We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Paramus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Paramus to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Paramus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Route 17 North, Opening in April 2008, Paramus, NJ 07652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Certificate of Excellence
petersam
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Consistent Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is pretty consistent with other Courtyards, if less upscale than some others I've visited. If it wasn't for the skimpy bath amenities, I wouldn't have noticed. But the bed was generally comfortable, the room was very quiet, the AC worked properly, and service was very friendly upon check in and check out. The coffee service wasn't all that good, but there are Starbuck's and DnD across the highway if you don't mind driving a little bit. Route 17 is not for the faint of heart!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    63
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
26
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a good alternative to the pricey NYC hotels, especially during high season. It took us 25 min to arrive at this hotel from Midtown. It was easy to find, plenty of parking, very clean, new, comfortable bed. With windows closed, the noise from Rt 17 doesn't bother at all. There are a few breakfast places around, and a Trader Joe's a few yards down the road. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean, welcoming friendly staff. Near good shopping, and relatively close to New York City and Newark Airport. Has small restaurant, small store with food and sundry items for purchase. Off main highway, but was surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was kind of discouraged not being able to find lodging for my trip to NYC when it was suggested to me that I try NJ and commute in. Courtyard in Paramus is amazing; beautiful rooms; impeccably clean (and I'm funny about that); and very friendly and efficient staff.

Oh...and a few blocks away is Paramus Mall where you can pick up the NJ Transit into Port Authority and save all the bridge tolls.

I would definitely stay here again. Thanks Courtyard! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face the courtyard rather than the street and since this is a new hotel, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are very proud of the great staff that we have at the property. I will be sure to forward your comments to them and to congratulate them on doing a great job in providing you with an enjoyable stay. Please visit us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We routinely rely on this Marriot hotel during our visits back to the U.S. Our trips generally coincide with medical care our son recieves in New York City. One of the advantages of this hotel is its proximity to Columbia Presbyterian in Manhattan, where we go.

Each time we have been at the hotel, I have found the rooms to be clean. The staff already knows to arrange for two joined rooms so our kids have their own space near ours. There are always cookies and juice waiting for them upon arrival, and the check in desk clerk sometimes slips in some packaged chocolate covered pretzels as well.

For convenience, I often order packages ahead of time to be delievered to the hotel to simplify packing for the kids. Each time, the hotel has held them for me and provided them to me at check in. When we arrive back at the hotel from a long day at the hospital, the staff helps provide dining options including take out menus. Local restaurants deliver directly to our room, which makes it easier after a long day.

We have eaten breakfast here before and thought it was good. The chef at the pancake station was thoughtful enough to make two special ones for my kids and bring them out to them, decorated and dripping with chocolate syrup. They were thrilled, of course. There are lots of dining options in easy driving distance as well.

Overall, i can understand the frustration some have with finding the hotel... I blame that more on e confusing system of highways in NJ. Everything merges at this hub that connects route 4, route 17, and the Garden state parkway. If you arent familiar with it, it can be frustrating. But once on 17, the Marriot sign is visible.

I think one of the nicest things about this hotel is the staff. I have found them all to be consistently friendly and thoughtful. They are so sweet to the kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. We are very happy that we are able to accommodate you and to keep your family comfortable during your trips to the area. I will certainly share your comments with our staff.
I am happy that you have been able to take advantage of some of the restaurants that deliver to the hotel. The hotel is within 5 minutes of dozens of wonderful restaurants, and most all of them do deliver frequently to our hotel. This is a great option for guests with children who prefer not to go out. Many of our guests will choose to eat in our lobby area, where there are plenty of tables that they are welcome to use for their meals.
Again, thank you so much for your review and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just came back from our trip to NYC and stayed one night there. So happy that we stayed in a different hotel the first part of our vacation. First of all, the GPS didn't take the address :-( it's so hard to find the right exit. You can see the hotel from the route, but you have to be very careful about taking the exit right away. Later, we went for dinner and when we came back, around 9 p.m. the hallway was stinky, it was like being in a club in the 70's. I saw a huge group of Asian people arriving earlier and it looks like they don't follow the rule of "no smoking". At 6 am we could hear the garbage truck coming and the noise was terrible. By other hand, the breakfast isn't complimentary. There are several hotels in the area for the same price and they offer it. The rooms are nice and clean. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I do apologize that you had difficulty in locating the hotel using your GPS. Without knowing what type of device you used I cannot be sure of what the issue might have been with navigating to our hotel. We are in the process of removing some large trees from the front of the property which will also help travelers view the hotel from a greater distance.
We have a strict No-Smoking policy at the hotel. There is a $250 Recovery Fee for any guests smoking in the rooms. We have many notices throughout the hotel and rooms letting all guests know of this policy. We very rarely have any guests who violate this rule. It sounds like this particular group did not follow the policy. I will review your comments with our staff to me more vigilant in the future. (We do provide several outdoor designated smoking areas for guests that do smoke.)
Thank you for your comments on the friendly staff at the hotel. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful, highly skilled staff. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay in the Paramus area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed one weekend for business and brought my family (spouse and kids). The hotel was easy to find, very clean and the rooms were perfect. While the hotel was booked and quite busy, the staff was friendly and helpful. There are lots of nearby places to dine and the breakfast was terrific. We also took advantage of the indoor pool, which was an added bonus. Overall, a very good stay and I'd certainly return when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Paramus Courtyard. I am happy that your family was able to enjoy our facilities during your trip. Our heated indoor pool is a great spot for families to enjoy year round. Our breakfast is a great value, with many different options including made to order omelettes, eggs, bacon, sausage. fresh fruit, cereals and baked goods. We hope to have you back at our hotel during your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Paramus

Address: 320 Route 17 North, Opening in April 2008, Paramus, NJ 07652
Location: United States > New Jersey > Paramus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paramus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paramus Hotel Paramus
Paramus Marriott
Paramus Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Paramus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.