We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nifty oceanside motel with a fun personality - loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean 7

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean 7
Save
You added Ocean 7 to your Saves list
870 E 7th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Days Inn Ocean City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
central Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nifty oceanside motel with a fun personality - loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Just off the awesome Ocean City boardwalk at 7th St. (very close to Wonderland Pier), Ocean 7 is a renovated former Days Inn which has been converted to a "condotel" with individually owned but centrally managed rooms. The motel is half efficiencies and half 2-room suites, all with kitchenette. Most of the rooms have standard motel furnishings, appointments and in-room amenities, but for various upcharges, you can stay in a fancied-up room or suite, depending on how much work and expense the individual owner has put in. Access to each room is by an outside walkway that serves as a balcony as well, though not private. The suites have a view of Wonderland amusement pier and many of the upper floor efficiencies have a view of the boardwalk and ocean.

The location is terrific, the rooms comfortable enough and the pool nice and warm, but the management & staff really made this place special. Front desk staff, esp. Steven and Marke, were VERY helpful, friendly, and interacted well with the kids. The couple minor problems we had in-room were dealt with in a matter of minutes. We got to tour the "fancy" rooms, the kids got balloon animals made for them nearly every time they went through the lobby, and we left with personalized souvenir mugs of our visit to Ocean 7! Unique, quirky and endearing customer service.

Overall, this is by no means a luxury place (though you should check out rooms 415 and 404 for a pretty close approximation of luxe), but a fun, convenient and friendly seaside motel that is great for families. Check out their web site, which is extremely informative, funny, and indicative of the personality of the place (which has a lot to do with the personality of the general manager, Marke). We have stayed in Ocean City since I was a baby, and this is the first, but by no means the last, time we'll enjoy our OC vacation at Ocean 7.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    21
    15
    9
See reviews for
125
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We never stay anywhere else. The staff is extremely friendly, and it's obvious that they have regulars they get to know over time and have become friendly with. They get new temp help each year, but there are staff members who have been there as long as I can remember - that really says something.

The manager, Mark, is very helpful and always available to answer questions. He goes out of his way to make sure his guests are happy.

The rooms are interesting, some better than others. With individual owners, you have to expect that, but the staff can help you figure out the best place to stay - but you have to ask, otherwise you will just get put where they need to fill.

Overall, I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else in Ocean City - hop, skip and a jump to the beach, the boardwalk basically at your door, great staff, nice pool, decent, clean rooms and good prices. What more could you ask for?

  • Liked — the staff, the location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nrsmith814
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

I just came back from our trip to Ocean City. The Ocean 7 was a wonderful hotel to stay at. It is reasonably priced and is very clean. The staff is also very friendly and quick to help you. The heated pool is nice to relax at after a day at the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, especially a family. The hotel is very kid friendly. I look forward to booking this hotel for next year.

  • Liked — the cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

OK, first manage your expectations. This is a Jersey Shore motel. If you're looking for or expecting the Ritz or a high-end resort property, then you'll likely be disappointed. However, if you are looking for a motel that is VERY convenient to the Ocean City Boardwalk and beach (beach tags provided), has a friendly staff, is generally clean (although I will agree with those that said the carpets could be shampooed a little more often), and has guaranteed parking and a nice pool then this is a good bet. We've (a family of three) stayed there three years now and enjoyed it each time.

It should be noted that this is a "condotel" where most units are individually owned. Therefore, the amenities can vary somewhat from room to room, depending on how much an owner invests in upkeep.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron ,NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed 4days(booked an extra night once there becouse my family liked the hotel and ocean city (O.C.)so much). Staff was excellent(especially Mark) and informative.Room very clean and new.Beds great and suite included full kitchen.At bottom of boardwalk ramp,perfect location as we had our 2 girls(4,1)so convenience matters.I will stay here every year when we go back.Pool was nice and also warm.if your going to O.C. stay here.We travel many times a year as a family and this whole trip was excellent and the Ocean 7 played a big part.

Akron , NY

  • Liked — Clean,Location
  • Disliked — pay for wi-fi(nominal)but
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

The Ocean 7 is a nice 'condotel' right off the boardwalk in Ocean City, NJ. What's nice about the hotel and it's website is that they give you so much info before you book so you know what you're getting.

We visited in July with our sons for our 1st family summer vacation. We booked sort of late so we weren't able to get one of the suites but the 'decorator' room we booked was spacious enough. It had 2 double beds and everything was as pictured on the website. The pool was clean and there was an outdoor shower to rinse off if you were returning from the beach.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel provided a parking space and beach passes for us. Since Ocean City is a 'dry' town our nights were relaxing and peaceful.

The location right off the boardwalk was very convenient. We didn't have to move our car at all.

The one item which we read about which was partially true was the rugs. The room was very clean and the staff gladly provided us with extra towels or other amenities when we asked. The rugs could have used a shampooing or steam cleaning. I wouldn't say our socks turned black but you could tell the carpet needed a deeper cleaning.

Otherwise, everything about the Ocean 7 was great. The rates were very competitive and we're definitely thinking of going back if not this year for a weekend getaway than next year for sure.

  • Liked — The location right off the boardwalk.
  • Disliked — The rug coudl have been cleaner.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

The place was ok, not the best place I've stayed at. Stayed in the 1 bedroom suite & the kitchen & bathroom were VERY small. Good location on boardwalk though. Wouldn't stay their again

  • Liked — Location To Boardwalk
  • Disliked — Size Of Room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 7

Address: 870 E 7th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Days Inn Ocean City)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking rooms· daily & weekly rates· 73 units with kitchens· sizes to accommodate from 2-7· 200 ft to the sand· 1 block from 2 amusement parks· Beachtags for all from check in AM to checkout PM ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean 7 Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.