We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean 7

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean 7
Save
You added Ocean 7 to your Saves list
870 E 7th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Days Inn Ocean City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennsylvania
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

This was a fantastic hotel. We had a great vacation. The location is perfect and the staff was the best. Anytime you needed anything, it was taken care of right away. Our daughter is in a wheelchair and this hotel was very accommodating. There is even an elevator lift to get to the pool area, which is very rare. We will definitely be staying here every year from now on.

  • Liked — It was wheelchair accessible
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    21
    15
    9
See reviews for
125
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
KOP
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

The hotel was clean. Service was ok. The staff could have been friendlier and offer help to 2 young moms carrying toddlers and pushing a cart full of luggage across the parking lot and through the entire place.
Our room was placed the furthest from our car & the elevator. Our guess is because we had children. Even though 80% of the place was empty, we still got stuck at the top floor at the end of the outside hall. It was challenging coming in and out during the day and night.
We will not stay there because of these reasons, it was rude to do to people with kids and a major inconvenience to us.
Not family friendly.

  • Liked — How close it was to the beach
  • Disliked — where our room was located
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed at ocean 7 with 2 toddlers. Upon arrival we were ignored while the man behind the desk yelled at someone on his walkie talkie. Our room was on the top floor on the opposite end of the elevator, so it was quite a hall to lug toddlers and luggage around. Staff sat around and watched us struggle with a cart full of luggage and children . A drawer front fell off in the kitchen and the cleaning lady told us not to worry about it , until we insisted it be fixed because we cannot have sharp screws sticking out around toddlers. The room was very clean , we were only given an almost gone roll of paper towels which did not last the entire stay . Overall the room was okay but the staff and service was a little poor. Not a family friendly hotel. On the plus side...it is VERY close to the boardwalk and wonderland pier.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

before booking a room at Ocean 7 I came to tripadvisor and read a few of the reviews, and I agree with the positive reviews. Not only was the room spacious and clean (clean is a big issue for me), but everyone at the front desk was so nice. This hotel is conveniently located right off the board walk, one street over from a water park, a full block over from the amusement park, and the section of the beach it is located in front of was not crowed at all. The only problem came when it was time to leave, we were all left wanting a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed here two nights mid-week in a one-bedroom suite on the fourth floor. The room had obviously been renovated recently. Everything was clean and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Although we did not use the pool, it looked clean and welcoming. The bathroom was very tiny, with the sink and mirror outside. The galley kitchen was sufficiently furnished including papertowels and dish liquid, and came in handy. Both rooms had a tv. We used the pull-out couch as a bed, which was not great for sleeping, but very adequate. The location could not have been better, right behind the boardwalk at 7th. The room included free beach passes and one parking space. Rooms do not have their own balcony, but share a common walkway. The price was comparable to what some hotels were charging for a single room. The boardwalk stays open very late and appears safe, a plus for traveling with teenagers, as we were. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

Stayed here in 2006 when renovated. Loved it. Beach just steps away pool was clean staff friendly. Went back July 2007 was still satisfied with everything. Need more towels when there are six people. Also, staff (some not all) could be a little more friendly. Will go back in 2008.

  • Liked — price and convenience
  • Disliked — parking a little tight
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Myself and my family booked a vacation for 5 days 4 nights at the Ocean 7 Hotel. This hotel is not the worst...we did choose the cheapest room available on the dates that we would be staying. It was a ground floor room with the view of two cars parked outside our window. The room looked very nice and everything looked new as far as construction (tiles etc.) the pull out sofa looked old and I think was a hand me down or something. There were a few holes in the seat cushions. My 8 year old daughter slept on the sofa bed and was extremely uncomforable. The dining table was small and a bit wobbly...with only two chairs; the room sleeps 4...but please keep in mind it was the cheapest room available...The tile floor appeared clean but about twently minutes after we arrived my daughter, who tends to walk around barefoot, hopped on the sofa and her feet were filthy on the bottom, my husband checked his as well and they were also black. We did have our 8 month old with us and he had to spend all of his time in the room sitting on our laps, on the bed with one of us or in his pack and play. It was bad for him and made him irritable. The floor was eventually cleaned up...

What to bring with you....

Your bikes, they have a bike rack right infront of the lobby!!

Paper towels, paper plates, paper cups and plastic utensils..the rooms don't have dishwasher and it just skeves me out to think that the dishes, etc. in the rooms didn't go through a dishwasher to be sanitized.

Extra kitchen towels, and pot holders; I don't know about the other rooms, we had the same "dish towel" through out our stay, it was never changed, so you may want to bring your own.

DVDS...They have DVD players!!!

Beach towels..as they do not provide towels at the pool.

Other useful info; The Wonderland amusement pier is very close, about 1 block away...This year (2007) they have a couple of specials you should know about while planning your trip: Usually each ride is 4 tickets, and a sheet of 30 tickets are $20; on Tuesdays this summer you can use 2 tickets for each ride from 1-4PM and on Wed. they have wrist band day and that is $20 for a wristband and ride all the rides you want from 1-4PM.

We ate one night at Periwinkels...it was soso. We had some awsome ice cream at Carousel Ice Cream parlor...awsome!!! The candy store on the right as you are leaving the hotel and heading to the board walk (George's) has some wonderful Macarrons and candy. And of course Mack and Manco for pizza is right down the way.

Have fun in Ocean City!! Would we stay at the Ocean 7 again? Yes..we would, but we would choose a room more carefully. Even though we paid a lot for a 4 night stay...almost as much as a home rental for a week a few blocks from the ocean...the location of the Ocean 7 cannot be beat!

  • Liked — Loation
  • Disliked — Cleanliness...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 7

Address: 870 E 7th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Days Inn Ocean City)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking rooms· daily & weekly rates· 73 units with kitchens· sizes to accommodate from 2-7· 200 ft to the sand· 1 block from 2 amusement parks· Beachtags for all from check in AM to checkout PM ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean 7 Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.