We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Serendipity Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   712 Ninth Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was a wonderful place for a fall/early winter getaway. The area is very quiet at that time of year (mid-Dec). The owner of the bed-and-breakfast is very friendly and accommodating. Our room was small, but comfortable. The bed kind of takes up the whole room, but it was clean, and the bathroom was very spacious, with plenty of room to dress and move around. Everything was clean and nicely kept, with an ample supply of reading material in the rooms as well. Breakfast was delicious, and different each of the 2 days of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enola, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great location with parking nearby. The place does not look fancy from the outside, but it's cute and cozy inside. We stayed in the green room. Small but cozy room with a large king bed and good linens, soft towels. Big bathroom. The room was very clean! The dining area has a bunch of little tables so you are close enough to the other guests but still have a bit of privacy if you are not much of a talker. There was a fridge with soda and there was water and hot water for coffee or tea all night. Breakfast was delicious! Ocean City NJ is a cute little town. We went in the off season so it may be different in the summer, but we had a nice relaxing stay!

Room Tip: green room- big king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

The location is good, because it's a few blocks away from the beach, but the area is not pretty and if you go during fall, or winter, there's nothing to do, not even a single restaurant open. We drove to Cape May and Atlantic City, so that made the trip worth it.
We stayed in room 6, which is really small. The shower is tiny, and the sink is in the bedroom. The bed is twin size, so it was a little uncomfortable for my husband and me. The room was very clean though.
One thing that I didn't like is that you have to have breakfast at a specific time. The day before, you write your name on a list and pick the time you want, but if you arrived after the other guests chances are you will have to wake up very early. So if you're not hungry at that time, or would like to stay in bed a little longer, you can't. The food is ok, by the way.

I have to say that overall it wasn't a bad experience and the owner is a nice lady.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I absolutely loved my stay here! I wish I could have stayed longer but duty calls:( I stayed Oct. 10th-11th. We were sooo lucky because the weather was awesome! We were just in time for the Indian Summer Seafood Festival on the board walk, which is less than a 1/2 a block away!
Some of the features that I enjoyed at this B&B were the dvd selection, couples games in the room, complimentary snacks and sodas, and the delicious breakfast! Karen you are a great host! We will be back!!!
Graciously Green room was the best ....love the decor!

Room Tip: The Graciously Green Room has a very spacious bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I adore this place. Karen is a marvelous hostess. Her gourmet breakfast are the best we have ever had in any B&B stay (and we have been to many). The rooms are cheerful and clean. Afternoon home baked snacks are a real treat as is a never ending supply of soda and chips and treats. We now meet for a couples weekend away with two other couples every November. They love it as much as we do!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I’ve just spent a relaxing three-day weekend at the Serendipity B&B in Ocean City, NJ. What’s not to love about Ocean City – the beach and boardwalk, shopping along Asbury Avenue, and plenty of places to choose for great eats! Staying at the Serendipity B&B makes a visit that much more enjoyable. It’s like home-away-from-home. A gracious innkeeper, comfortable rooms (I’ve stayed in all but one), several breakfast choices (all are hardy), movies/books/magazines/internet/TV, and afternoon refreshments (homemade baked goods) – what more could you ask for? The chairs on the front porch allow for hours of people watching (the 9th St location is awesome) or for enjoying an early morning coffee before heading to the beach. Every time I’m headed to Ocean City for an extended period, I check the availability at Serendipity as I know I’ll have a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

This was our second visit. We enjoyed our stay just as much as the first time. Karen is a wonderful innkeeper, always willing to go the extra mile, is sociable and pleasant to get along with. Breakfast is to die for. Between the fresh fruit, freshly baked muffin, cake, bread, to the individualized entrees, you can't go wrong. The rooms are clean, well supplied with towels and blankets and having a committed parking space makes it easy to run out and visit attractions without fear of where you will park when you return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Address: 712 Ninth Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Serendipity Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity b&b
Serendipity Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.