We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pavilion Motor Lodge
Save
You added Pavilion Motor Lodge to your Saves list
801 Atlantic Ave Beach Block of 8th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Vacation...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is in a great location....The rooms are dated & bathrooms need upgrades...It did have a flat screen tv & many channels to choose from....The little fridge was very cold & useful...The carpet seem to have been updated...The beds need new mattresses....I mean the room served its purpose, but by no means was it a 5 star hotel....@ most maybe 2 1/2 stars...Ocean City is a beautiful shore town & my family & I loved it...If you come here for the hotel, then don't bother...Its a good place to sleep & shower & it was quiet...nobody bothered you...Again OC is a family shore town & its a lot of fun. Definitely will be back here....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    29
    9
    15
See reviews for
91
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is in a great location but the rooms are very old especially the bedspreads. They must have been at least 15 yrs old. I also didn't think it was that clean considering there was an open bag of Doritos under the bureau with some crumbs under there too. We had to pick them up. A half size fridge in the room but no microwave. I think I would try to find somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamenow, General Manager at Pavilion Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience. As a small independantly run hotel, we must keep costs in mind, especially the expenses brought by Superstorm Sandy . As a cost savings measure, the Welcome Book in each room mentions the availabliy of amenities upon request. Shampoo, razors, shower caps, toothbrushes, hair dryers, irons etc are all available at the front desk. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ne, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is decent. It's very clean, and the location is great. However, make sure you bring all of your own toiletries, including shampoo and a hair dryer. Not even a microwave in our room. Overall, however, the place was really clean, quiet, and in close proximity to the best part of the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

It's not really fancy but it is clean and a great value. The location is great and I like how the rooms have a mini fridge. The pool area is small but nice and the staff is always accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Terrible experience,much too expensive for the terrible experience. Bugs smashed on the wall above the bed, 4 registered guests only 3 towels, rock hard beds that meant very little sleep for everyone, location was good but parking was horrible. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamenow, General Manager at Pavilion Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Feedback is always more effective when we have the ability to act on your needs immediately. I would have been happy to address the issues you sited as we care deeply that you and your family enjoy your stay with us. We are not a chain hotel - each peron on my staff personally work to make sure our guests are happy and will do whatever it takes to correct a problem. While we are proactive about maintenance, sometimes things happen before we become aware of it.

Regarding the number of towels in a room, the number of people registered to a room directly correlates with the number of towels received. Perhaps you did not reserve in advance so that we could set your room up properly prior to your arrival? But always, extra towels are available at the Front Desk.

Guests are entitled to free parking! Being so close to the Boardwalk, parking is always at a premium however we have 2 lots (one behind the hotel and 1 across the street) to amply accomodate our guests. Our Office Staff & Lot Attendant are here to assure that our guests are always accomodated. I hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We showed up in Ocean City late afternoon on Friday without a reservation. We didn't expect to get a room at all, so we were pleasantly surprised to find a room as close to the beach as this motel is. The lobby is small and cute and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We were assigned room 100, first floor by the road and next to the lobby. the room has two queen beds, a small table with two chairs, A dresser, a mini fridge and air conditioning. The room looks to have had some updates, such as new light fixtures, carpet and flat screen tv. The bathroom, beds, sheets and mattress were clean, but the blankets and bedspreads have seen better days. Tiny bathroom...tiny. There was no hair dryer in the room...bummer for me!

The pool is ok, looks clean but we didn't go in. The lounge chairs were dated.

The location for this hotel was ideal for us. Parking is free and very convenient. The boardwalk was a very short walk from the hotel.. maybe 4 minutes. Overall, this was a typical beach hotel. If you are spending your time at the each and boardwalk, the room will suit you fine for sleep and a shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the pavilion with my teenage daughter and her friend. We originally booked a room at the Ocean Breeze. It was a disaster. I walked into the Pavilion and explained our situation. They were more then willing to accommodate us. The room was spacious and very clean. I will definately be planning more weekend trips and the Pavilion will be the only place we will stay. The staff was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Motor Lodge

Address: 801 Atlantic Ave Beach Block of 8th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ocean City - on the beachblock of 8th Street. Heated Pool, Restaurant, free internet and free parking. 26 foot rooms with 2 queen beds or a king and a double bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pavilion Motor Hotel Ocean City
Pavilion Hotel Ocean City
Pavilion Motel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.