We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Georgian Hotel
1120 Central Ave., Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 hotels in Ocean City
outside phila
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Truly a dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

This hotel is really gross. The rooms are very small, smell and the bathrooms are just so filthy. If you insist on going here, make sure you bring your own towels, bedding and a pair of flip-flops to wear in the shower. Oh and an air-fresher. All those things will help it be a bearable stay.

On the positive side, the pool is decent and usually not crowded. Also, its in a great location. Although overpriced for what you get, its not a bad price for a hotel room in Ocean City.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    1
    5
    15
See reviews for
6
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Location was important for us, and this hotel's location was very convenient for us. It's an easy walk to all restaurants and the boardwalk. The front porch was nice for relaxing. Everything worked fine in our room and it seemed as clean as it could be for an older facility. We stayed three nights and enjoyed our time there. The front desk staff is very friendly as mentioned previously.

However, our room was extremely small as mentioned by above posters. We had two doubles in our room and they were literally up against three of the walls with only about two feet between the two beds and at the foot of the beds. There was no closet, so the only place to hang our clothes was on a doorknob! On the second day of our stay, we did not receive any maid service. The bathroom had a ""fresh" toilet tissue roll that looked like it had been dropped in water, then dried out for us to use when the current roll was used up. Parking is tight and no one monitors the "compact car only," so mid-size and mini-vans were parked in two spots.

In short, we were satisfied, but there are other hotels that are comparable price and might be worth checking before booking at this hotel. This quaint hotel could be greatly improved with more attention to "service after the sale" or quality control in maid service.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too pricey for the quality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We LOVED this hotel....charming, cute and clean from top to bottom...with lots of style and personality!

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing get-a-way without spending a fortune and we found it at the Georgian.

From the minute we arrived the staff was friendly and honestly wanted to help us navigate the town. We found a lovely restaurant nearby and retired to a room filled with charm and warmth.

We walked to the beach the following day and hope to return next year when the weather is more inviting for a swim. Brrrr!

Special thanks to our friend Frank who suggested the Georgian.

  • Liked — the homey style
  • Disliked — parking was tight
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, Pa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

I would just like to say that I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and EVERY complaint that these people are saying is true DESPITE the management's responses that I am sure they are posting to try to keep themselves afloat. I have NEVER seen a more disgusting hotel in my life. I would not let my dog stay there. The bathroom was disgusting. The toilet had skid marks, the shower was BLACK with mold and the comforter/chairs all had whitish stains on them that I am sure would come off with some scrubbing. I would advise my worst enemy to go somewhere else to stay. I even ended up with some kind of rash after sleeping in the bed there. Everyone it is WORTH the extra money to go somewhere else. This place is diseased!

  • Liked — Nothing it was disgusting it doesn't matter how close you are to the beach when the place you are staying at looks like this place did
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING the black showe,r the skid marks in toilet, the stains, the staff who promised us a clean room, the rash I got
  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We stayed at this hotel Aug 1 trhu 3. We are a family with small children and found our stay here quite pleasant. The hotel was old but clean. The staff was very accomodating. We were happy because we didn't have to spend a lot ($200) and our family was able to enjoy the beach

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

Our stay was absolutely terrible. We arrived at the hotel at 5 pm.

The room conditions were terrible. The room was the size of a closet. And that's a bold statement, considering this room didn't even have just that - a closet. The shower looked as though it hadn't been cleaned. The air conditioning unit didn't work. The window shades were broken. On a scale of 1 to 10, the condition of our room was a 1...........barely.

After leaving for an evening of food/drinks on Friday evening, we came back at about 3 am that evening/next morning. We we woke up the next day, we received an eviction notice. It stated that we had to leave by 5 pm that day. The reason was that we did not "follow the rules of the hotel". Through conversations with management, they told us that we "violated the noise restriction". It is amazing. We weren't even at the hotel that evening!

Upon checking out on Saturday, we ensured that management agreed that we left the room in the same condition when we arrived. Now, management refuses to reimburse us for the evening lost when we received an eviction notice! The staff of the hotel are incompetent, and deceiving. BEWARE!

  • Liked — When I was able to leave
  • Disliked — When I was evicted from the hotel with no reasonable explanation or reimbursement
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianMgmt, operations manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2007
This review is written out of spite. Our hotel is clean, friendly and quiet. We have a quiet time policy from Midnight to 8 AM and guests are aware of this when registering. It is in our list of rules. If the rules are broken the consequences can be severe. Police may be called and the guests may be asked to leave without a refund for any previously paid sums. As was the case with this guest and the group they were with. They were totally out of line. We did not like having to ask them to leave, but they just would not cooperate. We like to cater to all our guests with a nice quiet atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,MD
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

This was the worst place I have ever stayed. It is a total dump! It was filthy. From the stained comforter to the moldy shower curtain, this place is all around the pits. Not only do you have to share a bathroom/shower with persons you may or may not know, the only thing keeping you out of each others room is a flimsy lock. As for the spacious pool, what a joke! The supposed 6ft end comes to your waist, not to mention the broken/cheap plastic chairs/loungers. If you plan on relaxing on the "charming" front porch, don't count on it. Quiet time apparently begins at 10:30pm not 12am as the signs posted say. If any noise is made, expect an eviction notice placed under your door sometime the next day. (even if you were in bed prior to 11pm) It will state that you have violated the rules, which are not the ones your are instructed to sign when you check -in. They will present you with a false document that you "supposedly" signed and when you ask to speak to a manger no one is available. As for a refund, don't count on it! They take your money and leave you stranded. I have stayed in many hotels/motels and this was the worst treatment I have ever received!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1120 Central Ave., Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Georgian Hotel to your Saves list