We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've Got To Try It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Bread - Boardwalk

Monkey Bread - Boardwalk
972 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226
+(1)(609) 391-0113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 12 Bakeries in Ocean City
Cuisines: Bakeries
Description: Monkey Bread has been an Ocean City NJ tradition for over 13 years! We specialize in a premium baked good available in an assortment of flavors! Stop in and give it a try today!
Restaurant details
Description: Monkey Bread has been an Ocean City NJ tradition for over 13 years! We specialize in a premium baked good available in an assortment of flavors! Stop in and give it a try today!
Ocean City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You've Got To Try It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Monkey bread is awesome. Take your kids, or grandkids and see what they say. For me, it looks like too much icing. But boy it's good. If you don't like this, you're too old. Or maybe you should just walk by and get a coffee. Stop in and get a rush, after all, it's Monkey Bread for crying out loud. Enjoy a treat.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I don't get it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I don't know where to begin with this review but I tried this monkey bread thing and how is this so popular? It's a pull-apart cinnamon bun. I was hoping for something to do with a banana but was fooled into buying a $6 pastry that was worthy maybe $2.

Service sucked. The girl operating the stand/store tried giving me half of a full one because she was too lazy to use the tongs to retrieve the entire pastry. I should have just walked away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

The pastries are on the pricy side. But these are way better than a regular sticky bun. Each bite is crusty on the outside and soft on the inside.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sugar rush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Over the top monkey bread...your typical dessert with a little bit of a twist. I had the caramel pretzel and it was delicious, and the scoop of icing they put on top...wow! I ate most of it and felt a little nauseous from the sugar overload. I will say that it is pricey, but what do you expect on the boardwalk. I would say 1 would be plenty for 2 adults.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Monkey Business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very expensive- $37 for 8 pastries. We got a variety and didn't that they were any better than a cinnamon bun. Live and learn.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Bread - Boardwalk also viewed

 
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Monkey Bread - Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Bread - Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.