We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an identity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Biagio's Ristorante

Biagio's Ristorante
299 Paramus Rd., Paramus, NJ 07652
(201) 652-0201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 119 Restaurants in Paramus
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Needs an identity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Average food, little flavor, really big portions. I don't know if this is supposed to be a fancy restaurant as their website portrays, a local bar with food or a soon to be giant catering hall. Serice was good, nice wine and beer selection. Dessert lacked anything worth spending $7 for.
I had a chicken dish and my wife had a sizzling steak, we were not close to being blown away by the dishes. The crab meat cocktail was nothing to rave about for $15, and house salads were fine but no offering of fresh pepper which you would expect after seeing their website. Overall satisfied, full and good service, but will not be going back anytime soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Don't book a private party there!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I booked the private room for after my father's funeral. It was a Tuesday at 3:30.
We arrived with 25 people and found ourselves in the main dining room. There was already a party in the private room ( I'd booked it 2 days prior, in person, so there was no misunderstanding that we wanted privacy).
To add insult to injury, the owner, Teddy ( the elder) acted as if I was being rediculous when I complained because there was only one other couple in the dining room so it was basically private. They ended up singing Happy Birthday to this couple in the middle of my father's funeral dinner.
The dinner was rushed by the wait staff and the servers were rude. The food was not that good.
Basically I was there to have some where to be with my family, and we ended up at 3 different tables with no privacy.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Ran a high school reunion with the help and support of Tommy and Teddy and the whole staff. Food and atmosphere was excellent. Lots of compliments all around. They also stayed right on budget. Room was jammed but they made it work. Happy to see new bigger room coming soon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A catering hall trying to be a resturant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place has been here forever. Got a groupon discount $65 for four dinners and two appys. The Rib Eye was the only highlight, all of the other meals Stuffed sole, and a seafood medley and the appys were poor catering hall food. total bill with drinks came to $165 with a $24 tip.dont waste your time, could hear the music from the party in the catering hall and the food was not worth it at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not great food...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good location and currently expanding, but I feel the food quality has slipped pretty significantly over time and prices have increased to boot..what used to be a great value is now nothing more than a decent at best place to eat, and around here, there are lots of options for Italian food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biagio's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Biagio's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biagio's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.