We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Price, Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Big Ed's BBQ

The Original Big Ed's BBQ
305 Route 34, Old Bridge, NJ 07747
(732) 583-2626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 74 Restaurants in Old Bridge
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Price, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Been to Big Ed's several times and have never been disappointed. The portions are big, the prices are reasonable and the service is great. If you go during peak times expect to wait and hour. The all you can eat ribs is great but just know your first plate is a full rack and you get less and less with each plate after. They will not give you another plate until the first is done. You cannot share or take home the ribs. Still a very good deal and allows you to try out the different rubs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not the best place for ribs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I find the ribs here to be fatty, and the meat does not "fall off the bone". There are definitely better rib places around. I'd recommend Texas Roadhouse for ribs over this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good BBQ stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Been here a few times. Although nothing overly excited to brag about, I keep coming back. The bbq either chicken,pork,beef, is always good. The service never a problem. Its neither bad or Awesome, but something keeps me coming back. The meat does tend to be on the drier side, but the taste overcomes this. Beer always cold, and good prices. Definitely worth trying.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BBQ ??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this Resurant as an Avid BBQ fan i tried a 2nd time and I was disappointed again, I am looking for Good food ,as for service , i can overlook . I ordred the Ribs and Brisket with side of Cole slaw. The brisket was very very thinly sliced to a point that its edges curved up and it was covered with BBQ sauce. The brisket was DRY and NO Smoke Falvor at all . Inspite of visible fat around the meat it was still dry and no flavor , keep in mind the BBQ sauce was put on the top slice only . The Ribs were at best , Very DRY, the saving grace was the Sauce on the top surface. The Cole slaw was not good at all. It seems there are no good Rib and or BBQ places in NJ . The BBQ places in our beloved state basically,,, boil the meat and some grill it on flame for a bit prior to serving and smother it with BBQ sauce and Vollaaaa NJ BBQ Please dont call your stablishment BBQ resturant if You dont Smoke the meats Long and slow, Specialy Brisket and Ribs

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Just about the best baby back ribs in NJ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

So far, Big Ed's in Old Bridge is the best BBQ I've found anywhere in NJ. They used to have 2 locations, but I notice that the Dayton, NJ restaurant is closed (phooey)! Whether you want to handle the baby back ribs or go for the pulled version, it is mouth watering good. Sides are OK, but not outstanding. The normal portions (not all you can eat) are more than adequate for a meal. The selection of draft beers is also a great accompaniment. Pass on the garlic bread as is only average.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Big Ed's BBQ also viewed

 
Old Bridge, NJ
 

Been to The Original Big Ed's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Big Ed's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.