We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run, don't walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire on the Beach

Fire on the Beach
949 Asbury Avenue, Between 9th & 10th, Ocean City, NJ 08226
+1 609-840-6822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 136 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: FIRE! Is a "farm to fork" sustainable multi-ethnic fusion establishment, featuring locally sourced food. The steak for our burgers is ground fresh daily from a "secret" blend, our produce is from local organic farms & everything is made from scratch or by local artisanal bakers, smokers or butchers. Local art hangs on the wall, local musicians entertain & our "Tower Gardens" provide through aero-ponics many of our herbs & veggies.
Tewksbury, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Fire on the Beach--a neighborhood bistro/cafe that probably can seat no more than 40--is the epitome of what American food should be. The little kitchen offers fresh, bright menu items that fuse the flavors of America, Asia, Mexico, Italy, and France (with a little twist of Greece for good measure) in a way that is as creative as that of any high-end restaurant or resort. But unlike it's over-priced, impossible-to-get-into big brothers in wealthy the boroughs and trendy neighborhoods around NY and Philadelphia, Fire is an exceedingly reasonable eatery that puts on no airs. The produce is local, the food came out of the kitchen with lightening speed (granted a rainy night had kept the crowds at bay), and the owners clearly care about what they are doing. Was it perfect? Not quite. The atmosphere has a somewhat temporary feel about it. And the watermelon in the watermelon steak appetizer was decidedly overripe, which lent the dish an unpleasant tang. But everything else--the two kinds of mac and cheese, the Buffalo Chicken BLT, the chicken and waffles, and the bowl of exceptional tater tots--was fantastic. There were two or three dinner salads and at least as many flatbread pizzas that are short-listed out for my next visit.

Hopefully Fire, which is in a restaurant space that has turned over at least twice in the last few years, will last; it's a very welcome addition to the monotonous, horribly unhealthy Ocean City food scene. (Pizza, anyone?) Make a reservation (which you'll find on your table on a sticky note) and RUN, don't walk, to check it out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot! Stop by when in Ocean City.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This was a GREAT place. We had dinner there. Make reservations if going on a Fri. or Sat. night. The food is pretty much local, sourced from within 100 miles or so of the restaurant, from what I read. Everything was fresh and delicious. There was bacon on a few of the things we had and it was top quality meat. Decent kids' selection, too. Tried the tater tots since everyone raved about them. They were awesome. Almost like mini potato pancakes. Everything was loaded with flavor. The best dinner I had in Ocean City. I was very unimpressed with a few other places we'd gone to, but this did not disappoint. A must-do when in Ocean City.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great addition to OC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Fabulous new restaurant on the island. We don't have to leave the island to have a delicious meal! Staff was very courteous and knowledgeable- and great with keeping the water glasses filled. We had small plates with: compressed watermelon, the Mexican corn, coconut curry shrimp and the clams. We also had the bahn mi burger, the scallop appetizer and the bacon and chive tater tots. All of the food was perfectly seasoned and well prepared. It was nice to have delicious, fresh seafood without having it heavily fried. This place is a great addition to Ocean City- the level of food you would get in a big city, but on vacation. We can't wait to go back. Bonus: they take reservations AND credit cards!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great new place in OC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had dinner here on July 19th. We were a party of 4, 2 adults and 2 teens. We split an order of Alehouse fries-fries covered with sharp provolone cheese sauce, big pieces of bacon and green onions. They were delicious. I had a buffalo chicken club sandwich that was very good, just the right amount of heat. We also enjoyed the Cuban burger, sawgrass Mac & cheese (which had blue crab & spinach) and sliders with cheeseburger soup. The soup was amazing! The food was all very fresh and our server was very friendly. The only complaint I had was that the restaurant was too dimly lit. Regardless, we will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great spot for a good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were in Ocean City on a family vacation and wanted to try something new. Stopped by one evening around 8 p.m. and they had been so busy that they basically ran out of food! this made us want to come again, next time we stopped by at 5:30 and were alone in the restaurant with a large party of 8. Service was great and the selection of menu items was quite varied so everyone in our group from age 5 to 65 was happy. Ordered the salad that mentioned it came with bacon and local tomatoes which sounded good but when it came oh my god it had 4 slices of great bacon on top (I was thinking bacon bits). what a great surprise. Others tried the chicken and waffles to rave reviews, burgers rated outstanding. Definitely worth a trip but go early because they are very popular.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire on the Beach also viewed

Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Fire on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.