We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Rt 17 South, Paramus, NJ 07652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not the best place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

On a recent visit to the area for a family get together we chose to stay at this location - primarily because of their reviews on Tripadvsor. We were disappointed. The property is off of a very busy highway and it seems like you take your life into your own hands went entering and exiting the property. The rooms are just OK - really need some updating and a good cleaning too. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Fortunately we didn't spend any time there except to sleep. I think that you will find better choices in the area.

Room Tip: It's a small place with no elevator all the rooms would be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Gregg60,

Im am truly sorry you did not feel our property was up to standards during your stay. Had we known about any issues you had during your stay with regard to cleanliness, or anything else we would have taken immediate action, but of course we did not. Our staff prides themselves as being in the top 5% of the brand and our cleanliness scores rated by guests prove it. We recently underwent a full inspection from LRA (a well respected hotel analysis company which inspects cleanliness, and other standards) and we came out with an "exceptional" rating in all categories, a task which many of our competitors have yet to accomplish.

Additionally, we are the only hotel in the market that updates its room conditions each and every year. In the last two years we have invested over $300,000 in our rooms from renovating bathrooms to installing new locking and HVAC units. Our rooms are our business, our baby, and we need to make sure they are up to standards for our very valuable guests. Standards which we know are higher than our competitors (i.e. we are the only hotel in the market that triple sheets our bedding to ensure proper guest comfort, offer 37 inch flat panels/fridge and microwaves in all rooms).

I do hope if you visit the Paramus area in the future, you try our property again and we can prove to you (as many already know) what an exceptional property we are.

Thank You,
Sean Charnow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    67
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
56
46
26
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a little bit further then I'd like to stay when coming to NYC but it has everything you need to enjoy yourself here.

There's no pool for those looking for them.

The rooms are nice and it seems to be a fairly new hotel.

47 inch big screen tv was in my room but I can't speak for all others.

Comfortable beds and the breakfast is doable.

There is no elevator so request a room on the first floor if stairs aren't your thing.

There is a red lobster on the same property.

Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I can't say enough good things about the housekeeping staff at this hotel. I travel often on business and try to find rooms with a microwave and refrigerator. Invariably the freezer in the refrigerator is totally encased with frost - a clear indication that nobody has cleaned or defrosted the unit. At the Paramus Comfort Inn, the refrigerator was clean and the freezer was frost free. The condition of the rest of the room indicated that it had been cleaned by someone who obviously took pride in his/her work. I stayed there on Friday into Saturday when the breakfast was supposed to be ready at 7AM. When I smelled sausages at about 6AM, I checked to see if breakfast was really ready. It was ready and hot and tasty - another plus for this hotel. Check-in was quick and hassle free with pleasant desk personnel and check-out was the same. I have stayed at this hotel in the past and will stay there again when I'm in the Paramus area.

Room Tip: I prefer a room on the Route 17 side, less traffic than on the Garden State Parkway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Korea
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is clean and comfortable. I have enjoyed staying there.
Non-smoking rule is well preserved.
However, the smell of the room where I stayed was not good.
I tried to open the window, but it was locked.
So I had to endure the disgusting smell.
Except it, I am satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rewldrgroup, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Daeho,
Im pleased to hear your stay with our property was generally good. We strive very hard to make sure our guests have a very comfortable stay with our property. I am concerned however that you had some issues with the smell of your room. Had we known about any inconveniences with your stay we would have rectified them immediately including odor related issues. We value our guests very much as their comfort is our top priority. I can assure you that poor odors is NOT a commonality at our hotel.

Thank you for noticing how clean the rooms are. Our housekeepers and room inspectors are on top of it each and every day making sure the rooms are as clean and comfortable as possible and when guests notice it, it makes it more even more satisfying. So thank you again! We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sean Charnow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice hotel with a very friendly staff. Clean room and public areas. Great breakfast, eggs and bacon one day then eggs and sausage the next with lots of other hot and cold selections. Would stay there again. The only thing that was difficult was that the entrance is right where the GSP exits onto rt. 17. Be very careful because cars are high speeding off the exit. Liked having Red Lobster on the same property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here many times while visiting family in the area. This is a low cost, budget friendly hotel that pays attention to details. They offer a buffet breakfast every morning that always includes eggs, fresh waffles, and either bacon or sausages in addition to cereal, toast, coffee, etc. Local phone calls are free as is access to the Internet using new Apple computers in the comfortable lobby area. They also offer free WiFi. The hotel is very clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff is very nice and helpful There is a Red Lobster next door that is always very crowded. It has decent food and a full bar.
The location is a bit difficult to get to as it is located on busy Highway 17 and requires a U- Turn to access. However, it is close to shopping and there is easy access to NYC either by car, bus or train.

Room Tip: Although the rooms on the front side of the hotel face Highway 17, they are still pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Recently stayed here for a business trip. The hotel is extremely clean, well run, quiet, and everyone was very polite. I was concerned about it being a hotel with smoking and non-smoking rooms (I'm sensitive to smoke), but never noticed any smokey smell. Also, it looks like all of the non-smoking rooms are clustered together (at least it seemed like that). The room was spotless, the breakfast area was clean and solid (not a great selection, but pretty good). The staff from the front desk, to housekeeping, to breakfast staff were all very polite and friendly. Several things to note:
1) The hotel does not have an elevator (only 2 stories). There is an accessible ramp at the entrance, and rooms on the first floor.
2) It is close to the highway on both sides (off ramps and roadways). But, set far enough back with the parking lot that there was almost no noticeable noise (just the occasional truck engines or tires) without the room air conditioning unit (and almost completely masked with the unit on).
3) It is close to all of the shops and big box stores on NJ 17 and NJ 4, and just a few blocks from Ikea, the Garden State Plaza, etc.
4) Getting into the parking can be tricky, especially at night or in bad weather. You are coming down the highway (NJ 17) at 50+, but have to get into the right most lane to enter the parking lot, but that lane is also the foot of the off ramp for the garden state parkway exit so cars are coming down and trying to merge onto NJ 17. Be careful and enter the parking lot quickly (so the tail of your car is not hanging out while cars are coming around an off ramp turn and trying to accelerate onto NJ 17, while looking back to see if they have room to merge). You can see why this is an accident waiting to happen.

Best part of all is the price--very well priced for the area and convenient to everything. Will likely stay here again for pleasure to venture into the NYC and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ

Address: 211 Rt 17 South, Paramus, NJ 07652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus Nj Hotel Paramus
Comfort Inn And Suites Paramus Nj
Comfort Inn Hotel Paramus
Comfort Inn Paramus
Paramus Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus NJ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.