We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Stay, Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Serendipity Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   712 Ninth Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cozy Stay, Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This B&B really is our serendipity. We were sent to this small B&B when our original booking was cancelled due to a neighborhood fire and we had no place to stay for the weekend (thank you original B&B for arranging!). The host of Serendipity is so kind, she charged us the price of our original B&B, which was lower than her rate. Our room was small but very comfortable and the breakfasts were very good (made to order — you fill out a sheet the night before). Although there are a small number of rooms, you still feel privacy (no communal breakfasts at once — you pick your own time which is what we liked). The home is stocked with videos, games, books, drinks and afternoon snacks. Parking is free but in the lot across the street. However you can pull into the driveway to drop off your bags. The location is so close to the boardwalk. We had a nice stay, very much like a home.

Room Tip: This B&B is on a busy street but it didn't bother us. If you are a light sleeper, however, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a wonderful B & B literally 2 minutes by foot to the boardwalk and ocean. All rooms have private baths, t.v.'s, & air conditioners. Main floor has nice sitting area with a variety of books, DVD's, and board games. All guests have use of fridge & freezer in public area. Owner is extremely accommodating on preparing breakfasts (vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free -- you name it!) and is a wonderful cook and superb baker. Snacks and beverages available. Spotlessly clean. Nice front porch with chairs for people watching.

Charming little town with shops, a few gyms, restaurants, bike & surrey rentals, and not far from gaming (Atlantic City) and historic Cape May, plus a ferry to Lewes, Delaware. Perfect for families and couples, and great for singles who want to relax and unwind.

I stayed there many times years ago and always loved it and this is a new owner and she was as terrific as the former owners.

Will go back and definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Look at website as room locations and amenities are listed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We just spent the weekend - 4/27/12 through 4/29/12 here. Warm and friendly, cozy room and living room area. Great snacks and drinks available all day long. Sample breakfast - fresh fruit cup, apple muffin, breakfast frittatta, sausage, french toast. The manager can accommodate dietary restrictions.
Very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Old charm, comfy rooms, porch with rocking chairs, just like Grand Ma's house! Quiet retreat in a busy shore town. Karen's gourmet breakfast is a welcome addition. My home away from home! No glitz & glamour here. That would be Atlantic City!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I picked up a two night stay here on a deal advertised on LivingSocial. We weren't sure what to expect, but any concerns were put to rest and all our expectations and hopes surpassed upon our arrival. The rooms are very clean, wonderfully well organized and just plain comfy, but what shines about Serendipity is the array of thoughtful little touches. You'll find a bottle of wine in your room when you arrive, a candy dish full of little treats, water bottles to take with you on the boardwalk, today's paper downstairs, a great little library of DVDs and books, and the most amazing home-cooked breakfast served to order when you wake up. (Our first day began with coffee, a glass of cranberry juice, a 3-egg western omelet with a little hot sauce and ketchup on the side, a side of really amazing sausage cooked perfectly and a slice of cinnamon-raisin bread, a fruit salad with fresh melon balls and pineapple, and fresh baked coffee cake. I tip my hat to anyone who can finish one of Serendipity's breakfasts entirely on his or her own.) And your host couldn't be a nicer person!

We'll definitely be coming back, and we recommend Serendipity enthusiastically!

Room Tip: Come to Serendipity off season. The boardwalk will be less crowded, you'll have an easier time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife and I (with mother in-law) wanted a nice quiet B&B, and February in Ocean City is about as quiet as it gets! No one around, nothing to do except walk on the beach and go to A.C. Serendipity was just right - informal, very good and filling breakfast, impeccable clean, very nice proprietor. The room descriptions on their website are accurate; don't expect high-end fancy stuff, this is a beach house. It's a block from the beach, just right for winter or summer, we loved it.

Room Tip: The one on the third floor, it's more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was a wonderful place for a fall/early winter getaway. The area is very quiet at that time of year (mid-Dec). The owner of the bed-and-breakfast is very friendly and accommodating. Our room was small, but comfortable. The bed kind of takes up the whole room, but it was clean, and the bathroom was very spacious, with plenty of room to dress and move around. Everything was clean and nicely kept, with an ample supply of reading material in the rooms as well. Breakfast was delicious, and different each of the 2 days of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Address: 712 Ninth Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Serendipity Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Hotel Ocean City
Serendipity b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.