We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former grandeur is a tad tired but overall good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flanders Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flanders Hotel
Save
You added The Flanders Hotel to your Saves list
719 E 11th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Former grandeur is a tad tired but overall good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

As a former employee and proud visitor to the Flanders, it makes me so sad to see the place getting really tired. The public restrooms need some major improvements! But on the flip side, the food service was really well done. The chef's bread pudding was as yummy as the buzz alluded. The front desk staff were lovely and helpful. Our room was a nice size and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ocean view or bay if you are up high enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Flanders. We are in the process of planning renovations and we will consider your recommendation to renovate the bathrooms. I am glad you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. I will pass along your kind words to the staff and Chef. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City, NJ.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    69
    24
    24
    25
See reviews for
148
60
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I visited for two nights in mid February. Brrrrrrr.......but it was the perfect quiet mid-winter getaway for us. The hotel is U-shaped, opening toward the ocean. We had a 1 bedroom suite on one of the U-tips. You look out on a kiddie amusement area and the boardwalk, and the ocean. It was a great view! We do wonder what the noise would be like in the summer. The room was bright, clean, and well-furnished. All modern furniture, though the decor was summertime shore kitschy. Oh well, except for the plastic palm tree, it wasn't over the top. The bed was a super-comfy memory foam king size. Emily's Restaurant has a pleasant staff and the food was ok, reasonable fare at a very reasonable price. We used the kitchenette for a few meals, all clean and modern appliances, cookware, and dishes. We didn't use the spa or the exercise room. Good value, excellent location just off the boardwalk. I'd like to stay a night or two during the summer season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Flanders Hotel for your winter getaway and writing a nice review about us. I agree with you the view from our oceanfront suites is spectacular. Our rooms have recently been renovated and our goal is to provide the amenities you will need to make your stay enjoyable. I am happy that you had time to enjoy our restaurant, Emily’s. It really is a great place to unwind and enjoy some good food at a fair price. Summertime does bring the wonderful sounds of amusement rides and the laughter of children. This is part of the charm of being on the boardwalk in heart of the action. We look forward to your return visit.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Love the hotel. My first time here. Our room is great, very welcoming. The one thing I did not like was how far it was from the elevator. Have to admit had my best sleep ever. Will be here this summer for a wedding. So looking forward to see how you they do such a lavish event.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your stay and the Gloucester County Community Church Woman’s Retreat. We are happy to hear you had a good night’s sleep; we receive lots of good comments on the comfort of our beds. Some of the rooms are a little far from the elevator however you don’t have the hallway traffic to disturb you. You are always welcome to request a room closer to the elevator when you place your reservation. The Flanders is a fabulous place for weddings especially when they have a beach ceremony. We look forward to seeing you again this summer.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was my first visit to the Flanders for a woman's retreat and I thought it was very nice. Rooms were nicely put together and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. The banquet food was enjoyable as wel. I would definitely choose to visit here again.

Room Tip: We would suggest a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We love it when our guests have a great time and we especially like to hear that you will visit us again. I agree that our rooms are spacious and the décor makes you feel right at home. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

.... We stayed at the Flanders during the summer holiday and had a wonderful restful time. Conveniently located to the beaches and boardwalk. We enjoyed sunny days, warm breezy evenings with A/C or an open window to enjoy the ocean breezes. This hotel has a very nice pool for additional swimming and sunbathing. An in house restaurant readily seated us for an evening family dinner with varietal offers recommended by their staff. If this wasn't enough you can walk the family friendly boardwalk for a 36" pizza, yummy custard ice creams, salt water taffies and fudge or try some fried oreos!...( they are amazing).... the hotel is well kept, clean and their staff just wonderful. We will stay here in the future and recommend this location to you, happy travels!

Room Tip: ... just a super spot to stay! one of the best kept, cleanest hotels I've stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on our hotel and Ocean City. We love it when our guests have a great time on their vacation. You are correct the hotel has so much to offer plus we are right on the boardwalk. Wow Fried Oreos; I’ll have to put them on my list of things to try this summer! We hope to see you and your family again this summer!
Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great room. Cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in . the staff is so friendly and helpful. Now that there is a coffee shop, I never have to go anywhere else. The food at Emilies is great too. Having all the amenities with a full service spa and coffee cafe

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you Jacqueline for the very nice review. Our staff takes a lot of pride in the hotel and providing outstanding service and amenities. We are happy to hear you enjoyed them. The Coffee Shop is a great addition; the smell of fresh brewed coffee every morning is such a nice way to start the day. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you next time you visit Ocean City.
Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my second visit to this historical hotel. Everything is here at this hotel. Shops, Emily's Restaurant, Coffee Express, Business Center, Hair Salon, and a magnificent Banquet and Conference Center for weddings, events and meetings.

This time we stayed in one of their spectacular Penthouse Suites. You would never expect such an elegant suite located in south Jersey.

Make sure this place is on your list!!

Pete B.

Room Tip: Check website for all the different types of accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you Pete for such a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the Penthouse Suite and other services provided at the Flanders. The staff takes a lot of pride in our historical hotel and we love having wonderful guests such as you staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Dorothy M Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 34 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#14 of 34 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#16 of 34 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 34 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homestead Beach Hotel
Homestead Beach Hotel
#17 of 34 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Club Hotel
Beach Club Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 E 11th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flanders Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.