We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50 and counting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Star Tavern
400 High Street, Orange, NJ 07050
973 675 3336
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 restaurants in Orange
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Vernon, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“50 and counting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I guess if you keep on returning to the same restaurant for more than 50 years it says something about the quality and consistency!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    26
    17
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Thin Crust Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was in the mood for some thin crust pizza so we searched online and came across the Star Tavern. My family and I went the next day on a Sunday and came to this packed restaurant. It was well worth the wait. There are no reservations accepted so you just have to wait for a table to open up. Luckily, there's a bar so you can have a drink or two while you wait for a table to open up. The menu is a typical pizza place/tavern menu, nothing too exciting. We ordered some starters (calamari, garlic bread, wings, and mozzerella sticks) as we were all starving after a very busy day. The starters were fine, nothing special, though my s.o. really liked his order of wings. Now the reason for our visit, the pizza. Ask for it well done and you won't be disappointed. You're going to burn the roof of your mouth on the super hot sauce and cheese but it's perfectly fine. I don't have a huge appetite and usually I can only have 2 slices of pizza at a time but I easily ate 4 of them. If you're going with 4 people order 2 pies, you can always bring home the surviving slices and reheat them, they taste good next day. Just a warning, the service isn't the best and if you get a server who knows people while you're there be prepared to wait a bit longer for your food/drinks because that conversation will take presedence over your meal.

This might be the best pizza I've ever had in Jersey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thin Crust Pizza in Jersey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Been coming to Star Tavern for years and they have the absolute best pizza in New Jersey. Thin crust deliciousness with mouthwatering flavor. Nothing better than a pie and a pitcher of beer. Awesome. Service is average but the pizza more than makes up for it. Definitely give it a try for old school, real NJ pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top drawer Jersey Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What can you say about a place that was a favorite late night place when you were dating and is still pretty much the same 40 years later? Classic Jersey style pizza served just the way you want it after just a reasonable amount of wait time. Atmosphere is rated very good because it doesnt try to be very good! Thanks also for the expanded parking area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The pizza is the best! Best thin crust pizza on the planet. The neighborhood is not great but its worth going. Be prepared to wait but it's worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.