We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true heaven for bird watchers, fun for hikers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge

Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge
Great Creek Road, P.O. Box 72, Oceanville, NJ 08231-0072
609-652-1665
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Oceanville
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 43,000 acres of protected and managed coastal habitats for migratory birds.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
826 reviews 826 reviews
429 attraction reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
1,234 helpful votes 1,234 helpful votes
“A true heaven for bird watchers, fun for hikers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It is a very interesting place. We enjoyed the hiking trails especially the Songbird Trail with its various sections leading through the forest, meadow and along the dirt road. Do not miss the Eco-Trail wheelchair accessible with great opportunities for nature watching and the background of the skyline of Atlantic City in the distance. The greatest attraction was for us the 8 mile slow drive on a causeway on both sides surrounded by the incredible wildlife. The variety of bird species was amazing. Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge is a real hidden gem of South Jersey. The honor system fee for this attraction is $4.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Bird watching heaven, great views of Atlantic City, peaceful, a true Jersey gem. You can walk the paths or drive the Wildlife drive in your car. Don't miss the donation desk right before the drive entrance. Amazing herons everywhere you look!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a great little hidden treasure. We can easily spend hours exploring, bird watching and appreciating the beauty of this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thank god this land is being preserved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I make regular pilgrimages to Forsythe and have been for years. We are both Audubon Citizen Scientists and avid birders and photographers. We have been here in every season and there is always something new to see, smell, and hear. We were very concerned after Hurricane Sandy deposited all sorts of flotsam and jetsam and tore up the wildlife drive. We recently visited and were glad to see that work was coming to an end and that the drive would reopen soon. Original this land was set aside to provide habitat for the Brant Goose, but, has also provided habitat for a wide variety of song birds, waterfowl. herons, hawks, etc. Going at sunrise and sunset can be spectacular.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best of NJ...breathtaking views, abundant wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have lived in NJ my whole life and traveled/lived all over the state, and the Wildlife Preserve never fails to take my breath away as one of the most beautiful spots in our state. We visited this past weekend after almost a decade away and I found it to be just as beautiful and now hosting an excellent information center (they believe in 'please touch'!!!!) and outdoor discovery area. While the drive was closed due to the devastation from Hurricane Sandy, there were many trails open and the promise of the drive opening soon. Think NJ is just about the Turnpike and Jersey Shore...think again, this is what NJ is truly all about.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.