We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1280 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just returned from our third annual trip to Ocean City in September. We have stayed at the BEach Club each year and we've never been disappointed. The location is perfect - right on the boardwalk and steps from the beach but not too close to the rides and amusements so that it's really noisy. Yes, the rooms are a bit dated but they are spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable. One amenity we took advantage of this year: after checking out, we received a key to the common areas of the hotel, allowing us to use the changing rooms, showers and restrooms even after we checked out. We only had to move our car out of the hotel's lot (there is public parking next door). There's a bike room to keep your bikes locked up - nice not to have to keep them on the bike rack on the car. The staff was friendly. My only wish is that there were sheers on the windows, as well as black out curtains to let light in while preserving privacy. We'll be returning for a 4th year next Fall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view - you can also see the ocean. Not too noisy - the pool closes at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and your loyal patronage. We are pleased to announce that the hotel will be undergoing an extensive renovation this year. We look forward to seeing you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    56
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
100
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

After looking at precious trip advisor comments we chose Beach Club Hotel. And what a great choice it was! We were able to check in early, it was jut across the boardwalk to the beach, the room was clean and the restaurant was convenient! Definitely a great choice and the place we will stay in the future. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is the second year in a row my family and I have stayed at the Beach Club Hotel, and I have a few additions and changes to my previous review. This year we stayed 4 nights mid-week in September.

Pros: The hotel is located right on the boardwalk by13th Street and is a close walk to the beach, which is really nice at 13th Street. It's located near some cute stores on the quieter end of the boardwalk, so you don't get as much of the noisy crowds and really noisy rides. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning, and lunch once, and we all enjoyed the good, filling, basic food. The restaurant stayed open late one day to serve us lunch, when we were driven off the beach due to rain around 2 pm and nearby restaurants were closed. The guest rooms have refrigerators and flat screen TVs.

Cons: The decor has got to go. The carpet and wall paint are very dark, leading to making the hotel look very dreary and dirty, even when it was clean. You had to wonder if the hotel was trying hide filth with its dark green carpets. The decor is really out of date from its polyster, stained bedspreads to its refrigerators that create ice in the drinks you leave in the fridge. The breakfast staff at the restaurant seemed overwhelmed and, while they worked hard, because they were overwhelmed, they could be a bit abrupt and make a few mistakes. Housekeeping starts working at 8:30, so if you like to sleep late or have breakfast before changing for the beach, make sure to put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign on your door. The housekeeping staff always came at inconvenient times - early in the morning when we were trying to get into our swim suits to head to the beach or when we were coming off the beach and wanted to get out of our wet clothes and take showers. This happened every single day - no joke - even when we staggered times when we went to and came back from the beach. My guest room smelled a bit mildewy ad water-logged.

The hotel is very expensive, not worth what it costs. If you have that kind of money to spend, go stay at the Flanders Hotel. Or, save your money and stay at the Impala Island Inn, which is cheaper, but nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have been coming to the Beach Club for many years in Sept. with a group of women and never had any complaints. So this year when I planned a 2nd trip to OCNJ with another group of women, I made reservations online with the Beach Club. I found this experience to be anything but pleasant. We arrived early evening & checked into our room. I beleive they must have given us the last room because it was the room above the awning that someone else mentioned. The room had a terrible moldy/musty smell. We went to the front desk to ask if there was anything else available and was told they were completely full in all 4 of their properties. They offered frebreeze (which would not correct the problem but mask the smell) or they could put an ozinator in the room but we would need to leave for 1 1/2 hours or they could do it in the morning. They did say they would have a room on the 4th floor with a muphy bed and a sleeper sofa which we could have for the same price because of the view. We checked it out and found it be stuffy and was not worth the switch, just for the view. When we asked to speak with the manager, we were never given the chance. The lady at the desk would only talk to the manager & relay the messages. Last resort was we were told we could leave because that is all they had. So we ended up going to our room & found we could easily check in at the Port O Call which is also located on the boardwalk and few blocks away. They even discounted the first nights rate. Was very disappointed in how the beach club handled the whole sitatuion. First ....not letting us speak to a manager, 2nd never did anyone come to the room to check out the smell and 3rd. only got a "sorry bout this" as I was walking away from the desk to leave. Really makes me not sure I would recommend them, mainly beacuse of the customer service we received. Was sent a departure survey after checking out & filled it out but to this date, have never heard back from anyone.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before commiting to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I just returned from a visit to the Beach Club Hotel in Ocean City, NJ. Admittedly, I am a "hotel snob" and was a bit nervous about the quality of hotels that would be available at the Jersey Shore. I was very, very pleasantly surprised by the Beach Club Hotel.

First, the hotel itself is immaculately clean. Immaculately clean. This from someone who scours hotel rooms, with a flashlight, for any sign of bugs(!) or dirt before allowing the family - and luggage to enter. The mattresses and box springs both have bedbug covers on them, which shows me they take the threat seriously. The sheets, blankets, and bedspreads were very clean and the bathroom spotless. We did have trouble the first night with the air conditioner... it was immediately fixed the next day when I alerted the office.

Ocean City is a really great little town. The fact that it is "dry" keeps the Snooki-types far, far away (which is a really good thing). Beautiful beach and boardwalk with plenty to do.

I wasn't thrilled with the on-site restaurant (great location, crummy food)... but there are plenty of other decent places to eat. If you have kids, be sure to check out the two midways, the Pirate Cruise, and the waterpark.

I would completely recommend this hotel and would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Go for a third floor room on the city side - you can see the ocean if you look left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our first stay was a pleasure. We booked a room for a second vacation when we checked out. I requested the same room or close to it. We got nowhere near it. We got the worse room. It smelled, the awning of front entrance was attached to our deck. They didn't care. After much arguing they moved us to an alcove where our deck was spit with another and our view was half a wall. Again they didnt care. Nothing done!!!!! Nothing said when we left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterdon County, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed just 2 nights; this hotel is right on boardwalk, less than 100 steps from the beach and is clean, with a pool and great food! What more could you ask for in a quickie family vacation? This was our first time at the Jersey Shore. Now we know why it's so popular. Another family we met from out of town said they'd been coming to this hotel for 8 years. We now understand why! The staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating. We had 3 servers during our meals at the Beach Club Cafe - over the top service and excellent food! Breakfasts were delicious, fast, hot. Same for dinners, though we were never rushed. Crab cakes some of the best we've ever had. The bathroom in our room was nicely updated; though wish there were hooks to hang wet towels and suits. The room was very very quiet except that we were right across from the elevator which was loud when carts came and went in the morning; no fault of the hotel. If we had been down the hall, we would not have heard a sound. We would definitely go back. We found the food, room prices, souvenirs, etc. up and down the boardwalk to all be reasonably priced for a summer tourist location, which pleasantly surprised us. Much better priced that some FL destinations we've visited during high season. As we rode bikes up/down the boardwalk, the Beach Club Hotel pool looked to be about the nicest in size, setup, etc. Our parking lot view room was a bit dark and slightly outdated, but we didn't care - we were in OC to enjoy the beach and boardwalk! It was worth it to save a bit of money, compared to the pool deck or ocean view rooms. The most important factor for us was that the room, beds, etc were clean. We were not disappointed. Also, we left one morning for breakfast, and when we returned, our room had already been made up for the day, which was very nice. Many other places we've stayed, we've had to wait until middle afternoon for the room to be made up. Fantastic weather, waves, hotel and food made this a fantastic end of summer family getaway.

Room Tip: If cost no option, choose pool deck room for reserved outdoor table/chairs. Easy to spill out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your response. While we can't take credit for the weather and the waves, we do take great pride in our property and are pleased you had a fun and happy stay. We look forward to the day when you can say you have been a returning guest for eight years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 34 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#13 of 34 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#14 of 34 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#11 of 34 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Manor Hotel
Ocean Manor Hotel
#17 of 34 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Club Suites
Beach Club Suites
#10 of 34 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Hotel

Address: 1280 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the boardwalk and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Beach Club has an ambiance unlike that of any other hotel in Ocean City. Here you'll be welcomed with warmth, taste and style in a spirit of uncomplicated hospitality. Enjoy our heated, oceanfront pool, spacious sundeck and beach view dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Ocean City
Beach Ocean City
Beach Club Hotel Ocean City Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.