We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pavilion Motor Lodge
Save
You added Pavilion Motor Lodge to your Saves list
801 Atlantic Ave Beach Block of 8th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingston, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Ocean City and we were very pleased. The motel was typical of a seasonal shore motel..but the location was great with no streets to cross to get to the beach and boardwalk. Ocean City is a great town and our stay was great! Thanks

Room Tip: Pool view is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    29
    9
    15
See reviews for
91
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
plains
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for two days with my girlfriend. Close to beach and other restaurants etc... Room needs to be updated and the walls are thin. Beach tags provided. Asked a female employee if there was an outdoor shower and she replied with a "no" but found out there was one. When arriving we barely could squeeze into our room because the cleaning maids wouldn't move their cart out of the way. The bed had a weird smell but was comfortable. Wi-fi worked well. Frig was nice and cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I just want to say our stay at the Pavilion was great. The room was clean, it had a nice carpet that was clean even with considering it is a beach town. Everything in the bathroom was white! The tile on the floor and wall was white and clean, even in the grout. The room was quiet all night, we didn't hear any outside noise. We stayed in the fountain room and enjoyed it. We had plenty of towels for baths/showers, but you will need to bring plenty of towels for the beach/pool because the humid air makes it hard for drying towels overnight. We will also pack a towel hanging rack with us for next year because we could've used one outside our door on the patio area for drying our clothes. The hotel does have a clothes line for use at the pool. And the outside shower and changing room was a nice touch to keep us from tracking sand everywhere. The internet was slower than we are used to, and we weren't able to stream videos, but overall we are really happy with our stay. We loved the pool, it was a great temperature and easy to swim with our 2 kids, not overly crowded. We noticed some sand at night, but the next morning it was clean... wonderful. We were about 1/2 block from the beach/boardwalk and we felt it was a great spot right at 8th st. We found parking to be easy and while we had to walk a little bit to the room, it wasn't bad. The air conditioner worked great, it was cool and dry inside. We enjoyed the breakfast at the restaurant, early bird special from 7-8 am is $1.99 for 2 eggs, 2 pieces of toast, and hashbrowns- great deal. We thought the staff at sign in and check out was friendly and helpful- we would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

let me start out by saying this hotel is QUIET at night! oh my goodness, i couldn't believe it was nearly sold out and i didn't hear a thing all night. a testament to the structure! and it was clean inside and out, very clean. new carpet in our room, it really is in a great location too, you are close to everything, and we really did not move the car once. a great location to bike or walk from for shopping or the beach or the boardwalk (all of which were also very nice). the staff was very friendly and helpful (and large in numbers! i couldnt believe how many people they have on staff to make things run smoothly!) i will say that they need some umbrellas for around the pool. there is zero shade and no relief for parents or grandparents who want to sit and watch the kids. there is a nice garden area with tables and umbrellas but not in safe "babysitting zone". nice shallow area for kids.
our room had a unpleasant odor near the door (think; diaper) but we only really noticed it when it POURED that night -could have been from rain soaking the floor, there was a sizable rot hole in the bottom of the door, attempting to hide behind trim. FAIL
as for the towel comment from someone above; we had more towels then we could shake a stick at, no one cut us off, they just asked for our room number and that was that. i could understand them noting which room had more towels - there IS a beach up the road and they probably lose more towels then they'd like to deal with..... like the keys and beach badges, makes you accountable. if your not stealing, who cares!
you should note, this is sort of a bare bones hotel; no shampoo or lotion here. and no tissues either. but there is free wi-fi!
i would stay here again, and more impressively my picky husband says he will too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've been going there for years. I going there next week all the way from Milwaukee for almost two weeks. This family run motel and apartments are so convenient to everything. I find they will go out their way to please you. If someone that was there before you took something out of the room or apartment, ask for it and they'll replace it. You can't beat the location and no, i'ts not a four star hotel but your at the ocean on vacation! Every year they do some updating of the place. How long do you spend in your room anyway? The cafe for breakfast is great. Right out of bed and to the nice courtyard with table service. Right on the beach block os great too so you don't have to worry about kids crossing any streets to get to the beach or boardwalk! I love the place abd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: You can see the ocean from some of the rooms on the top floor.Rooms on the first floor are close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We decided last minute to spend a few days down the shore surrounding the Fourth of July. The Pavilion was very inexpensive compared to EVERYTHING else we looked at last minute. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The do charge you deposits for rooms keys and beach tags but the tags are available and free, once you return them. It was in the beach block very close to the board walk. We wanted to catch the fireworks and the hotel is at eighth street where the put the barge to shoot them off. This was very convenient and we enjoyed our time even if it was just a few days.

Room Tip: We had the fountain view which I think was much more quiet than the pool view. Also a nice second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My family & I decided to give this hotel another try after the bad experience we had last time. This time the staff was friendly in comparison to last time when I called to request more bath towels I was told "What kind of hotel do I think this is the Ritz Carlton". The pool is nice since it has a shallow area for the kids & a deep area for the adults. It's close to the beach & boardwalk which is nice. The rooms are alright the only recommendation I would have is to shampoo the carpets more frequently. I understand they get dirty due to the location & that's why I recommend it. One other small disappointment was when I notice an ad for a breakfast special at the little restuarant attached to the hotel. It was $1.99 for 2 eggs, home fries & toast between 7AM-8AM. I came in at 7:55AM & ordered & it took about 10 minutes to make. When it was time to pay the cashier/waiter tried to charge me regular price over $4. If Ocean City, NJ wants customers hard earned money then they need to work for it & treat people the way they should be treated with a smile & respect. This may be the reason people are going on their vacations to other cities instead of theirs. Treat people poorly & they won't return. If you do decide to go here check out the Haunted Golf on the boardwalk it's like the Haunted Manson at Disney but with mini golf.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Motor Lodge

Address: 801 Atlantic Ave Beach Block of 8th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ocean City - on the beachblock of 8th Street. Heated Pool, Restaurant, free internet and free parking. 26 foot rooms with 2 queen beds or a king and a double bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pavilion Motor Hotel Ocean City
Pavilion Hotel Ocean City
Pavilion Motel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.