We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Spray Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sea Spray Inn to your Saves list
The Sea Spray Inn
19 Broadway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Toile room. It was comfortable with a European flair. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and chatting with the other guests. Maryellen gave us a goodie bag to take on the road which was a nice gesture. We definitely will return and hope to do so during the summer season to take advantage of the close proximity to the beach and town. We even took their dog Katie for a walk which was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
179
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Sea Spray was a great place to spend the weekend. Mary Ellen and Eric were welcoming and very accommodating. We stayed in the Master Bedroom. The room was very nicely decorated, had lots of sunlight and the bed was so comfortable. Everything was very clean. The private porch had a beautiful view of the ocean and lake. Breakfast was delicious on both mornings and the complementary wine and cheese in the evening was a nice touch. The Sea Spray is slightly off Ocean Grove's main street which was great because it was quiet. While not on main street it was a quick walk to some tasty restaurants and Asbury Park was just a bit further. We were there in the fall and it wasn't crowded with summer residents. We definitely would recommend the Sea Spray!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Met friends for a weekend getaway at The Sea Spray Inn. Innkeepers, Eric and Maryellen, were wonderful!! They live onsite and you truly felt like friends visiting their home. The inn was very clean and comfortable. The food was DELICIOUS, especially the home baked goods. They seemed to meet everyone's needs. My friend liked gluten free and they even accommodated that. Would definitely go back there. Had never been to Ocean Grove. It was a lovely little town. Much nicer than its neighboring Asbury Park. Nice little shops, and we were there in October on a weekend that they were holding a craft festival on the Main Street. Had a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was the highlight of a year of travels to various locations around the globe. The facility is full of charm and owners are welcoming and warm. Service was premier; providing all the comforts of a home away from home. The place to go to rest, relax and enjoy life. The location is fantastic; especially the view and easy walk to the beach. There are many things to do in Ocean Grove and within the area. This has now to become our family vacation location of choice. We were there in July-August but other family members have returned during "off season" and were equally smitten.

Room Tip: Seeing the rooms on line is a great help. All the rooms are uniquely furnished and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Sea Spray is a very nice B&B. The innkeepers live on site and do everything possible to ensure that guests are comfortable. They are very nice people. The inn is quiet and charmingly decorated. Ocean Grove is a pleasant town with a nice mix of shops and restaurants. I would certainly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing, comfortable getaway. Because I was there in the off season, parking and crowds were not an issue, but I suspect that Ocean Grove is a fairly calm town even during beach season. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway and the feeling of a home away from home, you can't go wrong with The Sea Spray Inn.

Room Tip: Since there are only 8 rooms, it probably comes down to whether you want an ocean view or not. All t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed at the Sea Spray for Veteran's Day for free! Eric and Maryellen, along with many other B&B's across the country, opened their doors for a free nights stay for vets.
I took the Lavendar room which was bright and cheery, not all antiquey and old timey like alot of B&B rooms can be.
The brownies were a highlight for me. And as all the vets went their way the next day, we were sent off with a little bag of baked goodies.
I have stayed at another high ranked B&B in Ocean Grove and it paled in comparison to this. If I ever go back that way, I will stay at the Sea Spray for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix,
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a great time. Our breakfast was great too and we ate out on the front porch. It is right next to the beach and has comfortable rooms. The owners are nice and recommended us to a good restaurant. You can have a nice run on the beach or board walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Spray Inn

Address: 19 Broadway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality, ocean views, breezes and comfortable decor are all one block from the beach and overlooking Fletcher Lake in our romantic Bed and Breakfast in the south end of Historic Ocean Grove. Eight private rooms of this luxurious 1880 Victorian home have provided accommodations to the public since the turn of the 20th Century. An experience you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Sea Spray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Spray Hotel Ocean Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Spray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.