We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good Japanese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KIKU Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
KIKU Restaurant
365 N State Rt 17, Paramus, NJ 07652-2905
201-265-7200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 102 Restaurants in Paramus
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been a regular for years. Great for families and kids. Japanese food is great to boot. Always get the shrimp and scallops. My wife loves the filet Mignon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    13
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montvale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

food ok service poor waitress terrible.. We ordered rice with the meal
we told the waitress we didn't get it. she said she would take care of it. We finished eating without the rice. Waitress returned for desert order and we said we never received the rice. She said oh ok so shoot me besides rice free so no refund
We are done so sorry

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“It is fun for the kids but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I frequent the Kiku of Paramus about 4x a year. My son asks for it, and it is great to get together with other families and make a night of it.

PROS: entertaining, yummy mai tais, fun atmosphere, everyone else has kids so nobody looks at you funny if your child cries etc. Tuna tartar is excellent, you get a lot of food for the money . The food is pretty good , similar to Benihanna, but there are some sacrifices.........

CONS: No matter what you do you cannot get a steak cooked medium rare to rare they always overcook it. Not good for seed or shellfish allergies because if you sit with another family and they order something you are allergic to, you may have cross contamination. One time I told them I cannot have scallops and the cook was flipping my steak with the scallop utensil I had to get a manager. Children's meals are pricey, they give them too much food basically and a kid's meal at 16-20 bucks is not really needed. Plus they serve your child noodles and rice and soup before the entree so by the time they get to the meat they do not want to eat. There are hidden costs too, for example they ask white or fried rice, but fried is extra.

The biggest CON to me is the rude management. They hover over you to get out and for an average of 40-60 per person , why should you be rushed ? I do not like my appetizer coming out and they are already cooking your steak.

It is very popular and I will keep going back because my son really enjoys it , just be warned of the downfalls. If you are a couple , make sure you have a group so you don't have to deal with a bunch of families like us !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“"You know how to take the reservation, you just don't know how to HOLD the reservation"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our visit did not start well when we arrived 15 minutes early for a reservation and were not seated until almost 15 minutes after our reserved time. Then, once at the table, it took another 20 minutes before someone took our order. Very disappointed with service and northern NJ provides so many better choices in Hibatchi. The highpoint was the quality of the food and we found our seafood to be fresh and the filet to be fork-tender. The chef cooked things well but it's pretty pricey!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fly to Japan first!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The food was good, seated right away, service slow. We waited 40 min for cook and by then he wasn't funny. We had good food taste was good. But a dragged out evening that was not great. Trouble even getting water refills.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KIKU Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to KIKU Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KIKU Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.