We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room & poor customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Club Hotel
1280 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mid Week Package
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Ocean City
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smelly room & poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have been coming to the Beach Club for many years in Sept. with a group of women and never had any complaints. So this year when I planned a 2nd trip to OCNJ with another group of women, I made reservations online with the Beach Club. I found this experience to be anything but pleasant. We arrived early evening & checked into our room. I beleive they must have given us the last room because it was the room above the awning that someone else mentioned. The room had a terrible moldy/musty smell. We went to the front desk to ask if there was anything else available and was told they were completely full in all 4 of their properties. They offered frebreeze (which would not correct the problem but mask the smell) or they could put an ozinator in the room but we would need to leave for 1 1/2 hours or they could do it in the morning. They did say they would have a room on the 4th floor with a muphy bed and a sleeper sofa which we could have for the same price because of the view. We checked it out and found it be stuffy and was not worth the switch, just for the view. When we asked to speak with the manager, we were never given the chance. The lady at the desk would only talk to the manager & relay the messages. Last resort was we were told we could leave because that is all they had. So we ended up going to our room & found we could easily check in at the Port O Call which is also located on the boardwalk and few blocks away. They even discounted the first nights rate. Was very disappointed in how the beach club handled the whole sitatuion. First ....not letting us speak to a manager, 2nd never did anyone come to the room to check out the smell and 3rd. only got a "sorry bout this" as I was walking away from the desk to leave. Really makes me not sure I would recommend them, mainly beacuse of the customer service we received. Was sent a departure survey after checking out & filled it out but to this date, have never heard back from anyone.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before commiting to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I just returned from a visit to the Beach Club Hotel in Ocean City, NJ. Admittedly, I am a "hotel snob" and was a bit nervous about the quality of hotels that would be available at the Jersey Shore. I was very, very pleasantly surprised by the Beach Club Hotel.

First, the hotel itself is immaculately clean. Immaculately clean. This from someone who scours hotel rooms, with a flashlight, for any sign of bugs(!) or dirt before allowing the family - and luggage to enter. The mattresses and box springs both have bedbug covers on them, which shows me they take the threat seriously. The sheets, blankets, and bedspreads were very clean and the bathroom spotless. We did have trouble the first night with the air conditioner... it was immediately fixed the next day when I alerted the office.

Ocean City is a really great little town. The fact that it is "dry" keeps the Snooki-types far, far away (which is a really good thing). Beautiful beach and boardwalk with plenty to do.

I wasn't thrilled with the on-site restaurant (great location, crummy food)... but there are plenty of other decent places to eat. If you have kids, be sure to check out the two midways, the Pirate Cruise, and the waterpark.

I would completely recommend this hotel and would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Go for a third floor room on the city side - you can see the ocean if you look left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Our first stay was a pleasure. We booked a room for a second vacation when we checked out. I requested the same room or close to it. We got nowhere near it. We got the worse room. It smelled, the awning of front entrance was attached to our deck. They didn't care. After much arguing they moved us to an alcove where our deck was spit with another and our view was half a wall. Again they didnt care. Nothing done!!!!! Nothing said when we left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterdon County, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed just 2 nights; this hotel is right on boardwalk, less than 100 steps from the beach and is clean, with a pool and great food! What more could you ask for in a quickie family vacation? This was our first time at the Jersey Shore. Now we know why it's so popular. Another family we met from out of town said they'd been coming to this hotel for 8 years. We now understand why! The staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating. We had 3 servers during our meals at the Beach Club Cafe - over the top service and excellent food! Breakfasts were delicious, fast, hot. Same for dinners, though we were never rushed. Crab cakes some of the best we've ever had. The bathroom in our room was nicely updated; though wish there were hooks to hang wet towels and suits. The room was very very quiet except that we were right across from the elevator which was loud when carts came and went in the morning; no fault of the hotel. If we had been down the hall, we would not have heard a sound. We would definitely go back. We found the food, room prices, souvenirs, etc. up and down the boardwalk to all be reasonably priced for a summer tourist location, which pleasantly surprised us. Much better priced that some FL destinations we've visited during high season. As we rode bikes up/down the boardwalk, the Beach Club Hotel pool looked to be about the nicest in size, setup, etc. Our parking lot view room was a bit dark and slightly outdated, but we didn't care - we were in OC to enjoy the beach and boardwalk! It was worth it to save a bit of money, compared to the pool deck or ocean view rooms. The most important factor for us was that the room, beds, etc were clean. We were not disappointed. Also, we left one morning for breakfast, and when we returned, our room had already been made up for the day, which was very nice. Many other places we've stayed, we've had to wait until middle afternoon for the room to be made up. Fantastic weather, waves, hotel and food made this a fantastic end of summer family getaway.

Room Tip: If cost no option, choose pool deck room for reserved outdoor table/chairs. Easy to spill out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your response. While we can't take credit for the weather and the waves, we do take great pride in our property and are pleased you had a fun and happy stay. We look forward to the day when you can say you have been a returning guest for eight years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a family-oriented Boardwalk motel close to the beach and all the action. Little fun shops dot the area, and the beautiful beach is crowded with happy vacationers. Staff is friendly and will to help with anything. This motel could use some serious improvements, though, for the big $$ that you'll spend to stay there. First, the rooms have no microwave or fridge, something you'd expect nowadays in a room this expensive. It forces you to eat out every time, and the restaurant food on the premises is not good. Second, parking is miserable. There is supposed to be a spot for each guest, but the parking deck is very, very tight, and you often have to double-park or go up to a block away (think trying to haul bags & kids in & out from this distance). It made us think twice about pulling our car out to go anywhere. Also, the southside ocean view is of a parking lot & smokestacks, with a sideways view of the ocean if you went out onto the balcony. Kind of disappointing. The balconies are supposed to be private, but are not (see photo). The walls are paper thin, and you can hear a lot of door slamming at all hours in the hallway. Beds were very comfortable, and rooms were clean (no bedbugs). Note: remember that you are in a dry county, so there is no liquor in the restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't pay the higher price for a Southside view of the ocean, because it's not what it purpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the Beach Club Hotel, this was our second time to stay there. As is pointed out in nearly every review, this is a fantastic location if your destination is the boardwalk and the beach. It is at 13th street so it is kind of in the middle of the boardwalk, fun stuff, shops, and restaurants to the right or left of the hotel. Other hotels are a further walk from the boardwalk or beach. The outdoor pool is great, with plenty of room for lounging. The restaurant is one of the better on the boardwalk with outdoor as well as indoor seating. There are bicycle rental shops on either side (12th and 13th streets). The rooms are admittedly a bit dark and outdated, but ours was clean with no complaints. The parking is extremely tight but they were kind enough to allow us to leave our car for a bit after we checked out. Our only real complaint is that the bathroom is very small, and there is NO ventilation in the bathroom, after one shower the place is a sauna and you can't breathe in there. The laundry area was great for drying wet swim suits and towels etc. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for easy walking to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My sisters, Mom and I have been going to this hotel for over 30 years. The location is fantastic--right on the Boardwalk and Beach! Excellent shops and restaurants surround the hotel. Bike and surray rentals right across the street. The rooms are really nice and very clean. The staff is wonderful. There is a pool and one of the nicest restaurants on the Boardwalk, including an outdoor eating area right on the Boardswalk and Beach. The single elevator is abysmal--there is barely enough room to fit the luggage cart. You are pretty much on your own getting your luggage to your room. There is a coin laundry for guests in the basement--very handy. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Hotel

Address: 1280 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the boardwalk and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Beach Club has an ambiance unlike that of any other hotel in Ocean City. Here you'll be welcomed with warmth, taste and style in a spirit of uncomplicated hospitality. Enjoy our heated, oceanfront pool, spacious sundeck and beach view dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Ocean City
Beach Ocean City
Beach Club Hotel Ocean City Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.