We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; breakfast fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Ocean Grove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Ocean Grove
Save
You added The Inn at Ocean Grove to your Saves list
27 Webb Avenue, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 21 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location; breakfast fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Inn at Ocean Grove is located about 1 1/2 blocks from the beach, and an easy walk to town. We met lots of nice people there, and the manager, George, was very accomodating.
Our room was spacious, and included a full bath, albeit not a tub. We had a half size refrig. which worked adequately, and ac. There is a jacuzzi upstairs for all guests to use, and a t-v room as well. The place is kept very clean, and the person responsible for that does a great job and is very pleasant.
The breakfast consists of 4 choices: french toast, pancakes, scrambled eggs, or a cheese omelet. Two sausages are included with each breakfast, as well as juice, coffee, or tea. There is a sideboard with fruit and a couple of cereals, as well as bread. We asked if my husband could have scrambled egg whites instead of whole eggs, and were told, "No." Usually a B&B prides itself on having creative breakfasts, with organic fruits and homemade granola as well, and asks if you have any special dietary needs. That was not the case here. Expect packaged bread, packaged coffee cake, fruit loops if you want cereal as well as the standard offerings, and nothing more. That was a bit disappointing.
Our bed sagged a bit, and by the second night our backs hurt somewhat. The same thing happened to another couple. That being said, we enjoyed our time at The Inn, and thought its location was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    15
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Very warm and friendly innkeeper. The location was great; close to the beach, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, RI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My wife, daughter, and I stayed for a weekend to participate in the Asbury Park Half Marathon. We've stayed in fancier hotels, but The Inn at Ocean Grove was comfortable and clean. More important to us was the hospitality we received. We felt welcomed upon arrival and our innkeeper made sure all of our expectations and needs were exceeded. We felt like family; I cannot remember a nicer experience!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west reading
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

My two teenage sons and I decided to go to the beach overnight spur of the moment for a quick getaway. The Inn was reasonably priced. The room was very nice and clean. The whole place was clean and welcoming. Everyone there were wonderful to us.Especially Bob. He went way above and beyond to make our stay perfect. Bob made a great breakfast and even gave us a late checkout since no one was coming that night. I would go back and recommend this to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We first stayed at the inn last summer and had a wonderful breakfast and an air conditioned room with a comfy bed. The beach and boardwalk were the main focus of the trip but our fondest memories are conversations with the guests and knowledgeable staff at the inn.
This year we tried a winter weekend and, of course, no swimming. The beach, however, is beautiful this time of year and the shops in Ocean Grove and Asbury Park offer a warm welcome. Best of all, we called the inn home and were treated like family. There was a break in the weather during our stay and we were able to enjoy conversations on the wrap-around porch after the bountiful breakfast. We will be back in the Spring to celebrate Easter by the sea and we are looking forward to adding another season to our love affair with The Inn at Ocean Grove,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

The Inn at Ocean Grove was my first bed and breakfast experience and I really enjoyed it.

I think one of the best things about The Inn is its location. The beach and boardwalk are about a block and a half away from the front door. I could hear the ocean waves through my closed bedroom window, which provided a great relaxation element. The Inn is also just a couple blocks away from local stores along Main Avenue.

About the room, the queen-sized bed was warm and comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean and provided space to spread out my things. The room also contained a mini-fridge. The Inn also has a very nice rooftop deck that would have been great for lounging during the summer months.

Breakfast was also good. In addition to a list of breakfast menu items, the Inn provided a small buffet of coffee, juice, milk, scones, and toast. I enjoyed the chocolate chip scones and the delicious french toast. I also had a nice breakfast table conversation with other guests.

I enjoyed my stay and plan to return during the summer months.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Had a wonderful stay on New Year's Eve. The reception/dining area is cozy, bright, and well decorated. The room (#3) was laid out well, especially for having kids with you. The bathroom, particularly the shower, needs some serious updating and better lighting, but everything was very clean. The inn keeper Pam was wonderful and even gave us some milk and cereal the night before to keep in our room fridge because our kids would be up before breakfast was served!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Ocean Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ocean Grove

Address: 27 Webb Avenue, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in the entire Inn with a tv room w/ cable & Netflix. A year round romantic retreat with full gourmet breakfast an easy walk to beach, shopping and attractions. Designer decorated rooms with emphasis on style and comfort. Special rates for groups, weddings and retreats. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Ocean Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.