We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids didn't want to leave...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Jersey Children's Museum

The New Jersey Children's Museum
599 Valley Health Plaza, Paramus, NJ
+1 201-262-5151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Attractions in Paramus
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After 23 years of joy and learning and delighted hands-on play for toddlers and preschoolers, the New Jersey Children's Museum will be closing forever on Labor Day, Sunday, September 1, 2014. We've loved watching you play and learn and laugh with your children! Come visit one last time before we close! Say goodbye to the staff and take photos of your child in the kid-sized grocery store or drawing a cave painting in the prehistoric cave, or dancing or building or dressing up in costume! Fantastic photos of your happy children playing, guaranteed! Everything in the Gift Shop is 1/2 price, so come do your holiday shopping now! Everything must go! We will sell all the exhibits and costumes and furniture in early September. Check back at our website for more information about New Jersey's greatest (and most interesting) virtual garage sale! We'll be selling everything from Ahrens-Fox open cab Fire Truck (stored inside for 20 years!), or a gigantic dollhouse, or fun mirrors, or maybe just some wonderful toys and Princess costumes, all perfect for preschools or daycare centers or church schools, or just your own home playroom! See photos!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Monsey, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Kids didn't want to leave...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Unlike some reviews we heard, this place was perfect for my children under 4 years old. They enjoyed every aspect of the museum and didn't want to leave when we were done.
I would highly recommend this to other families looking for a nice local day out.
The staff was also very accommodating.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1957travelers, executive director at The New Jersey Children's Museum, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Come visit one last time! We close forever on Monday Sept 1!
We are auctioning off the contents of the museum right now-- go to the auction at onlineauction.com.
Thank you for your kind review. We loved running the museum and we will miss it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    18
    14
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't be beat for pre-schoolers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This museum is definitely worth the road trip (in our case from Westchester County, New York). Our 3 1/2 year old daughter absolutely loved it and did not want to leave even though she was exhausted after a couple of hours of totally engrossed play.

My daughter is learning about how to use maps (courtesy of Dora the Explorer) so she loved the big 3-D map of the museum that is mounted on the wall near the entrance. We used it to figure out where to go. On this visit she loved riding the horses (in chaps!) in the Wild West room, making designs out of sand with the hanging sand funnel, uncovering dinosaur fossils in the sand box, hiding in the dinosaur cave, doing the fishing activity, and playing with Barbies in the 3-floor Barbie doll house (could not reach the third floor even on a stool but still loved it).

There were frequent announcements about various arts/crafts activities taking place but I couldn't get her interested in getting out of the sand. We never even got to the train room. LOTS to do.

Basically if you are interested in doing something fun, interactive and educational with your young child, you can't go wrong here. I can understand other reviewers wanting to be budget conscious but I don't agree that the experience is overpriced. I paid $23 or so for 1 adult and 1 child; a movie matinee would have cost $19.50 and is less educational. not interactive, and too long for my child to sit still through. A visit to the American Museum of Natural History would have cost $34.50 not including transportation/parking. A visit to Stepping Stones Museum for Children would have cost $30 and that museum, like many, gears the majority of its exhibits toward older (elementary age) kids. Other museums may have great aesthetics, but my daughter enjoys them no more than she does the New Jersey Children's Museum. She's only going to last two hours in any location!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1957travelers, executive director at The New Jersey Children's Museum, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Come visit one last time before we close forever on Monday Sept 1!
Participate in the one line auction at onlineauction.com-- we are right now auctioning everything off, from the buffalo head to the fire truck!
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it. We loved the museum for 22 years and we will miss it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GREAT "hands-on" Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a fabulous museum for children up to about age 6. It is totally hands-on and interactive. There are lots of life-size vehicles there for children to climb on and pretend to drive including a fire truck, helicopter, back hoe, ambulance and lots more. If you are in Bergen County NJ, this is a do not miss place!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1957travelers, Executive Director at The New Jersey Children's Museum, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are thrilled you had a wonderful time! The New Jersey Children's Museum is specifically designed for hands-on, interactive play for toddlers and preschoolers-- every exhibit and play area has been planned with the most engaging, fun, educational play for your child. Of course, it sounds like you yourself have brought one of the most important things with you on a visit to the museum-- yourself! A adult who actively plays with a child at the museum makes the whole visit much more fun for the child, and much more educational. Hope you took a lot of great photos!
We'd love to see you back visiting again-- you'll find your child will play in different areas each time you visit, and play differently as they grow and learn. Come back soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for little kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place seems like it is good from ages 1 - 4. I brought my 2 year old and she seemed a little overwhelmed but enjoyed it. The place has multiple 'mini' areas with different activities. It is a touch and see museum and the kids can learn from it. You also can book parties and order pizza.

A child would not get bored here but make sure you bring antibacterial wipes after for their hands!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1957travelers, Executive Director at The New Jersey Children's Museum, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are so thrilled you has a great time. We are specifically designed for toddlers and preschoolers, so children up to 6 or so have a wonderful time.
Children are NEVER bored!
Children do get too old, though, you are right-- (We just chatted with a visiting child who is 8-- he was visiting with younger siblings-- and had been coming since age 2-- and he said to me, "Oh, I know I'm too old really for most of this but I came here when I was little, used to love coming here with my grandma....and it's fun to help my little brothers play here".
We are always open to new ideas!
We agree with you about the anti-bacterial soap-- we have Purell available throughout the museum and we encourage everyone to use it, to keep us all healthy. Our staff cleans the exhibits starting 1/2 hour before closing, and we have a cleaning service every night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Kids will enjoy the experience despite the lack of updating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This museum is extremely overpriced. My husband and I took our grandson and it would have cost $32 had I not had a Groupon coupon. Maybe it would have been worth it if the place were updated but it was in poor condition and some activities lacked parts and moving pieces. Accompanying adults should not be charged such so much just to follow their child around.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1957travelers, Executive director at The New Jersey Children's Museum, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Gosh this is great review! Thank you! You are so right: this place is good for HOURS of fun!

"I love the entire concept of a hands on children's museum and this one is great. From a REAL helicopter, fire engine and backhoe, plus the dress up clothes to go with them, this is a child's dream place. In addition, a child sized diner with stools and play "food"; a shopping area with child sized shopping carts; a dinosaur dig; a ballet studio with tutus; a play house area; and a castle with princess and knight dress up clothes (and lots of other things) - this place is good for HOURS of fun".

We do take care of all the exhibits and we got the train fixed so do come back and appreciate it!
If you think about how much fun you had, and what a great experience you had-- and how much your children enjoyed it-- it is expensive but totally worth it.

We do agree with your advice about visiting after school-- excellent advice!

Comeback and see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Jersey Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to The New Jersey Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Jersey Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.