We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Paramus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Paramus to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Paramus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Route 17 North, Opening in April 2008, Paramus, NJ 07652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Having stayed at several hotels in the area, this is the most comfortable.

The location is good: close to Parkway and Route 17. But both entry and exit can be difficult, especially if you are not familiar with New Jersey roads.

The reception is open and the staff friendly, although they tend to struggle when it’s busy. There’s no priority check-in. The rooms are the standard Courtyard offering, less spacious than some, a/c can be noisy and the TV set up is poor.

Breakfast is good but there is no variety, every morning is the same.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator, ie low or high numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. We are very happy that you find our hotel to be the best lodging option in the area. Please continue to visit us on future trips to Paramus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    55
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
24
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We, along with several other guests we observed, stayed here while traveling into NY for a Yankees game. We appreciated the friendly staff, as well as the clean, spacious, and up to date rooms. A cafe area served what looked like a nice breakfast, but we bought ours on the road. Our reservations were made via a third party provider, and we were pleased with our discounted cost. Free parking and internet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I would like to say "Thank You" for posting a review of our property. I am very happy that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities. And the positive comment about the staff is very much appreciated. I will let them know that they are doing a great job. Please visit us again during your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you have to spend time in this area of NJ this is a good spot. Right off the parkway and easy access to lots of shopping locations.

The front desk staff was friendly upon check in. The rooms are nice....clean...fairly spacious.

The heat/ac in the room os the old fashioned kind that makes a lot of noise especially when the fan kicks on and off which makes it difficult to sleep...fortunately when I opened the window the outside traffic noise compensated for the ac kicking on and off.

Nice that this courtyard has free coffee in the morning. The workout room is totally sub par, the treadmills are old and not calibrated at all....I looked like I was running less than 8 minute miles!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to others. Please accept my apologies for the issue with the treadmills. We will look into this immediately and correct the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here one night while driving on thru. The area is pretty nice, lots of shops and restaurants around. An odd configuration to get to from the highway though. Check your directions carefully! Overall, our room was clean and fresh smelling. Easy checking in and out, and very friendly staff, even offered us some free drink coupons for the bar! They have a regular bar with seating, not just a food counter bar. There is lots of seating in the lobby to hang out.
Pool was nice and a decent work out room. Our bed was very comfy and the shower was updated. No complaints!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I would like to take a moment to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very happy that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Paramus Courtyard. Please do come back and visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were here for a short stay. We visit the area every year for personal reasons. Prior to this trip, we stayed at the Marriott Saddlebrook but had several bad experiences so we switched to the Courtyard. Rooms were fine, quiet, functional. Service was excellent. Location was convenient to our activities. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your positve review of our hotel. We are happy that you have found your new lodging choice for your visits to the Paramus area. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room is nice and clean. Located close to a shopping mall with several restaurants from which to chose. The rate is a little pricey comparing to surrounding hotels, however everything is very modern. Checking was nice and smooth and staff was very helpful. Would recommend this hotel to families and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and hope that you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location, full service hotel, and a great staff. The hotel is near all major highways and located near major shopping malls and retail stores, restaurants, and parks. I had a very positive experience and would recommend this hotel to any family, single, or business traveler.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your response. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to post a review of our hotel. Please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Paramus

Address: 320 Route 17 North, Opening in April 2008, Paramus, NJ 07652
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paramus Hotel Paramus
Paramus Courtyard
Paramus Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.