We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and beautiful refuge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge

Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge
Great Creek Road, P.O. Box 72, Oceanville, NJ 08231-0072
609-652-1665
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Oceanville
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 43,000 acres of protected and managed coastal habitats for migratory birds.
New Gretna, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil and beautiful refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I packed a unch and had girl's day with my granddaughter. One of our best times. After watching birds drove to site to have lunch. Just sat on a bench and observed ducks. On the way out used facilities and of course the gift shop. There are trails and quided tours. Close to ac for those that are looking for a few hours of nature.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern NJ
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Great photo ops---Fabulous Nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Most people drive through the refuge on Wildlife Drive. We elected to hike on a beautiful sunny day in late September, before Superstorm Sandy devastated parts of the NJ coast and apparently has closed Wildlife Drive. We met a few hikers as well as a few runners, plus the early morning birding groups.

The first 6 miles of the trail were simply awesome and breathtaking........Fabulous wildflowers, more butterflies than I had seen in 30 years, incredible birds.......Great photo ops....We brought sandwiches and ate them after getting off Wildlife Drive for the other trails. The last part of the trail was exercise.

For us, as hikers, the regular trails, the Songbird Trail, Akers Woodland Trail,which are now open, were not in any way particularly distinguished.

The Visitors' Center was new and very nice with flush toilets. Nearby there is a picnic area, again with flush toilets. Based on what we had read on their website, we were not sure we would have bathroom opportunities on-site.

We hope that the Wildlife Drive can be brought back after the storm damage.......It is a totally inspirational place to visit!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Well worth the four bucks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We skipped this attraction on trips to AC in the past, but found ourselves with half a day to spend and decided to knock this off the list.

A couple of notes - the location as shown by tripadvisor is a bit off - the entranceway is actually on the east side of the highway (towards the marsh which makes sense when you think about it), and the site is currently closed due to hurricane damage.

The main part of the attraction is bird watching from your car. You take the loop drive and stop when you see things. Please pull over as opposed to just blocking traffic. We were there in late September and there were not that many birds, but there were more than anywhere else we went including Cape May. Still, the drive took more than an hour.

We went up the tower, but all was quiet from that vantage point. We skipped the hikes as we had already hiked 10km on the beach in Brigantine that morning.

Tip -> If coming from Atlantic City or Brigantine, take highway 30 and avoid the toll roads (Atlantic City Expressway and the Garden State Parkway).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I have had the good fortune to live about a mile away from this beautiful place and every time I go through there is something different. It' picturesque and tranquil; besides being a sanctuary for many bird species.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A beautifully preserved eco system just waiting for you to

discover it. Birders go wild for this place and now I know why.

The skies are filled with flying visitors. I'm in love with the

white egrets.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.