We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B at the Jersey Shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Stratford Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellevue Stratford Inn
7 Main Avenue, Ocean Grove, NJ 7 Main Ave   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming B & B at the Jersey Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Bellevue Stratford Inn was recommended to me by a friend. We stayed there this month and had a wonderful time! It had all the charm and ambiance of a bed and breakfast in a historic town by the shore. The room was clean, the innkeeper was helpful and the breakfast offered many choices, such as cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. Plus it was in walking distance to the beach and great restaurants, both in Ocean Grove and Asbury Park. I'll definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I am not one to complain, and I can overlook a place which may be a little bit rundown but retains some vintage charm, but when you put 2 asthmatics in a room with an air conditioner that has not been cleaned, and is full of dust and mold then I am going to complain.

My mother booked this place with high expectations for the 140$ a night, unfortunately there was no shade or curtain to bloke the window in the bathroom or the second window in the room. Not to mention the furnishings look like they haven't been updated since 1988 and the beds were hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast, don't bother.

During the night my mother had an asthma attack, and I woke up wheezing. We checked the AC and it was full of mold!! We booked this place because it had AC and the humidity affects our asthma. When we spoke to the innkeeper his response was to tell us that he has never had a complaint before and people have stayed in that room for 16 days and never had a problem. Well then I guess they never thought to clean their air conditioning after that 16 day stay because it was awful!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

For our family gathering the Bellevue Stratford Inn more than filled the bill -- owner Gus was warm and friendly, the rooms had all we needed and were cheerful, comfortable and clean. We gathered on the porches for snacks and shared dinners, enjoyed ocean views over our continental breakfasts, and the beach was only 1/2 block away. The town is charming, the beach was clean, and the natives were helpful and welcoming. All in all, we look forward to another stay next year.

Room Tip: Check out the porches -- they make it seem like it's your own home, not like you're confined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bellevue Stratford in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Coming from NYC, Ocean Grove is a lovely seaside town to visit, and the Bellevue Stratford is a peaceful and charming place to stay. You can't beat the location...just a few steps from the beach! The Inn was very clean and the staff very accommodating. Gus, the innkeeper, always had a smile on his face and was happy to help us with recommending local attractions and restaurants. We enjoyed the excellent quality of the complementary breakfast which included eggs, fresh bagels and pastries, cereals and great coffee and juices. We definitely recommend it and will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a last-minute room for a Saturday night on the shore in July, and the owner was nice enough to let us stay for only one night. The location of this inn is excellent, right near the beach and charming restaurants of Ocean Grove, and a close walk to the hipper Asbury Park boardwalk. The inn itself was totally fine, not the most lovingly decked out b&b I've ever stayed at, but clean and comfortable and quiet.

One note is that parking is a bit of a hassle. But we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Can see the ocean from some top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We arrived, as Florida travelers, in Ocean Grove on Friday and stayed one night in the Main Street B&B. We did not have any reservation but Gus the Innkeeper gave us a good rate, as he only had two rooms left. We were on the third floor in a clean quaint room with it's own private room. The old inn built in 1889, was comfortable. The room was quiet, in the back of the Inn. we had a view of the ocean. Breakfast was similiar to a hotel breakfast with cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, bagels, toast, yogurt, juice, coffeee, and tea. Reading earlier reviews indicate much rules and crazy innkeepers. Gus and his wife bought the Bellevue Stratford, two years ago. They could not be more welcoming and there was not a list of rules other than common courtesy to all. I spent many summers in Ocean Grove as a kid staying in one of the tents around the Great Auditorium. It was wonderful to be back. The inn is within half a block of the ocean/boardwalk. Ocean Grove is still the same and Asbury Park is coming back. It was great to be back at "the Shore." We were pleased and would stay again.

Room Tip: Tell Gus that Kent sent you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My wife and I, due to her schedule, weren't able to take a full honeymoon right after our wedding in late August, so we opted to do a few nights. We discovered Ocean Grove and found availability at very short notice at the Bellevue Stratford Inn. I saw a few reviewers raise their hackles about Barbara, the innkeeper, but our logic was that we were just going to relax and stay in our room, or go out to dinner or the shore, without interacting much. We were newlyweds, after all.

We arrived at around 8:30 at night on a Saturday night. Be forewarned: Ocean Grove is tight on parking. We lucked out and found a spot on a side street near the B&B.

The breakfast here was something else entirely! On Sunday morning, it was three or four different varieties of breakfast wraps. The only one I can remember was chorizo with cubanelle peppers, eggs, and manchego. It was delicious! The coffee was good, there was tea for those who desired, plenty of bagels, baked breakfast things, fresh fruit, cereal - if you were still hungry later, it was your own fault for not enjoying that repast!

Barbara helped us pick out a good restaurant that we weren't sure about from the ads, but it paid off well.

The decor was on the antiquey side; we're young people and thought it felt like our parents' living room, but there were plenty of books and comfortable seating space.

The patio got a little crowded for breakfast, but there were plenty of little tables out on the lawn and the walk up.

THE LOCATION IS AMAZING. You are literally two houses away from the boardwalk. We didn't go out since the waves were very rough that day. It's an easy walk up the boardwalk to Convention Hall, the Stone Pony, etc.

This was our first B&B experience and we loved it. We will be coming back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellevue Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Stratford Inn

Address: 7 Main Avenue, Ocean Grove, NJ 7 Main Ave
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22 room Historic B & B Inn only a few steps to the Boardwalk and Ocean, the Bellevue Stratford -Each room tastefully decorated, impecibly well maintained, with private baths, a/c, and many rooms with cable T/V. A Elaborate continental breakfast with specials daily. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue Stratford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bellevue Stratford Inn to your Saves list