We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Flanders Hotel to your Saves list
The Flanders Hotel
719 E 11th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We love this place. We went last year and returned. The location (practically on the boardwalk) is great and the parking with it is a real plus. The rooms we've had were well decorated, clean and comfortable. The front desk was helpful. (We had really terrible service in the restaurant this year, but I'm reviewing the hotel here...). Truly, I can't imagine a more convenient/better place to stay in OCNJ.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    62
    20
    20
    25
See reviews for
125
53
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I can't say enough about The Flanders historic hotel in Ocean City, NJ. The rooms are actually suites, so you have lots of room and great views. The staff is wonderfully accommodating and they go above and beyond. Parking is convenient and easy. I have been coming here for nearly a decade and I won't stay anyplace else!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

What a great place!!!! We have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Ocean City. Our weekend was enhanced by this lovely historic Flanders Hotel which is located in the heart of the boardwalk. This is not just a room, but a suite complete with a bedroom (with a door!), a good size living room, a fully appointed galley type kitchen, and a large bathroom. Our room was a standard, but we understand that there are also some lovely Penthouse suits also. A wedding reception was going on at the time we were there, but the area is spacious so it did not interfere with our enjoyment. Maybe a couple of extra bucks to stay here, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We come to Ocean City several times a year. Each year we rent a house for a week or two, but for weekend trips we have stayed at a variety of hotels and B&Bs. Flanders is definitely the best place to stay in Ocean City. The rooms are a great size, very clean and nicely decorated. The only downside is that there are only two elevators, so on a busy day, you may be stuck waiting for several minutes. That said, I am done searching for our weekend get-aways, it will be the Flanders from now on.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Friends and I stayed at the Flanders for a wedding in the hotel and the hotel has seen better days. Location was great and parking was very easy but the hotel has not been updated in at least 20 years and the suites were hit or miss or both. Our 2 bedroom suite overlooked the pool and was next to the log ride at the park next door. One bedroom I would rate a B since it had windows and a dedicated AC but the other was an interior room without a window I would rate an F and it had the worst AC possible. Bathroom, Kitchen, Living room were all fine. Other friends of ours had a different 2 bedroom suite and they wore their shoes at all times since the carpet looked like it had never been cleaned. We would never stay here again unless it was free.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I reserved the South View Penthouse for 2 nights for my family over a weekend in July 2011. For the money we spent I would have expected a clean room with furniture that was not broken, i was surprised. We checked into the room and discovered it was filthy, from the teeth cleaners left in the drawers, under the bed and in the bathroom to the beds having sand in them, as well as the broken armchairs in the dining area. The couch and chairs had gross stains on them. The kitchen was dirty, the glasses and silverware still had food on them! We quickly loaded everything into the dishwaher and ran it twice!. For our 2k and inconvenience, we received a $40.00 lunch and less than sincere apology for the filth and inconvenience. The master bed was horrible, creeked and rattled everytime we moved.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in a condo on the 5th floor in the center area of the hotel with a general view of the beach and ocean. The room was nicely decorated and very cozy. It was in a spot where the sounds of the rides didn't bother us. The elevators are very, very slow so we took the stairs most of the time. Pool was nice, provided towels, and plenty of seating. However, the log flume is in full view and a little noisy. The restaurant was pricey so we avoided that for other eateries (recommend biking to Oves on 4th for breakfast, pizza at Primavera's; did not like our meals at Bloomin Tulip; Clancy's stayed open and served a yummy breakfast the morning we left to escape Hurricane Irene). Fitness room is adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from rides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 E 11th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flanders Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.