We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Club Hotel
1280 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mid Week Package
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Ocean City
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. We parked our car in the lot (one car permit per reservation) and never moved it. You can walk everywhere. Fun to sit by the pool and see/hear the ocean. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating and the room was clean (not meticulous, but clean). The only down side is that there is no microwave in the room (small mini fridge) and when we requested a bottle opener, we had to take our bottle to the front desk because they only have one in the hotel. Would have been nice to have a few more perks!! The restaurant is convenient but very expensive - breakfast for myself and 3 small children was $47.00 - only ate there once. Plenty of other restaurants in town!!

Room Tip: Full ocean view rooms are right by the pool and restaurant - not sure about the noise level!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
80
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Been coming here for the last 17 years and plan on going back this year, Rooms are clean, fresh and the mini-refrig. provides a a nice touch. If you want to experience a great breakfast (or lunch/dinner), stop by the restaurant on the lower level. Always a delight.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Go back to a simpler time of walking the boardwalk, sitting by the pool and hearing the roar of the ocean from your window and that is what you will get when you stay at the Beach Club Hotel in Ocean City, NJ. Nice, simple, clean rooms with a flavor of the shore. A newspaper to wake up to in the morning, with coffee downstairs to greet you to a beautiful sunny day. Breakfast in the diningroom or on the deck facing the ocean make a great start to the day. Maybe a walk out to the pool to relax or a walk up and down the boardwalk to shop and take in the scenery. All is not far away, as the location is perfect for all enjoyment, but not the noise of the center of the boardwalk. Feels like you have stepped back in time to the quiet, enjoyable simple, yet comfortable place to be. My husband and I had our wedding on the beach just a few steps away from the hotel, on a beautiful sunset evening. They had rooms to accomodate our small group and made our stay wonderful. We will never forget the occasion and how nice the staff was to us. I would recommend this as a great place to stay for couples, families and anyone trying to soak in the South Jersey experience.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean for the complete experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you will find your way east again some day soon! The new renovations are nearly complete and all the rooms will now have 2 queen size beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went back in July and this resort has always been great. I have never had a complaint at this hotel. This is the only place I would ever stay in OC. They do a great job with turning over the room every day and they give you plenty of clean towels. There was even a safe in the room which my husband liked because he could lock up his laptop. They're nice rooms, have plenty of space and there is just a nice feel to the rooms that brings back good memories. They don't try to trick you in the photos and exaggerate how luxurious it is or how big the pool is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is was our second last minute get-away with family at the Beach Club Hotel. Rooms are even better than before-decor has been spruced up and bathrooms re-tiled. The place is spotless and staff is efficient and pleasant. The hotel is directly on the boardwalk. For that reason I would NOT recommend ocean view rooms-first floor you are basically in a fish tank for the boardwalk gawkers or swimming pool patrons to stare into your room unless you leave the curtains closed. We chose the less expensive city view rooms which were whisper-quiet away from the traffic. If I want to view the ocean, I'll go outside!
My only complaint is no microwave. I frequent a lot of hotels and, unless they are super fancy, they all have microwaves. Our room did have a single serving coffee maker and refrigerator, though. Being gluten intolerant, I like to travel with and make my own oatmeal for breakfast (which I have down to a science in a microwave). We were not able to get a microwave even after calling down to the front desk. Otherwise I'd give it 5 stars for location, friendliness and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't request ocean view first floor- EVERYONE can stare in your room unless you always keep cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just returned from our third annual trip to Ocean City in September. We have stayed at the BEach Club each year and we've never been disappointed. The location is perfect - right on the boardwalk and steps from the beach but not too close to the rides and amusements so that it's really noisy. Yes, the rooms are a bit dated but they are spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable. One amenity we took advantage of this year: after checking out, we received a key to the common areas of the hotel, allowing us to use the changing rooms, showers and restrooms even after we checked out. We only had to move our car out of the hotel's lot (there is public parking next door). There's a bike room to keep your bikes locked up - nice not to have to keep them on the bike rack on the car. The staff was friendly. My only wish is that there were sheers on the windows, as well as black out curtains to let light in while preserving privacy. We'll be returning for a 4th year next Fall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view - you can also see the ocean. Not too noisy - the pool closes at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and your loyal patronage. We are pleased to announce that the hotel will be undergoing an extensive renovation this year. We look forward to seeing you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

After looking at precious trip advisor comments we chose Beach Club Hotel. And what a great choice it was! We were able to check in early, it was jut across the boardwalk to the beach, the room was clean and the restaurant was convenient! Definitely a great choice and the place we will stay in the future. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Hotel

Address: 1280 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the boardwalk and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Beach Club has an ambiance unlike that of any other hotel in Ocean City. Here you'll be welcomed with warmth, taste and style in a spirit of uncomplicated hospitality. Enjoy our heated, oceanfront pool, spacious sundeck and beach view dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Ocean City
Beach Ocean City
Beach Club Hotel Ocean City Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list