We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Choose From a Great Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Manor

Atlantic Manor
83 Main St, Ogdensburg, NJ 07439-1236
973-823-6378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ogdensburg
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Flanders, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hard to Choose From a Great Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We met another couple for a casual dinner at Atlantic Manor, and it turned out to be a wonderful time and fun experience. We sat for a drink at an inviting bar while waiting for the other couple to arrive, and in discussing this restaurant with regulars there, it became clear that each person has their favorites from among a menu that offers a wide variety. As has been mentioned in a few other reviews here, the shrimp and garlic is a favorite, and I'd agree, since I had that, too -- it was delicious. One couple at the bar swore by the barbecued chicken dish, calling it the best ever. Other people in my group had steak dishes and enjoyed them. We all liked, in traditional Portuguese restaurant style, how the side dishes of potatoes or rice and veggies were plentiful. Only downside was the service, and maybe we caught them on a bad night when they weren't fully staffed ... but our bartender at the beginning also would up being our waitress in the dining room. She had a lot to handle and did her best, but a lot of people there were kept waiting for food and drinks to be served and water glasses to be refilled, and any questions to be answered. I'd definitely go back, though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good paella!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went with another couple on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. A decent crowd, but we were seated immediately. The soup course is an interesting start to your meal. A light, white bean soup. Not meant as a meal, simply a starter course, it's included with every dinner. Fresh salad followed. Highly recommend the red sangria. We went through 2 pitchers. Three of us enjoyed Paella Valenciana. The lobster was large, and not overdone. There was plenty of shellfish, chicken, chorizo, etc in our order for two. Enough left to take home too! Flan for dessert.
Although no one in our party ordered the rodizio, it looked great.
Our server was very good. Right there when needed, yet let us linger and enjoy our evening. Given the location, it's not inexpensive, but the food is surprisingly good! The atmosphere is much nicer inside than you might expect. Give it a try, you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very disappointed in the food and service while dining there with guest from out of town. Since they love Portuguese food, we had recommended going to the Atlantic Manor, as we had dined there several times in the past and were always pleased. Not this time! The two of the 6 dishes that we ordered were COLD. They were sent back and returned to us COLD again. The third time resulted in semi-warm food. The food was average at best. The waiter got lost for long periods of time. We waited 20 minutes for the check and it wasn't crowded. We were also charged $6 for "sharing"...no extra food...just $6 extra for nothing. We are now crossing the Atlantic Manor off the list and won't return. Something has changed because you usually couldn't get in the place on a Saturday night but there were plenty of tables available on this Saturday night...a sure sign of a place going down hill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top notch service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our first trip to Atlantic Manor! The food was amazing and very modestly priced! Each year on my husband's birthday, we chooses a Portuguese restaurant to dine at and the restaurant has changed each year...but it won't ever change again, now that we found Atlantic Manor! The shrimp with garlic appetizer was spot on and so were the stuffed mushrooms! The bean soup they bring at the beginning was delicious and the bread nice and warm! My husband had the stuffed lobster and he enjoyed every bite! I had the grilled salmon and it was delicious and huge!!! Our teenager had the half BBQ chicken and she loved it! Our nine year old loved her fried shrimp and they even have a kids menu which hasn't been the case with the other places we have tried! My husband had red sangria and said it was delicious! For dessert, I had the crime brûlée and it was simply amazing! Hubby had the rice pudding and the even put a candle in it and sang Happy Birthday to him! All in all, we had a wonderfully delicious time and we WILL be returning!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredon, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“portugese dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The restaurant is great for Portugese quisine . A wonderful experience and the staff couldn't be friendlier.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Manor also viewed

Been to Atlantic Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.