We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Amazing Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Hill Mining Museum

Sterling Hill Mining Museum
30 Plant Street, Ogdensburg, NJ 07439
973-209-6463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Ogdensburg
Type: Educational Sites, Mines, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step Into Earth Science.... Come take a ¼ mile underground walking adventure into the 4th oldest mine in the country and the last working underground mine in NJ. Most everything man made has something to do with mining. At the Sterling Hill Mining Museum well show you just how it's done. From drilling and blasting to the processing of the ore, we’ve got it all! While on tour you will see a mining equipment history display, a drilling and blasting demonstration and the world famous fluorescent "Rainbow Tunnel" where everybody gets to take home a fluorescent mineral specimen. Right here in NJ is one of the world's richest zinc ore deposits, the area boasts over 350 minerals, about 70 of which fluoresce. That's about 10% of the known minerals in the world right here in NJ. As well as the richest fluorescent mineral deposit in the world. You can collect minerals from all over the world, including fluorescence, yourself 7 days a week when the museum is open.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“What an Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Visiting my parents in Northern Jersey I was a bit limited with activities for my kids. So after a good search I discovered there are mines in Jersey, who would have thought!

When we arrived the place was fun to walk around, check out some of the stones, minerals. However, I didn't know there were tours of the actual mine (you can't get in without a guided tour). Totally coincidentally, we arrived 30 minutes before the tour started and decided - why not. Even after I found out it was 2 hours and I have a 3 year old.

They have 1 or 2 per day and honestly this is the ONLY reason to come here!

The mine tour, even though it was 2 hours, was amazing. The kids were interested the whole time. My oldest son (2 months later) still talks about it all the time.

If you are near the area, I would soooooo recommend coming around.

Check out my blog for full review and all the cool things your kids will have a blast seeing.

And the biggest surprise to me, the place was so packed that our group was split into 3 different groups.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Unique Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were very impressed with this tour! Having never been on a mine tour we found this fascinating! The tour was extremely well organized, very detailed, entertaining, and educational. Our guide was great. We liked the fact that they limited the tour group size to 30 people. This allowed everyone to have plenty of time for exploration and questions. The tour in the mine itself is about 1-1/2 hours long with an additional 30 minutes allowed for visiting the museum. We recommend allowing time before or after the tour to look around at the outdoor displays. Our son loved panning for "treasures" prior to the start of the tour (additional charge). Definitely bring a sweatshirt or sweater. The mine itself was quite cool. We would not recommend this for children under the age of 7. There were a couple of little children on our tour that quickly became bored and even a little frightened. If you are anywhere in the area of this mine, don't miss this tour!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm. NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent trip back into New Jerseys mining history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

FyiReasonably priced tour of actual zinc mine. Area is also known for it's fluorescent minerals that are found no where else in the world. Tour conducted by very knowledgeable and pleasant guides. Tour lasts about 90 - 120 minutes. Allow another hour for self guided tour of the grounds.
Tour is all walking so may be difficult for very young children or folks with disabilities. This was an actual working mine so terrain is likely not stroller/ wheelchair friendly.
AAA discount available.
In my opinion, a must see...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for a birthday party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had our son's 7th birthday party at the mine today and it was "epic" according to him. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and quite entertaining! Our party goers started off with the rock discovery center (only $1 extra per kid) which was fun for them.. then off to the museum where they had a scavenger hunt ... then off to the mine tour. Very fun! Our favorite part was the "rainbow tunnel". When the tour was over we headed over to the outdoor pavilion where we had sandwiches and cupcakes. Everything worked out great... I would highly recommend the Sterling Hill Mine!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Whadda mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Terrific mine tour. Kids love it and so do their parents. Nice knowledgeable tour guides. Great staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sterling Hill Mining Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sterling Hill Mining Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Hill Mining Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.