We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northwood Inn
Save
You added Northwood Inn to your Saves list
401 Wesley Avenue, Ocean City, NJ 08226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cozy place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I'm a bit late making this review but I wanted to add my thoughts. It's a wonderful place to stay. Very welcoming, the food in the morning was fresh and tasty, the rooms comfortable in a way as if you're visiting family, not staying in an impersonal hotel.
The only problem I had was the distance to the beach. It wasn't horrible, but loaded down with beach gear it certainly seems long. As I would return to this place, I will try to simplify and not carry as much to make it easier. It's a small price to pay for a pretty, romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a lovely stay at the Northwood Inn. John and Marj are gracious hosts who made us feel right at home. They tended to our every need and we slept like babies in the very comfortable bed in the Rose Room. The Inn is filled with many "little touches" including charming decor and attention to detail. From shopping suggestions to dinner recommendations, they pointed us in the "right direction." An afternoon snack of home baked cookies and a delicious breakfast completed an absolutely perfect visit. Treat yourself to the Northwood Inn. I know that we look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

What a wonderful weekend! My husband and I planned to spend our anniversary at the shore and "stumbled upon" Northwood Inn. It was my first trip to Ocean City and I have to admit, I'm now very spoiled after the experience. I've been to many seaside resorts, hotels and B&Bs across the country but this is now my favorite. John and Marj made us feel like family.
The room was very comfortable and clean. The sheets are very good quality and even Goldilocks would be impressed by the mattress.
Breakfast was simply divine! The melon was perfectly ripe, the orange-chocolate chip muffins were to die for and the coffee was as good as any hotel in Europe. When we saw John cutting fresh herbs for our eggs, we knew we were in for a treat!
Not only would I recommend this Inn to anyone and everyone, we have already booked a weekend for next year and are going to encourage our family to join us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very nice inn, and John and Marj are fantastic hosts. We stayed with our twin 9 year old kids, and we all very much enjoyed our stay. It is the attention to the little things, and the friendly demeanor of the innkeepers that set this place apart. We would stay there again without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Northwood Inn is a magnificent B&B in Ocean City. It is absolutely beautiful from the outside - especially at night with the lights on. The rooms are wonderful and the roof top jacuzzi is a perfect way to end a day at the beach. John and Marj are both great cooks and the food is delicious. Harry, their little dog is adorable. Both are wonderful hosts. Marj is a great photographer and John has fascinating stories to share from his adventuresome life. And they offer some great amenities like free beach passes and bikes. They are close enough to the beach to be convenient but far enough away from the crowds. I would highly recommend this B&B - it will enhance your stay and experience in Ocean City.

Room Tip: They don't actually have a swimming pool but they do have a great Jaccuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a wonderful experience. The hosts were terrific. The room was beautifu (we stayed in the Magnolia Room). The free bikes were old but servicable. The location was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

John and Marj were amazing hosts and went out of their way to make our first visit to Ocean City a truly memorable and welcoming one! The house is an amazing building itself with so much character and the room was beautiful! Breakfasts were delicious and just the right amount during a heat wave! Their poodle, Harry, was adorable too!

We will be back!

Ira and John

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn

Address: 401 Wesley Avenue, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently restored Victorian has 19th century charm and 21st??? century comforts including all private baths (two with Jacuzzis for two),??? central air-conditioning, complimentary beach tags, bicycles and roof top whirlpool spa. The Inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the beach, boardwalk, shops and restaurants. 30 miles north of Cape May and 8 miles south of Atlantic City. Bountiful breakfasts, cool porches and Carolina rockers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.