We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know jersey this is a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Paramus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Paramus to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Paramus
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Rte 17 North, Paramus, NJ 07652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you know jersey this is a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is located on busy highway 17. Fortunately every time you leave you don't have to go on 17 as there is a back exit to the suburbs of Paramus. So if you know the area or have a good GPS you an avoid the traffic and highways and be to world class shopping in 10-15 minutes. The hotel appearance is average but the hotel itself is spotless. The staff will drop everything and help you instantly, and are very responsive to requests. Hotel quiet and dark with excellent air conditioning. The breakfast is ok, avoid the hot breakfast. Always drinks in lobby and good hot coffee . Excellent staff and management

Room Tip: Choose a room in Back of hotel away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
22
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff was very helpful and greeted me with a welcome bag full of goodies upon my arrival. The real complaint that I have is that the air conditioning units in my first room did not work at all( a big deal in NJ in the summer time because it's hot and humid) so I was switched out of that room with in 15 minutes of walking in to it. Second room was facing the road so traffic noise was an issue, especially annoying were the delivery trucks. The next day I was switched to a room which wasn't facing the street and it was much quieter indeed. The rooms and the bed linens are a bit worn but, the rooms are clean. The free buffet breakfast in the mornings is quite nice and offers a wide range of choices hot and cold. That was surprising! Unfortunately, i don't think I'd opt to stay here again. Sorry! The staff really is wonderful though so just update those rooms and air conditioning units and you'll have a winner!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the road for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paramus, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear daycavtravel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to your room accommodation. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel was a cheap alternative to New York City as we thought, turns out the hotel was 40 minutes away from bus and it has complex turns to get to the stop. It will be easier if you have a gps. The hotel have very nice and helpful staff, but the furniture is a bit outdated and the carpet is clean but does not look new. The location is not good, near a highway which has noise and stores are not close in the hotel. The breakfast was good with great options. Its a good hotel because it is in a safe area. Its a great hotel if you are staying for a short period and you are just visiting New Jersey and have no plans to go to New York

Room Tip: Go to the very end of the hotel to minimize traffic noise
See more room tips
Green Features: I can see the hotel being enviromentally friendly but it does stand in the way of luxury, the cups are plastic w/ plastic rapping covering them, they do not have recycling bins but I assume they go through it and take cans and paper to recycle.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paramus, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you very much to taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that the hotel staff and services were great to your expectation. We are very sorry to hear about the hotel and bus location issues. Our guests feedback are very important to us and we appreciate you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We look forward to have you as a guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived at night after being lost for several hours. We were very pleased with the room. The room was clean, modern looking, and most of all had a comfortable bed. The breakfast bar good with a lot of variety. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paramus, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments. We are happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip.

Sincerely,
Maria carralero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great attention...we were lost and called them, more than ten minutes on the phone trying to help us. Very patient!!!
Clean room, clean bathroom. Comfortable beds.Very good breakfast. No problem with parking.
Great experience!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paramus, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the overall dissatisfaction of your stay especially with the room amenities and customer service received not being at par with your expectations. Your comments about the drain have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to your future reservations.
Sincerely
Maria Carralero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I just wanted to say that this was a nice place to stay if you are looking for clean and simple. The staff were all very nice the room was clean and up to date. The breakfast area (included with stay) was well stocked and had a decent variety of food. Ice machine worked. Room was quite and clean. Gym was very basic and not in the best location.
20 minutes to the ferry to N.Y.C.

Good experience overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paramus, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments. We are happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Victoria Lagua
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed there as part of a east side road travel. Our experience was nice. Good room, bed is firm and comfortable, also the pillows. The hotel is centrally situated and includes breakfast. The only setback there was a night time desk staff. He was disagreeable and impolite; too busy doing nothing. The rest of the staff was very good. We traveled by car everyday to NY, about half hour. Many restaurants and stores around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Paramus

Address: 50 Rte 17 North, Paramus, NJ 07652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Paramus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated 100% non-smoking Holiday Inn Express is right where the action is in Paramus. Located on Route 17 North and is very close proximity to major highways like Route 4, Garden State Parkway, and I-80, the Holiday Inn Express is where you want to be, whether you are traveling for business or pleasure,or leisure in and around Paramus. New York City is only a few miles drive away from the Hotel. Hop on to the George Washington Bridge or take the Lincoln Tunnel and you are in the heart of Manhattan, New York City is the heartbeat. Shopping could never be closer: Garden State Plaza Mall, New Jersey is the largest and busiest Mall is across the street from the hotel. With over 300 stores, which include Macy s, J.C.Penney, Lord & Taylor, Nordstrom and Ikea to name a few,the mall is a major bus transfer point for New Jersey Transit Commuters. Bergen Mall is also minutes away. Throughout your stay you will enjoy our warm and professional hospitality. Start your mornings off with complimentary Express Start breakfast including hot items Take advantage of our free wireless & wired high-speed Internet. 32''LCD TVs, DVD players & refrigerators in all rooms. The hotel has free and ample parking spots. Please ask for our concierge service if you want to schedule a NYC tour. All our 89 rooms and lobby area are newly renovated.Come experience our Stay Smart hospitality. Enjoy our 24 hour fitness Center along with our Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Paramus Hotel Paramus
Holiday Inn Paramus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Paramus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.