill
111 US route 46 east, Parsippany, NJ 07054
973 882 4646
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 106 Restaurants in Parsippany
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“All about the tikka masala.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Services was great- never had a water glass empty. Several dishes were good but the tikka masala was excellent!!! Will go back just to have that again. For those cautious about spice ask for the mild! We can handle heat but we were surprised when the "Medium" was to spicy after a few servings. Overall we will be back. And dont forget your wine/beer its BYOB.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

great food always fresh and owners are very friendly. eat in or take out about twice a month and always happy with the dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good food, more atmosphere needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The food is very good, fresh and tasty. It is really good for everybody who likes indian food. Vegetarians can find nice thing, but there are also a lot of nice meet dishes.
The atmosphere in the restaurant is nothing special, very simple.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“As far as lunch buffets are concerned.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This past Saturday my wife and I needed a place for a late lunch and stooped in at the Spice Grill. We had eaten here awhile back but it was dinner that time and the full menu. Although the full menu was available for lunch, we took a quick look at the buffet and decided to test it out. Unlike most Indian buffets, especially towards the end of the buffet time slot, the food was fresh and tasty, all selections were available (except for the tandoori chicken which was picked over pretty well) and neat and clean. We tried a few of the items including the lentil breaded and fried cauliflower, the chicken tiki masala, the peas and potatoes, the spinach and cheese and a few others. Service was excellent and overall, as the title says, as far as lunch buffets are concerned, this was well worth the $11 per person.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUTLER
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant of ANY type.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spice Grill is a store front Indian restaurant in Parsippany, NJ. Unassuming on the outside with tasteful and understated décor on the inside.

The service is friendly and patient. The kitchen is slow but I will attribute this to the time taken to properly prepare a meal.
My wife and I have now been here nine times, three times for their Sunday dinner buffet, the remainder during the week to order from the menu.

As "almost" vegetarians, we really enjoy the large selection of vegetarian entrées common to Indian cuisine. The large number of vegetarian appetizers is also appreciated.

Our favorite appetizer is the samosa. Wonderful fried pockets of potato and peas with delicious seasonings. Served with Cilantro and Tamarind Chutneys. Truly delicious.

The Naan is freshly baked and exactly as it should be: warm and chewy with just a hint of seasonings.

We have found the food to be delicious. A favorite dish for me is Kadir Paneer. Homemade cheese with a tomato, onion and green peppers in a tomato based sauce. When I ask for it "extremely spicy" they believe me and I get the heat level I desire!

The owners, a husband and wife, are friendly and ready to answer any question. The wife spent several minutes with us explaining how they make their spice mixtures and maintain the full depth of flavor in the dishes even while making it hot enough to satisfy this chili head.

Missus does not care for her food to be as hot as I like mine and she asks for it at a medium heat and tells me that it always hits just the right level for her.

It is 18 miles each way for us to go to the Spice Grill and we make the trip about once every other week. Though we have tried several other Indian restaurants in the same area, this is the one that we keep coming back to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Grill also viewed

Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 
Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 

Been to Spice Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.