We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 From Road, Paramus, NJ 07652 (Formerly Radisson Inn Paramus)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First-class Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Crowne Plaza in Paramus New Jersey boasts an outstanding front desk staff--especially Maggie-- and the buffet breakfasts are wonderful. Rooms are especially neat and everyone is very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    68
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
56
41
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaghticoke, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Room was reserved via opaque booking service, booked for 2 adults, 1 child. Upon arrival, no rooms with 2 beds were available. A rollaway was sent up but would not fit in room without blocking path to bathroom from bed (and having to move furniture out). Also, two buses blocked the entrance area -- one was parked there for some time despite being told would have to move, this apparently being a discussion had more than once; the other was idling and belching smoke and passengers for some time. Eventually, the opaque booking service contacted the hotel, a refund was proffered, and a reservation at the same price made 15 minutes away.

Ana at the front desk was very polite and understanding and tried very hard to make things work.

And yes, this is probably the only Crowne Plaza with no elevator to the second floor. The room we were briefly in was immaculate but furnishings seemed dated. Hotels in this immediate area are priced higher than one would expect, but I think one could do better.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Deejub,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manger
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is in need of updating and lacks amenities. The front desk staff ( specifically one middle aged male) is not very friendly and that was a turn off. The Bonefish Grill restaurant and proximity to the GSP is a plus but it can't overcome the dreary decor. The Crowne Plaza needs to put some money into this place. At best an average hotel. I wouldn't rush to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed here on business in November 2011 and paid $150 mid week (ouch--but not my money). Not a great facility, it is on the older side for a Crowne Plaza and not worth $150+ not even close. And, one night the electricity went out for two hours. It is by a mall, in a place with utterly no character. The restaurant attached (Bonefish) is good but overpriced slightly. But, not alot of options in the area so they can get away with that price for the mediocre quality. Service was fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCARE at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Stephen G,

Thank you for your review of your stay. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Thank you again,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallstead, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My daughter was running at the Armory on 168th Street. As we have a 3 hour drive home, we decided to stay overnight. I got a great deal on Priceline ($50), so the room was well worth it. The staff was very helpful and courteous. As is usual, the on-premises restaurant is overpriced, by there is a mall right next door that you can walk or drive to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I fancied a change from the Marriott Saddle Brook which is my usual overnight stay in this part of NJ so tried this one. Frankly I'd be ok staying there again but wouldn't choose to do so in the foreseable future. This is not because of any major functional things but just because the hotel needs a refit and is located (sort of) on a shopping mall/leisure complex but actually away from any other buildings.
The staff were all very friendly and the room was fine but the hotel gives off a forlorn feel because of its location and both the interior and exterior presentation is tired and old. I'm sure that with a bit of work to cheer the place up, it would be a lot more appealing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Overall the hotel was very good although one night at 3:00 am the phone rang with no answer. It rang again just after I had drifted back to sleep and again no answer the third ring the front desk girl, Jennifer, asked if we could turn down the TV. As I don't watch TV while I sleep there was nothing to turn down. She told me she had sent security to the door to listen but I was latter informed by the manager that in fact she was the only person working. The rate was great as it was obtained through priceline. The manager gave us free breakfast and extended our checkout but she didn't seem overly keen to deal with the complaint as I needed to call back to get her response after she had "investigated" the situation.

The breakfast was typical buffet style and was neither remarkably good nor bad. It is very well situated to NYC but you do need to absorb daily parking costs, but you get that with any NYC hotel as parking is rarely included.

The hotel is two storeys but does not have an elevator so if you have really heavy luggage or lot of it make sure you ask for a first floor room. The rooms were niceky appointed and the beds were comfortable. I got it on a bid for about $85.00 - that was a very fair value as it was New Years weekend.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a first floor room or you'll be lugging luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus

Address: 601 From Road, Paramus, NJ 07652 (Formerly Radisson Inn Paramus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Paramus Park & its fabulous location, is situated in the heart of Paramus, the shopping Mecca of New Jersey, is within walking distance of Paramus Park Mall & surrounded by many major corporations & attractions. Our boutique style hotel offers a friendly, home away from home experience!The Crowne Plaza Paramus Park has easy access to the Garden State Parkway & the New Jersey Turnpike. Only 12 miles from exciting New York City & a short distance to the Meadowlands Sports Complex, Giants Stadium, the new Yankee Stadium & Woodbury Commons Outlets! In addition, Newark Liberty & La Guardia airports are only about 25 miles from the hotel. You re at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment & the arts.You ll have room to work, relax & make the most of your day. Amenities such as high speed internet, work center, plush towels & luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night & every day starts right.Our Bonefish Grill serves dinner & room service daily. Enjoy modern interpretations of market fresh fish, grilled specialties & big city cocktails in a rich, sophisticated ambiance. Our new Crowne Cafe offers an extensive, delicious breakfast daily in a modern Wi-Fi friendly space.Whether, you re here on business or taking in what Paramus & New York City have to offer, you ll find yourself surrounded by friendly faces working hard to deliver on the Crowne Plaza Promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Paramus
Paramus Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.