We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-opened and just as beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Spray Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sea Spray Inn
Save Saved
You added The Sea Spray Inn to your Saves list
19 Broadway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Buffalo
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Re-opened and just as beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I love the Sea Spray Inn, and I am so glad it has re-opened after Hurricane Sandy! I have missed staying there! Everything is sparkling clean and beautiful, and every room seems to have something new--a new mattress, window treatment, rug, etc. Mary Ellen and Eric are so warm and welcoming, as usual, and the breakfasts are so delicious. They vary the menu, so it is sometimes sweet, sometimes savory. After all the many repairs that had to be made, it was wonderful to see the beautiful results, and experience Mary Ellen and Eric's enthusiasm! Great to be back!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Each room has a unique character, and each one is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
162
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the Sea Spray for 3 nights this September and had a great time. Mary Ellen and Eric were great hosts and wonderful cooks. The breakfasts every day were fantastic. The homemade crumb cake, orange cake, marble cake were all amazing. The room was cozy and unique. The location was ideal for access to the boardwalk, beaches and shops. We will definitely return on our next visit to the shore and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had intended on staying here for one night, but it was so great we stayed an extra night. Mary Ellen and Eric are wonderful hosts. They give you your complete privacy, at the same time, they are ALWAYS available for anything you might need. Mary Ellen is an EXCELLENT cook and the breakfast is presented in such a way that you feel you are in a 5 star hotel. The rooms are spotless, warm and cozy. Moreover, the other guests were a pleasure to be around. Eric was always close by with a warm smile and helping hand. And who can forget Katie! Great pooch and one that only came over to you if you felt like petting her(somehow she senses your mood), but believe me, you won't be able to resist her!! Thank you so much Mary Ellen, Eric and Katie..we will DEFINITELY be back!!! Cookie and Rich Hartz

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed the weekend in Ocean Grove for a 40th New Jersey high school reunion, having moved out of state. The Sea Spray is a tribute to the classic, beautiful vacation homes along the shoreline. Lovingly decorated with attention to detail and strategically located one block from the boardwalk, it was perfect for an early morning walk before a scrumptious breakfast of pumpkin waffles and apples! Mary Ellen and Eric are gracious hosts. Peaceful and comfortable, it was the ideal location for a sisters' getaway weekend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

On a holiday from Australia we made a last minute decision to go to a Southside Johnny concert at Asbury Park. We looked for accommodation and decided a B & B at Ocean Grove sounded much better than hotels at Asbury Park. How right we were! All the reviews were entirely accurate. The house has been lovingly looked after and it is fantastically situated. We were met by Mary Ellen who had just baked brownies. She and Eric sat down and shared them with a cup of coffee. They are incredibly hospitable and generous hosts. We had a pleasant stroll along the boardwalk to the concert that evening. Ocean Grove itself is absolutely delightful. The next day we enjoyed watching the Independence Day parade along Main Street - a real treat for us visitors. Our biggest regret was that our travel plans meant we could only leave New York for the single night. We could have happily stayed longer, enjoying the cooking, hospitality and location. The room was beautifully decorated and was probably one of our most comfortable night's sleeps in the US!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I needed a last minute place to stay close to Bradley Beach. Mary Ellen and Eric were able to accommodate. Extremely friendly atomosphere, comfortable room and great breakfast. Will definetly return with family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My mother and I recently spent a "Birthday"weekend @ "The Spray Inn". The expirienced was outstanding. Mary Ellen and Eric are warm, inviting, friendly, dedicated and specially sweet in making one feel, cared for and appreciated. The "Inn" is delicious, like Mary Ellen's food. It's an ideal place to rest, recover from the stress of the city, to enjoy, the Ocean, and feel better than home, since somebody is making sure you have absolutly everything you could possibly need. We've been in B&B's around the world, I can assure you, this is at the top of my list. The Best!!! Patricia K and Barbara Crean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Spray Inn

Address: 19 Broadway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality, ocean views, breezes and comfortable decor are all one block from the beach and overlooking Fletcher Lake in our romantic Bed and Breakfast in the south end of Historic Ocean Grove. Eight private rooms of this luxurious 1880 Victorian home have provided accommodations to the public since the turn of the 20th Century. An experience you will never forget! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sea Spray Hotel Ocean Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Spray Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.