We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and ageing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 From Road, Paramus, NJ 07652 (Formerly Radisson Inn Paramus)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tired and ageing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here for one night in transit from PA to JFK.
Hotel really has a motel type feel with multiple entrances and exits to the cars.
Staff were very helpful.
Rooms are tired and old, on the smallish side, but was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Very very long corridors and no elevator.
It did the job, but I wouldn't go out of my way to return here.
I should also say that I have never stayed in any other hotels in this area, so can't compare it to those.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    73
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
62
43
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I suppose having been to a Westin the day before I was a little spoiled but I thought the room seemed tired. Comfortable enough but the small things were not as I would expect. The iron was hopeless (I was on a business trip and need to iron my shirts before meetings/dinner) and the ironing board wobbled so much that the iron would fall off if left on there. When I got in to the room the wardrobe door was off its runners which only took me 20 seconds to fix (a colleague said his doors were missing completely) and the room had a damp smell. Breakfast was a fairly soulless affair and a bill was presented even though we had a breakfast voucher. Good that there was internet acces but slightly frustrating that you have to continually log in to the system.
Very handy for getting into NYC and the shops behind it but could do with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
KentPaul,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Rooms are clean, hotel staff is fantastic. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when traveling to this area. Convenient to NYC public transportation so you don't need to drive into the city. Nice restaurant on the property. Convenient location to anything you might need. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Have stayed on both first and second floor. No noise issues with either location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at the hotel with our infant and toddler during the power outage. It was one of the few hotels with availability. It was a little pricey compared to the other two hotels we stayed at. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was no fridge but I assume you could order one for the room. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. The free internet connection was very weak in the rooms so I had to use the business center to search for other accomodations (as they were booked so we could not extend our stay). The only item I would improve upon would be to offer complimentary coffee in the lobby. The starbucks kiosk is nice but for the price of the room I think they should offer at least complimentary coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I arrived at the hotel and the electric was down. There were no real options. I had to stay there. With no power one would expect to have a miserable time. However, the staff provided lighting, help and entertainment. It turned out to be a pleasant experience rather than an ordeal. I actually enjoyed it. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I checked into this hotel after 11pm and the staff was very slow and not motivated to get us into our room.

The rooms were clean, but the room size was a little small. The ebds were very comfortable. There was a working station and a chair.

The parking was awful, they are connected to a restaurant/bar so at 11pm there was barely any parking left.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Dks61885,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

I am glad to hear you did enjoy your clean room and comfortable bed. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience with our Front Desk staff. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel staff (specifically Sylvia Tonic and Edwin Sherman) truly understands customer service. Their attention to detail capped off with a smile was so appreciated. God bless you both as you make travellers very comfortable. Needless to say I will back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus

Address: 601 From Road, Paramus, NJ 07652 (Formerly Radisson Inn Paramus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Paramus Park & its fabulous location, is situated in the heart of Paramus, the shopping Mecca of New Jersey, is within walking distance of Paramus Park Mall & surrounded by many major corporations & attractions. Our boutique style hotel offers a friendly, home away from home experience!The Crowne Plaza Paramus Park has easy access to the Garden State Parkway & the New Jersey Turnpike. Only 12 miles from exciting New York City & a short distance to the Meadowlands Sports Complex, Giants Stadium, the new Yankee Stadium & Woodbury Commons Outlets! In addition, Newark Liberty & La Guardia airports are only about 25 miles from the hotel. You re at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment & the arts.You ll have room to work, relax & make the most of your day. Amenities such as high speed internet, work center, plush towels & luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night & every day starts right.Our Bonefish Grill serves dinner & room service daily. Enjoy modern interpretations of market fresh fish, grilled specialties & big city cocktails in a rich, sophisticated ambiance. Our new Crowne Cafe offers an extensive, delicious breakfast daily in a modern Wi-Fi friendly space.Whether, you re here on business or taking in what Paramus & New York City have to offer, you ll find yourself surrounded by friendly faces working hard to deliver on the Crowne Plaza Promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Paramus
Paramus Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Paramus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.