We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice winter visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Flanders Hotel to your Saves list
The Flanders Hotel
719 E 11th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice winter visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I visited for two nights in mid February. Brrrrrrr.......but it was the perfect quiet mid-winter getaway for us. The hotel is U-shaped, opening toward the ocean. We had a 1 bedroom suite on one of the U-tips. You look out on a kiddie amusement area and the boardwalk, and the ocean. It was a great view! We do wonder what the noise would be like in the summer. The room was bright, clean, and well-furnished. All modern furniture, though the decor was summertime shore kitschy. Oh well, except for the plastic palm tree, it wasn't over the top. The bed was a super-comfy memory foam king size. Emily's Restaurant has a pleasant staff and the food was ok, reasonable fare at a very reasonable price. We used the kitchenette for a few meals, all clean and modern appliances, cookware, and dishes. We didn't use the spa or the exercise room. Good value, excellent location just off the boardwalk. I'd like to stay a night or two during the summer season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Flanders Hotel for your winter getaway and writing a nice review about us. I agree with you the view from our oceanfront suites is spectacular. Our rooms have recently been renovated and our goal is to provide the amenities you will need to make your stay enjoyable. I am happy that you had time to enjoy our restaurant, Emily’s. It really is a great place to unwind and enjoy some good food at a fair price. Summertime does bring the wonderful sounds of amusement rides and the laughter of children. This is part of the charm of being on the boardwalk in heart of the action. We look forward to your return visit.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    60
    20
    20
    24
See reviews for
123
51
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Love the hotel. My first time here. Our room is great, very welcoming. The one thing I did not like was how far it was from the elevator. Have to admit had my best sleep ever. Will be here this summer for a wedding. So looking forward to see how you they do such a lavish event.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your stay and the Gloucester County Community Church Woman’s Retreat. We are happy to hear you had a good night’s sleep; we receive lots of good comments on the comfort of our beds. Some of the rooms are a little far from the elevator however you don’t have the hallway traffic to disturb you. You are always welcome to request a room closer to the elevator when you place your reservation. The Flanders is a fabulous place for weddings especially when they have a beach ceremony. We look forward to seeing you again this summer.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was my first visit to the Flanders for a woman's retreat and I thought it was very nice. Rooms were nicely put together and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. The banquet food was enjoyable as wel. I would definitely choose to visit here again.

Room Tip: We would suggest a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We love it when our guests have a great time and we especially like to hear that you will visit us again. I agree that our rooms are spacious and the décor makes you feel right at home. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

.... We stayed at the Flanders during the summer holiday and had a wonderful restful time. Conveniently located to the beaches and boardwalk. We enjoyed sunny days, warm breezy evenings with A/C or an open window to enjoy the ocean breezes. This hotel has a very nice pool for additional swimming and sunbathing. An in house restaurant readily seated us for an evening family dinner with varietal offers recommended by their staff. If this wasn't enough you can walk the family friendly boardwalk for a 36" pizza, yummy custard ice creams, salt water taffies and fudge or try some fried oreos!...( they are amazing).... the hotel is well kept, clean and their staff just wonderful. We will stay here in the future and recommend this location to you, happy travels!

Room Tip: ... just a super spot to stay! one of the best kept, cleanest hotels I've stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on our hotel and Ocean City. We love it when our guests have a great time on their vacation. You are correct the hotel has so much to offer plus we are right on the boardwalk. Wow Fried Oreos; I’ll have to put them on my list of things to try this summer! We hope to see you and your family again this summer!
Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great room. Cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in . the staff is so friendly and helpful. Now that there is a coffee shop, I never have to go anywhere else. The food at Emilies is great too. Having all the amenities with a full service spa and coffee cafe

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you Jacqueline for the very nice review. Our staff takes a lot of pride in the hotel and providing outstanding service and amenities. We are happy to hear you enjoyed them. The Coffee Shop is a great addition; the smell of fresh brewed coffee every morning is such a nice way to start the day. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you next time you visit Ocean City.
Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my second visit to this historical hotel. Everything is here at this hotel. Shops, Emily's Restaurant, Coffee Express, Business Center, Hair Salon, and a magnificent Banquet and Conference Center for weddings, events and meetings.

This time we stayed in one of their spectacular Penthouse Suites. You would never expect such an elegant suite located in south Jersey.

Make sure this place is on your list!!

Pete B.

Room Tip: Check website for all the different types of accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you Pete for such a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the Penthouse Suite and other services provided at the Flanders. The staff takes a lot of pride in our historical hotel and we love having wonderful guests such as you staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Dorothy M Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

For the first two days of our stay - when the temp was between 98-100 last July, they kept promising to fix the air - and did not. Finally on the third day, they installed a window air conditioner.

I was promised that I would receive a return of $200 for the two days of unbearable heat - and never received it. I would never stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Liz, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. It is most disheartening to read about your experience. The Flanders Hotel is a “Condo-Hotel” with each unit individually owned. Owners have the opportunity to place their units in the Flanders Rental Program. This program offers the guests 24 hours front desk, housekeeping and maintenance services. Some owners choose to rent out and maintain their units on their own. We apologize for the experience you had while renting a unit at our property. I am not certain which room you rented so please contact me and I will try to assist you.
Sincerely,
Dorothy M Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 E 11th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flanders Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.