We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 From Road, Paramus, NJ 07652 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty and Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm here at the hotel now and had to write the review.

We arrived late at night to our room. There were hairs everywhere in the bathroom tub, floor and toilet. Dust everywhere.

We went to the front desk and we got another room which we are in now. No surprise there are hairs here in the bathrooms and on the sheets which are inside out. If we didn't have a 2.5 hour drive to do at 1am we would have left immediately. There is no point in going back to the front desk only to get anther dirty room.

It's just plain disgusting here. As soon as we get even just a few hours of sleep, we're outta here. We don't even want the free breakfast they gave us. I can only imagine how dirty the kitchen is based on what I have to sleep in now.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennlynn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen M, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I am so deeply sorry that our cleanliness standards were not met on your recent stay. It is very disappointing to me that your bathroom was not properly cleaned. I have reviewed your comments with the leadership of our housekeeping and I can assure you that corrective measures have been put into place to prevent such issues from occurring in the future. It is our sincere hope that you will not let this incident prevent you from giving us another opportunity to show you that this was an unfortunate isolated issue.
Should your travels bring you back to our area, please contact me directly so that I may be able to assist you with your reservations.
Again, I am very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

On top of the fact that the hotel had no closet (which I've never encountered in a hotel before), the housekeeping staff threw out a large bag of medical supplies. We complained to the front desk, they, of course, did nothing. it wasn't until we checked out that I discovered that my narcotic pain medication was in the bag, which led me to suspect that they stole the meds and threw away the bag to cover it up (there truly being no other reason to throw away a large bag of medical supplies still in the box). Two more attempts to contact the corporate office were met with deaf ears. Avoid this hotel if at all possible. If it's not possible, leave your valuables and your medications at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Kirsten F,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
532 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

If you stay at this hotel, you're right in the heart of Bergen County's shopping complex, which is more than a mall, it's a whole collection of malls with top name stores.

I suspect that's a primary reason for people staying there. Otherwise, it's a standard hotel with standard rooms, for standard prices. There's nothing wrong with it, so if you are in Paramus for some serious shopping, you might as well be there as anywhere else.

Being located on Route 17, it's also a good commute by bus or car to Manhattan, about 25 minutes away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

One walks into the dark room with a sinking feeling. Low ceiling, dark, tiny room with tiny bathroom. One of the negatives of traveling in the north east is the old infrastructure as opposed to the sparkling hotels in the new southern exurbs.

A one night stay in this hotel was unremarkable. The room looked like it could do with a nice coat of paint and more lighting. Parking was easy. Overall, nothing to rave or complain about.

Breakfast buffet is above average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatboytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear fatboytraveller,

Thank you for leaving a review of our property. It is good to know that you found our parking area commendable. We apologize for not completely meeting your expectations on this day especially with the condition of the property and room accommodations you received. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, many thanks for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We asked for a tranport towards a mall and without hesitation they offered us transport by their own minivan.
The restaurant inhous has a good repution an makes you fresh grilled fish.
one minor detail : airconditioning makes a lot of noice and it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DudjiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Staff was friendly but the facility is very dated. Heating and air conditioning did not work properly, fitted sheet was the wrong size and didn't stay on the mattress, poor excuse for a gym. The only nice thing I can say is the Bonefish Grill was terrific. I would highly suggest staying elsewhere. This is not up to the standard I would expect from Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear sk1952,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and our on-site Restaurant the Bonefish Grill. We would like to apologize for the unusual condition of our hotel affected your stay negatively. We're also sorry for the room accommodations you received and our Fitness Center fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here now, gone tomorrow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed overnight there, the staff is courteous and overall I had no issues. The rooms are up to the Crowne Plaza expectations. The facility seems to be a bit old and the exit from the back seems to be more downscale than expected.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear BusinessTraveller777,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paramus
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Paramus
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Paramus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus
3.0 mi away
Ramada Rochelle Park
Ramada Rochelle Park
#1 of 1 in Rochelle Park
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marriott Saddle Brook
Marriott Saddle Brook
#1 of 3 in Saddle Brook
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus

Address: 601 From Road, Paramus, NJ 07652 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus & its fabulous location, is situated in the heart of Paramus, the shopping Mecca of New Jersey, is within walking distance of Paramus Park Mall & surrounded by many major corporations & attractions. Our boutique style hotel offers a friendly, home away from home experience!The Fairfield Inn Paramus has easy access to the Garden State Parkway & the New Jersey Turnpike. Only 12 miles from exciting New York City & a short distance to the Meadowlands Sports Complex, Giants Stadium,Yankee Stadium & Woodbury Commons Outlets! In addition, Newark Liberty & La Guardia airports are only about 25 miles from the hotel. You re at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment & the arts.You ll have room to work, relax & make the most of your day. Amenities such as high speed internet, work center, plush towels & luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night & every day starts right.Our Bonefish Grill serves dinner & room service daily. Enjoy modern interpretations of market fresh fish, grilled specialties & big city cocktails in a rich, sophisticated ambiance. We offer a complimentary breakfast daily in a modern Wi-Fi friendly space.Whether, you're here on business or taking in what Paramus & New York City have to offer, you ll find yourself surrounded by friendly faces working hard to deliver an excetional experience at the Fairfield Inn Paramus! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Paramus
Paramus Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing