We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the Problem?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 From Road, Paramus, NJ 07652 (Formerly Radisson Inn Paramus)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Paramus
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What's the Problem?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed there last night, for one night. Then tonight I read the picky reviews going over this and that. True, its not as fancy as other Crowne Plazas I have stayed at. I called the front desk when I woke up to ask if there was a free breakfast and they said "no" and then I read in one of the reviews that they like the free breakfast. I wonder what that was about. The rooms were tasteful, bedding was excellent with a big body pillow and lovely linens. Clean and spotless. A great desk with all kinds of plugs, wonderful arm chair and foot thingie. Really nice upholstery. The bulding isn't new but the room felt like nobody had ever been there before. The shower was great and the soaps and lotions and shampoo were top quality and smelled great. I wondered where I could buy that soap, I liked it so much. The windows actually open. It was a cool summer night and it was great to sleep with fresh air instead of airconditioning (which I did NOT find noisy).

My only criticism is that the internet was really slow and that there was no room service. The Bone Fish Grill, adjacent to the restaurant stops serving at 10pm and there was no provision for any food except for snack machine and Domino's Pizza delivery which I would rather go hungry than eat.

I felt really comfortable and well rested and for the price (I booked on hotwire and paid only $75) it was great.

Room Tip: The halls are really long so it might be more convenient to get a room by the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    63
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
53
39
23
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here with a wedding block this past weekend. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Beware the entrance to the hotel with a full bell cart can be challenging as it is an uphill climb and very narrow! They also do not have an elevator, so if you have a lot of stuff ask for a room on the first floor.

Hotel is older, but they have made some improvements, the rooms are nice, feel newer than they are and plenty of amenities including a bedtime aromatherapy spray which I thought was a nice touch. The bed linens were cozy, but the mattress was a bit hard.

The air conditioning unit was quite loud, but thankfully with all the dancing we did I fell right asleep. If you are a light sleeper I would be wary.

They provided a complimentary shuttle to and from the wedding venue which was fantastic (although it seemed the A/C in the van was broken).

Breakfast the next day was great, lots of fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon, juice and coffee and even though I was a bit late, they made me feel welcome and allowed me to grab just a few items.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Choose this location because it was near an event we were attending. Pleasantly surprised. It was a typical HI hotel. Had some resent improvements. Front desk was personable. Room was clean and typical. AC is always too noisy in these hotels. Rate was reasonable, taxes too high. Breakfast was good, server did expect a tip but the "free" breakfast was worth it. Location is excellent if traveling the Garden State Parkway. Great seafood restaurant next door as well as a food court at the mall....all within walking distance. I was surprised to read previous reviews, that was not our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Nancy J, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the Bonefish Grill and our breakfast.
I hope that if you are in the area you will choose to stay with us again and have a "Next Visit"
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I'm surprised this hotel is rated so well. This condition of this property wasn't good for me. At best, it should be a Holiday Inn, and it certainly doesn't meet the expectation of a 3.5 star Crowne Plaza. I've actually stayed in nicer Holiday Inn Expresses. It's very shabby. The design and the rooms didn't match what one would expect from a Crowne Plaza. It's two levels and without an elevator, so it probably was originally built to be a budget property. The rooms were small. On a positive note, the attached restaurant/bar was excellent. I had limited interaction with staff, but they seemed nice enough. I would avoid this property in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Bonefish Grill Restaurant at the hotel. I am very sorry that you did not feel we are up to the Crowne Plaza standards. We continually try to improve on our deficiencies and we are very proud of our committment to excellent customer service,
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm here at the hotel now and had to write the review.

We arrived late at night to our room. There were hairs everywhere in the bathroom tub, floor and toilet. Dust everywhere.

We went to the front desk and we got another room which we are in now. No surprise there are hairs here in the bathrooms and on the sheets which are inside out. If we didn't have a 2.5 hour drive to do at 1am we would have left immediately. There is no point in going back to the front desk only to get anther dirty room.

It's just plain disgusting here. As soon as we get even just a few hours of sleep, we're outta here. We don't even want the free breakfast they gave us. I can only imagine how dirty the kitchen is based on what I have to sleep in now.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I am so deeply sorry that our cleanliness standards were not met on your recent stay. It is very disappointing to me that your bathroom was not properly cleaned. I have reviewed your comments with the leadership of our housekeeping and I can assure you that corrective measures have been put into place to prevent such issues from occurring in the future. It is our sincere hope that you will not let this incident prevent you from giving us another opportunity to show you that this was an unfortunate isolated issue.
Should your travels bring you back to our area, please contact me directly so that I may be able to assist you with your reservations.
Again, I am very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

On top of the fact that the hotel had no closet (which I've never encountered in a hotel before), the housekeeping staff threw out a large bag of medical supplies. We complained to the front desk, they, of course, did nothing. it wasn't until we checked out that I discovered that my narcotic pain medication was in the bag, which led me to suspect that they stole the meds and threw away the bag to cover it up (there truly being no other reason to throw away a large bag of medical supplies still in the box). Two more attempts to contact the corporate office were met with deaf ears. Avoid this hotel if at all possible. If it's not possible, leave your valuables and your medications at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Kirsten F,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilberdyke
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

If you stay at this hotel, you're right in the heart of Bergen County's shopping complex, which is more than a mall, it's a whole collection of malls with top name stores.

I suspect that's a primary reason for people staying there. Otherwise, it's a standard hotel with standard rooms, for standard prices. There's nothing wrong with it, so if you are in Paramus for some serious shopping, you might as well be there as anywhere else.

Being located on Route 17, it's also a good commute by bus or car to Manhattan, about 25 minutes away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus

Address: 601 From Road, Paramus, NJ 07652 (Formerly Radisson Inn Paramus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Paramus Park & its fabulous location, is situated in the heart of Paramus, the shopping Mecca of New Jersey, is within walking distance of Paramus Park Mall & surrounded by many major corporations & attractions. Our boutique style hotel offers a friendly, home away from home experience!The Crowne Plaza Paramus Park has easy access to the Garden State Parkway & the New Jersey Turnpike. Only 12 miles from exciting New York City & a short distance to the Meadowlands Sports Complex, Giants Stadium, the new Yankee Stadium & Woodbury Commons Outlets! In addition, Newark Liberty & La Guardia airports are only about 25 miles from the hotel. You re at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment & the arts.You ll have room to work, relax & make the most of your day. Amenities such as high speed internet, work center, plush towels & luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night & every day starts right.Our Bonefish Grill serves dinner & room service daily. Enjoy modern interpretations of market fresh fish, grilled specialties & big city cocktails in a rich, sophisticated ambiance. Our new Crowne Cafe offers an extensive, delicious breakfast daily in a modern Wi-Fi friendly space.Whether, you re here on business or taking in what Paramus & New York City have to offer, you ll find yourself surrounded by friendly faces working hard to deliver on the Crowne Plaza Promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Paramus
Paramus Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.