We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious crab cakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jay's Crabshack

Jay's Crabshack
737 Asbury Ave Ste B, Ocean City, NJ 08226
(609) 399-4022
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 184 Restaurants in Ocean City
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Philadelphia PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious crab cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped at this place on a whim after the Memorial Day ceremony, and we're glad we did. We sat at a hightop table outside and immediately a pleasant young woman came to get our drink order. We selected sandwiches -- crab cake for me, grouper for my companion -- and they were both wonderful. I didn't taste the grouper, but my friend raved about the flavor. Also, the serving was large enough for him (a hearty eater) to take home a hunk of fish to have for dinner.
My crab cake was nicely seasoned, chunky (not mushy), and tasted LIKE crab instead of mayo or some other filler ingredient. Also, instead of the standard white bread/burger type roll, the sandwiches were on crunchy, tasty bread.

Our server was delightful. The chef, Jay himself, stopped at the table to ask how we liked the food. And the price was reasonable.

The restaurant is on Asbury Avenue, smack in the center of town, and also offers take-out and delivery.

Definitely a good find.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    6
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A tale of two visits...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We discovered Jay's during an off-season beach trip a few weeks ago. During our first visit, we were quite impressed. Let me preface this review by saying that Jay's is a very small, extremely casual restaurant. There were two employees working on both of our visits; one cook, one server. Food is cooked to order, so don't expect to be in and out quickly. On our first visit, we ordered the ahi tuna wrap and the shrimp in a basket. The ahi wrap was amazing; perfectly cooked, well dressed, extremely fresh. The shrimp in a basket were also surprisingly good. The fries were fresh, served hot, well seasoned. We left full and happy with plans to return soon. Which bring me to our second trip, just a few weeks later. Still the off-season, same staff on duty. We even sat in the same booth. On this visit, they were "out" of several menu items we ordered the grilled shrimp, clam strips, clam chowder, shrimp in a basket and kids chicken fingers. The clam chowder was really good. The clam strips, not so much. They were soggy and cut too large. The shrimp were significantly smaller on this visit. Fries undercooked and over seasoned. Had this been our first visit, we probably wouldn't go back. But, we are batting 500 at this point, so we'll probably give it another try and see which way the wind blows. I truly think it has the potential to become "a hidden gem" in OC, or at least I hope it does. Better than Spadafora's, in my opinion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Filthy establishment with terrible service and food to match.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Walked in, place is filthy. Decided to ignore that and try anyway, which was a huge mistake. Ordered lobster bisque which had lumps of who knows what. Found a bug in my ice after drinking the entire thing. Ordered the calamari which was rubbery and fishy. The only thing that was somewhat edible was the crab dip. Just left and have the worst possible taste in my mouth ever. Also they keep giving you refills without telling you they are not free!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loysville, pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Waited way too long to get mediochre food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The place is jammed with picnic tables that are not wiped well between customers. I got the crab quesadilla and it had some of the cheapest darker crab mixed in a thin layer of tortillas. Everyone is given the same rounder of sauces in plastic bottles that are probably never wiped down. Yuch i didnt want to touch it.It was light out when we walkin in but dark when we left. disappointing. should have eaten at Dels Grill- it was awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pheniminal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This really was a delightful. Service was very helpful and pleasant. Chowder and crab cakes to die for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay's Crabshack also viewed

 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Jay's Crabshack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay's Crabshack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.