We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Occasion Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El CID Restaurant

El CID Restaurant
205 Paramus Rd, Paramus, NJ 07652-1314
201-843-3002
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 119 Restaurants in Paramus
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner
NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've eaten here several times the most recently with a work group last Thursday. We split some appetizers, some had the salads and I had the potato soup. Entrees included the scallops, the pime rib, baby lamb chops and another beef dish. Everyone raved about their food, the homemade potato chips were amazing, and we stopped before we were stuffed because we wanted to share some desserts. No one left empty handed, my left over scallops were more than many restaurants original portions! The room is large and carries sound, so the only negative is it gets very loud and there was a toddler with a piercing scream. Perhaps after the first few minutes, the manager could have offered them an area upstairs since it wasn't crowded, or offered them assistance. No one from management seemed to approach the table . We've all been there, in that position, with a screaming child, but perhaps the family was waiting to be asked so they could wrap their dinners or move, etc.... Ignoring them just made the rest of us on edge. (we watched their table for quite a while, as they were close to us).
Food excellent, portions immense and great quality, ambiance, off this time....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    14
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A friend invited us to El Cid. It is nice decorated restaurant with very friendly staff. Portions are big and delicious. Spicy beef as started is really perfect. Price level is good. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommended by friends for birthday dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Food was good though portions were huge. We all went home with doggie bags,which is not a bad thing. We ate upstairs in the back at a corner table,it was a bit crowded and somewhat noisy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in New Jersey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this restaurant is great. The food is superb and the service is outstanding. I love this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best prime rib and lobster!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We haven't had anything yet that we didn't love. The sangria is very good. My favorite is the white sangria. The spicy beef tips for appetizer, I would eat them as my meal they are so good! My mother in law had a huge lobster which she really enjoyed every bite. The prime rib is to die for! Expect to have tons of people staring at you as they bring you this huge piece of meat to your table and makes you feel like Wilma serving Fred Flinstone. My husband always gets the paella. Yes, the place is pricey but the portions are so big you have left overs for 2 more meals so it is a great value.The service is always great. Warning, if you go on the weekends and show up after 6pm expect to wait a while for a table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El CID Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El CID Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El CID Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.